luv-to-bake

Built-in oven

Hi KM,

Learnt a great deal about ovens from this thread (especially your posts). :good:

Need some recommendations for a built-in oven. My wife and my 4-yr-old son loves baking (lucky me... ;) ). Based on the discussions in this thread, I've shortlisted Brandt, Bosch, Electrolux and Rinnai. Could you/anyone provide some insights for these brands (price range too if possible).

Main criteria for the oven:

- for baking cakes, cookies, cupcakes, pies

- self-cleaning (seems like a impt/nice feature)

- tangential ventilation (does all ovens have this?)

- mine is a 20+ yr-old flat (not sure if power load will be an issue?) :unsure:

- digital display (nice to have feature) :)

- timer auto-off (wife tends to "burn" her creations quite often) :P

Appreciate any valuable recommendations!! :yamseng:

Hi A_iz ,

sorry for the late reply ;

You may consider a 5 cooking programs that comes with Top & Bottom heat for cake :) , Top & bottom heat with fan for cookies :) , single grill - small portion of meat ( save electricity ) , double grill for grilling large portion of meat , double grill with fan - for grilling a whole chicken as the fan will distrubute the heat evenly and bottom heat for pizza :)

Most oven use 13 AMP plug , so cater a point for the oven ( Dont share with other appliances )

As for self clean oven theres 2 type ( one that you need to change the panels after some time , the other is that it will burn the oven at a certain Temp. and the oil will become ash . Is good to have but some ppl still prefer to clean the oven themselves :)

Most oven comes with tangential ventilation and is quite important as once the oven reaches a certain Temp. it will blow out the hot air as the inner cabinet will not be hot

Digital Timer theres pros and cons :) if spoilt , the replacement maybe EX :( but when cooking you could see the cooking time and Temp.

Auto cut off is a plus as once the cooking time finish it will cut off the power but if the food is not cook well it may also affect the food as once it cut off the power , the Temp. will degress , thats why i notice some chef in Spore use manuel oven as the Temp. is always there and if cook alot of tray of food , they will not worry that the Temp will degress :)

But not to worry :) most auto cut off timer oven theres either a program or a function you can set to manuel :)

KM

hi km

saw that everyone seems to be asking for your opinion.

just wanna know if it's advisable to get a glass hob?

personally my new house is getting an optic white cooking hob from turbo. and i got it because it's easy to clean and looks nice. not much cooking will be done at the home, the most just simple boiling of water or cooking maggie mee.

Hi Prissypris ;

sorry for the late reply :(

For Glass hob is easy to clean the surface , but you need to take note a few stuff ;

* Dont cook for long hours as it may affect the glass top

* Dont put heavy pot on the grids as the pressure of heavy pots may effect the glass top

* dont put hot pots on the Glass top direct

* When install the Glass Hob , dont use silcon to stick the hob on the kitchen top as glass hob will expand and contract to to heat .

KM

Dear KM,

Am thinking of getting Brandt FE811XS1, is it good for baking cakes and cookies? Read that for cakes, it is better to get those with the function top and bottom heating element with fan... is it the same as traditional pulsed function under this model?

Brandt catalogue

Am reading the catalogue and there is not a single mention of which function is good for cakes :(

Hi Chica ;

The Traditional Pulsed Function is cooking with the upper and lower heating element wit the fan . ( But not all brandt models come with it .

KM

Hi KM,

My MIL bought us a microwave cum oven many moons (maybe 10 yrs, forgot already) ago! The 1st time I tried using the oven function, there was a lot of smoke (smell like chao tah) coming out! I almost freaked out and quickly turned off the machine. Didn't want to use it again. I thought maybe the smoke is caused by the oil splattering inside when I microwave my food.

Few years later, I tried using the oven function again. This time, I wiped the inside first. STILL got smoke! So never never used it the 3rd time. Still stick to my conventional built-in oven & table top oven (Yes, occupy a lot of table space!) when I do baking.

Any idea why and how to get rid of the smoke?

Hi Happy,

sorry for the late reply ,

It may be due the the inner panel or Elements . As seldom on the machine it may give out abit smoke ( i actually saw an Built in oven give out the smoke too , as the client dont on for a long time. )

But i suggest to service it as is not advisable to do it without a service man around.

KM

Dear KM

I'm like others too, going to buy a built-in oven BUT dun know which types R good & BETTER. I've learnt d baking classes on & off 4d past 1yr. Alr bought KitchenAid mixer KM150 a yr ago & now is d time to buy an oven HOPEFULLY with EASY functions for baking cakes, grilling chicken, buns & bread, pizza.

If HDB Exe Flat that allowing 15amp oven, then I wd like to shortlisted the following Pyrolitic ovens :-

* Brandt FP867sx1 ($1550) - 4 layers door (54L with 9 cooking programmes)

* Ariston OS99 DP Ix ($1680) itally made - 3 layers door (70L Open Space with 10 cooking programmes)

The sales girl fr H/N advised me to take Bosch HBA23B550J (3 glass door) as she said that's d ONLY type of oven that can use in HDB with 13amp & this oven made in Germany. Besides, this BASIC oven does NOT required any changing of the panels as it use ECO cleaning. What is "ECO cleaning" ??? This Bosch only comes with FAN, TOP & BOTTOM, BOTTOM, GRILL with FAN, GRILL.

Do I really needs to make sure that d oven i'm lookg must have d functions of "Top & Bottom heats with Fan" ?

What is this function for ? Brandt comes with TOP & BOTTOM heats with FAN (Traditional Pulse) but Ariston, I'm NOT sure if it's also with this function.

Cld U highlighted if U were to buy, which 1 will U choose & Y ? (ignoring abt d price as I'm OK with $1.8k budget but just wanted to get an oven that last for yrs of use with GD functions !) Preferred Pyro oven not bcoz for grilling now but mayb in future ! Moreover, Brandt catalytic oven required d change of d panels ($150) every 3yrs. In that case, must as well get an oven that does not required further change & with MORE functions ! Most importantly, MUST b EASY use for ppl like me (not so good in baking yet).

Wd appreciate yr advice !

Hi Cutehoneydrew,

sorry for the late reply .

Ariston Oven do comes with Top and Bottom heat with Fan and without Fan .

I could see that Ariston the new model is quite good :) . You could go for it as to maintain an oven is to heat up the oven once a month ( to heat up the element ) to prevent it from tripping the home.

And Mayer also provide Extended warranty and most of all they also provide 2 free baking lesson after Oven or Moxer purchase :)

KM

Hi KM,

I need your advise on which model of built in oven to get. After reading all the posting, think you are highly recommend Brandt FE811XS1, but after discuss with my husband, we worry there will have problem as the AMP is different. Is there other brand that is similar function n price of this model? We want to get Rinnai hob n hood too. Do u think is good? we cook everyday, which model or other brand u can recommend? We want sth more economical. Hope to hear from u soon. Thanks.

Hi Hannz ;

sorry for the late reply .

Oven purchase , some ppl go for design , features , after sales service . But a Basic oven with 5 cooking programs ( Top and Bottom Heat , Top and Bottom heat with Fan , Top Heat , Double Heat , Double heat with Fan ) is enough

But now theres extra feature like bottom heat , back element and some comes with pre set recipts

As for AMP , Most Oven comes with 13 AMP but some are Higher .

Rinnai and Fujoh Brand stove are quite good . As for Hood , you need to consider whether you need a slimline hood ( as on top the hood you could do cabinet ) But chimney hood , it will take up space ( But the suction power is strong )

Go for 3 burners as 1 is triple ring for heavy cooking , 1 single medium flame and 1 small single flame ( for slow cooking )

Must check whether the hob using Batt ignitation or electrical as some brands are different . ( if us electrical ignation you need to inform you carpentor as he need to run a point )

For Glass Hob , theres alot of things you need to take not , dont put heavy stuff on the grid , dont cook for long hours but is easy to clean the surface .

Try put the oven on standing position as it will be easy to open and close.

Look for cut off timer oven is possible as it will off the oven once the timer reaches

KM

Hi~~~~~ Please help me :bow:

you all know which oven is better or not ya?? Haiz~~~ i'm very confusing nw leh~~ can help me :P

I want a oven which have the pyrolytic self cleaning function.

Now i'm considering Bosch, Electrolux and De Dietrich~

That day i went to c bosch oven, then only know Bosch oven can't choose jus top fire, Bosch only have top+bottom & bottom only. ( Pls correct me if i'm wrong)

then now i'm considering this 3 oven, all have pyrolytic self cleaning function

Electrolux Inspiro Oven EOC69400X

http://www.electrolux.co.uk/node38.aspx?productid=43060

eoc68000x.jpg

Electrolux Multi-function pyrolytic oven

http://www.electrolux.co.uk/node38.aspx?productid=43061

eoc69400x.jpg

De Dietrich DOP740X

http://www.dedietrich.co.uk/touch-control-...-oven-p-37.html

dop740x.jpg

De Dietrich DOP895X

http://www.dedietrich.co.uk/pyroclean-with...splay-p-35.html

dop895x.jpg

Thanks for the revert KM,

Have since puchased the discont ICE, was drawn by the mirror-finish and the huge discount :D

Have noted that both models have the triple layer glass; is that a good enough insulation

for child safety?

Hi TIA.

If considering Electrolux , just take note that EOB 31002 X comes with Auto cut off timer bt the another does not comes with it ( it means that once alarm , you need to off the oven manuel )

As for Ariston model , it does come with Auto cut off timer and a LED panel to indicate the Temp. & time . The only cons is that the oven door maybe a bit hot once it reachs a certain Temp. ( As is made of Tempered Glass )

If your planning to install under the Hob , if theres children around , when they touches the door , it may be a bit hot ( actually is the same for Stainless Steel Door :(

So if possible , install at a tall cabinet ( as open the oven door will be easily too .

As Ariston ICE model is Discont , you may consider FZ 61.1 IX as it comes with bottom heat ( Pizza function ) but it does not comes with cut off timer . The oven door also come with finger print proof .

And if purchase from Mayer Marketing , it also comes with 2 baking lesson too.

KM

Hi guys ,

i deciding btw ariston and bosch ovens, can anyone tell me which brand should i choose.actually decided on ariston oven fz61.1ix was looking at it with a friend and 1 china lady was serving me at plaza sing outlet and she turn out to be the person selling sofas in this furniture club couples of months to my friend which have an unpleasant experience with her, so right now i having doubt after hearing the experience she face with that sale lady.i went to do some research on ariston products and find that they have bad service after sales is it true?someonbe pls advise before i purchase thanks.

i'm going to get my Brandt FE811XSL this coming weekend! after much surveying, this model is good enough for a weekend cooker / baker like me!

Edited by fuji_apple74

i'm going to get my Brandt FE811XSL this coming weekend! after much surveying, this model is good enough for a weekend cooker / baker like me!

Hi. Hw much doesn't it cost?cause I only using for weekend baking so I just need a basic oven can u advise me the price and specs thanks.

Hi guys ,

i deciding btw ariston and bosch ovens, can anyone tell me which brand should i choose.actually decided on ariston oven fz61.1ix was looking at it with a friend and 1 china lady was serving me at plaza sing outlet and she turn out to be the person selling sofas in this furniture club couples of months to my friend which have an unpleasant experience with her, so right now i having doubt after hearing the experience she face with that sale lady.i went to do some research on ariston products and find that they have bad service after sales is it true?someonbe pls advise before i purchase thanks.

Hi, been doing my homework in getting an oven. Bosch is definitely better than Ariston. End of day is depend on ur usage and budget.

Hi km,

i see that you are pretty experience with ovens can u advise me whether is that FZ61.1IX a good oven?thanks.

Hi Kitchenshopper

sorry for the later reply ;

FZ 61 IX comes with 6 cooking programs ( top & bottom heat - cake , Top and Bottom heat with Fan - cookies , Top heat - small portion of meat , top heat with Fan - Grill large portion of heat , bottom heat - Pizza , back element - pastry .

Once alarm you need to off the oven as its not a Auto cut off timer and the inner panels you need to clean as its not self clean panel .

But overall it not quite bad as its does comes with all the basic feature of an oven

The front panel is also anti finger print proof. And Mayer Marketing comes with 2 baking lesson free for any oven purchase .

As for design look is quite nice too. Can consider this model :)

KM

KM

Oven purchase , some ppl go for design , features , after sales service . But a Basic oven with 5 cooking programs ( Top and Bottom Heat , Top and Bottom heat with Fan , Top Heat , Double Heat , Double heat with Fan ) is enough

But now theres extra feature like bottom heat , back element and some comes with pre set recipts

Try put the oven on standing position as it will be easy to open and close.

Look for cut off timer oven is possible as it will off the oven once the timer reaches

KM

so the basic 5 function oven you mention above would be good enough for baking cake, cookies, pizza, roast chicken/turkey etc? (these are all i think i want to do)

btw what is double heat?

we have checked out tekka and bosch - there are so many options available we don't know which to choose

what about cleaning and timer features? are they important?

our budget is about $1.5k do you have any recommendations?

what about other brands such as delonghi and baby-something (forgot the name) which are supposed to specialise in oven

TIA