kiira

From Happy To Disaster

hi everyone,

i currently staying in a seven month old new redhill flat through

balloting last year...very happy.

but after my neighbour upstairs moved in 2 months ago..its disaster..

very night there would be footsteps and things dropping on the floor and

door slamming sounds, on top of that there are always water dripping sounds,

felt lik i am in underwater world..lol...in between 1am-3plus..

its disturbing me so much tat i cant sleep well plus my wife is expecting.

went up to complain 3 times but to no avail..

advise is shld i endure for another 4yrs to earn the profits from selling

or surrender back to hdb at a loss and have a goodnight sleep else where?

sorry for the long post..

any advise appreciated...

thanks..

this is an extremely tricky issue

maybe you'd like to share more of what transpired during the 'complain' sessions?

did the family have children?

let the person i talk to be mr X..which is in his late 20s

i went up trice to speak to him,

1. hammering in the middle of nite ard 12plus..

since he said sorry and onli done it once, i let it rest.

(but common sense who will do such thing at this hour..)

2. door slamming abt 4-5times every 20-30mins interval

also in the middle of night...

went up next morning and said windy thus door slam..

(hey what is the purpose of the stopper behind door..)

3. walking ard room like gorilla producing loud thumping sound,

dropping of items on floor now and den and washing of clothes

or i dun know wat he is doing in his mbr toilet..

tat is his daily activities after he came home ard 11plus..

(cant do much as i cant penalise him of his activities in his own home)

so wat i can do is sleep b4 he comes home or sleep after he sleep,

which is lik after 2am,

its lik my life had to be dependent on wat he do at home...

there are only 4 members in his family,

his parents, his younger bro and he himself,

he is still single and i really dun know wat he alone in his room

has so much things to do..

thanks applefreak for replying me..

From wat I noe, after 11pm, families cannot make too much noise tat will affect their neighbours.

It happened to me last time when I am at my old flat. The Indian family upstairs would hammer in the middle of the nite, drag their furnitures, and children jumping up and down and wat is worst is that they once

poured curry over my bedsheets on the bamboos...They tort they staying in kampong...

I was so pissed off and bring the bedsheets up and argue with them. Since then they stopped doing tat.

As for the noise, I save my breath to argue with them, once the clock hits 11pm and since I am a light sleeper and could not get back to slp. I will call the police. The police did arrive for a few times and I tink they got a warning from the police and stopped doing tat for a long time....Actually I am not the oni one calling the police, the other neighbours also did tat...Tink the police also frustrated.

I also wrote to Town Council on the curry thing and the noise thing and after tat all the households receive

pamplets on the clothes dripping and throwing things out of their windows warning.

I guess it is **** suay to hv such neighbours lor....U shd do something abt it since it affects yr sleep.

Of cos wat I did mabbe too drastic for u. Perhaps u can try a subtle way?

Good luck!

2 words -

1) suay

2) we cant do anything as long as we are staying below these skunks. call police/towncouncil/rc all no point one, in the end they will still tell you to give and take. so actually there is only word - just SUAY.

those staying above if they want to make life difficult for us(below), they got 100001 ways, but we cant do a D*** thing to them.

my KLK neighbour above me, pounding chilli with pestle and mortar at 12am midnight hor and always shifting/dragging furnitures at night. my neighbour(same level) on my left once even went up to find out what they were doing with the bombom deafening noise at 6am - they were chopping coconuts. :)

Feel really sad for you, why can't the neighbour be considered? Are they local or foreigner? Because I used to have an upstair neighbour who is C*na nationality, hang their clothes in the living room, in the bedroom, in the kitchen, and dripping water all over the place. Also walking like stomping.

So I'm glad to move out.

me not as good as u either...but u gota have some solution.

1. Sometime smell the idiot smoker ' smoke come into my room -> close the windows.

2. Always sing like shxt -> tune my speaker loud.

To reduce water dripping sound -> close your toilet door or boxed up the pipe with sound proof materials.

That's y best is to get the TOP floor, no more water fall sound, no more gorrilla noise.

hi everyone,

thanks..

call the town council.

last time, my upstair neigbour also dripping like raining..

I went up and have a "talk" with the old grandmother and went home still very angry, call town council and complain.

If the old grandmother say sorry, I still can take it but she keep on push to 4 floor, 5 floor ppl. (She stay @ 6 floor)

before I go up, I already double and triple check.. 4 n 5 floor no clothing, where got the drip.

after that.. ok liao..

That's y best is to get the TOP floor, no more water fall sound, no more gorrilla noise.

but then we will get NO MERCY from the scorching SUN - it's like a OVEN.

thats why the top most flr is always cheaper.

I dun face any of the above thankfully...but but but....I sometimes find dried worms (those used to feed the birds) or used tissue on my balcony :P! eeeksss

The thing is I dun even know which unit is the culprit.

hi everyone,

thanks..

Talk to his parents, if things not improve then approach police

they r local sg..tats y i am pissed off,

y there r such crazy ppl ard..

call police no use, talk to his parents and they say

they will tell him, but wat the heck when he

come back to do his activities at nite, they r in dreamland already...lol

stuck there for 4years, wonder how my kid can survive coming next year

when he's born...

i will choose the highest floor the second time round...confirm..

anyone know if there's any drastic way to get hdb to approve

to let me move except the above 2 ways cos they r no helping me

in tat way..to think i paid such a high price for the stupid flat..

thanks all for replying..

Me also same same. On top of me got one toddler. Always play marbles or pebbles during midnight. The rolling and the bouncing are killing my missus and myself. Nowadays we put on headphones while watching TVs. Can't understand why the parents not controlling him or her. Later swallow it and pengz, how?

Edited by Rof|maoxz

Me also same same. On top of me got one toddler. Always play marbles or pebbles during midnight. The rolling and the bouncing are killing my missus and myself. Nowadays we put on headphones while watching TVs. Can't understand why the parents not controlling him or her. Later swallow it and pengz, how?

... kind of reminds me of an episode from Incredible Tales. These days, kids don't play with marbles anymore !!