friends78

王俯: The Wong's Family @ Boon Keng

Someone talk behind my back ? No wonder my ear is itchy when I am in Penang

no i'm not talking behind your back.... i'm openly talking about you here hahahaha :lol:

in Penang? no wonder you never come here and support la :P

Went to check the flat yesterday & today. Hacking completed and the stack of tiles we selected were placed neatly in the living room. There were also bags of sand ... The 5 Doors frames were hacked... The hse seems to be very ugly... with big cracks due to the hacking of the doors frame... Also, gate was removed with temp door now set up... Henry told me that the workers have officially stopped work today due to CNY and will only be back around the 10 - 12 Feb to continue... Aiyoh... the break seems a bit long leh... Guess it's the norm for reno to stop work for 8-10 days just for cny? Then we saw the barriers for CV have been removed and decided to go there to see see look look... Wah Lau... there are nice wardrobes in every room of CV!!! Now I regret buying resale cos need to do so much things for reno.... Got to decide on tiles... the layout for the respective placement of fittings... colours...Still need to bargain with contractor. Almost everything.. CV owners are so lucky... Collect keys..put a bit of furniture and can move in liao....

Now still thinking whether to proceed with most of the carpentry works or just buy ready made furniture to cut costs... Didn't take reno loan as the interest is simply 'bo hua' leh so now all the electronic items and furniture will need to take the 0% credit card instalment. Tight budget. One thing good about Henry is, he does allow us to remove items made to the quote we have earlier agreed on. Was telling hubby that maybe we just do the minimum...that is Kitchen cabinets and wardrobe in the masterbedroom and do away with the TV consoles, shoes cabinets, study table, wardrobe for the rest of the rooms and cabinets to 'hide' things... But we will be staying there for at least another 10 years... First flat already never do much... Dilemma... Dilemma...

I'm likely to just do kitchen cabinet and built-in wardrobe for MBR and one of the bedroom (coz it already has a recessed area, suitable for building wardrobe).

So, also no feature wall, no tv console, shoe cabinets, study table, etc...

just going to get off-the-shelf kind... hopefully, can save more money this way... :(

I'm likely to just do kitchen cabinet and built-in wardrobe for MBR and one of the bedroom (coz it already has a recessed area, suitable for building wardrobe).

So, also no feature wall, no tv console, shoe cabinets, study table, etc...

just going to get off-the-shelf kind... hopefully, can save more money this way... :(

Don't think there's anything wrong at all with purchased furniture/fittings at all. Most of the clothes we use to decorate ourselves are ready made rather than custom tailored, the same view can be applied to furniture. Unless one has one arm or leg longer than the other or an exceedingly short waist etc., ready made clothes look fabulous so unless a room has some "non-standard" shape there should not be any driving need for custom furniture. Ready made furniture often has design which cannot be easily reproduced by simple carpenters due to the complex equipment needed to effect these designs which is available to large scale manufactures. Such furniture is often designed by very specialised people whose whole expertise is in this area. So don't feel bad about buying furniture, enjoy instead the shopping experience and putting together the exact look you want at a price which your bargaining skills get you...could be just or more satisfying than custom built. "Turn your frown upside down :) "

haha... my hubby has always been very proud of the fact that we don't have a single piece of customized furniture except kitchen cabinet. His reason is "everyone else has built-in wardrobe/cabinets, we are not like them" :lol: interesting way to think, ya? :P

hmmmm although i'd love to have a customized mirror cabinet to fit into my weird-shaped toilet though. hmmmm :P

haha... my hubby has always been very proud of the fact that we don't have a single piece of customized furniture except kitchen cabinet. His reason is "everyone else has built-in wardrobe/cabinets, we are not like them" :lol: interesting way to think, ya? :P

hmmmm although i'd love to have a customized mirror cabinet to fit into my weird-shaped toilet though. hmmmm :P

actually... i'm ok without built-in furniture, unless, there's a natural recessed area (like in my bedroom 2), where it can be flushed with the walls.

built-in stuff tends to limit flexibility lor. and as marshmallow has mentioned, likely only to do them for kitchen, since the use of the space is more or less fixed.

For the wall-mounted tv, if not going to do feature wall, what are the gd ways to hide the cables?

Same view from me sis

Rem my TV console ? At 1st i also tot of doing a custom make one . But then I a found a ready make one which is 1/2 the cost .... then I just buy lor . (with the cellini package it even cheaper )

My BIW at master bedroom is different story , cos of the stupid shape that only allow us to have a 5ft wardrobe , we got to custom make to have the max space

and also .... I never believe to spend 500-600 just to built something for me to keep my shoes ...lol

Edited by Supersimon27

For the wall-mounted tv, if not going to do feature wall, what are the gd ways to hide the cables?

Take a look at my living room TV console :) it hide wire well

Same view from me sis

Rem my TV console ? At 1st i also tot of doing a custom make one . But then I a found a ready make one which is 1/2 the cost .... then I just buy lor . (with the cellini package it even cheaper )

My BIW at master bedroom is different story , cos of the stupid shape that only allow us to have a 5ft wardrobe , we got to custom make to have the max space

and also .... I never believe to spend 500-600 just to built something for me to keep my shoes ...lol

there are many off-the-shelf tv consoles that has some form of cable management system, like bro simon's Cellini one ;). i saw some in vhive also.

my hubby was considering the ikea Framsta, easy to install and we love the look. i've talked about it in my t-blog also:

5319441318_ee71b46a7e_z.jpg

my wardrobe only 5.5ft too... not becos the room has odd shape but becos my MBR is just small :(

btw, 100% agree on the point about shoe cabinets.... :lol:

Went to Hommage Furniture over the weekend... The boss and his wife are indeed very friendly and helpful. No pressure selling and even shared with us great tips on selecting furniture... Their prices also very straight forward...No GST and delivery charge. But the boss informed us that we need to buy b4 April as they are registering their business with IRAS on the GST thingy... Come April will have GST... Luv their dining tables, chairs and bed frame.. Think will most likely to get from them after CNY ... Brother asked me to go IFC and S&C to see see look look more choices...

Also went Audio House to check out their fridges and washer... Somehow I like Samsung design very much... Aiming for RT-77KBPN fridge and WF-9904 washer...

Nothing much to update as it's CNY....So wld like to wish u guys Happy Lunar New Year! Huat ah! Huat ah!

Went to Hommage Furniture over the weekend... The boss and his wife are indeed very friendly and helpful. No pressure selling and even shared with us great tips on selecting furniture... Their prices also very straight forward...No GST and delivery charge. But the boss informed us that we need to buy b4 April as they are registering their business with IRAS on the GST thingy... Come April will have GST... Luv their dining tables, chairs and bed frame.. Think will most likely to get from them after CNY ... Brother asked me to go IFC and S&C to see see look look more choices...

Also went Audio House to check out their fridges and washer... Somehow I like Samsung design very much... Aiming for RT-77KBPN fridge and WF-9904 washer...

Nothing much to update as it's CNY....So wld like to wish u guys Happy Lunar New Year! Huat ah! Huat ah!

really ah? then i better go and have a look before april. saw some stuff i like the last time i went there but then didn't really order anything yet. shall go and see again....

Which items do u intend to get from them? I still can't find my 'perfect' TV console and study table at the prices we want. Those super nice ones r so ex... Hubby was saying that given the price, we might as well order from Henry... As least we can indicate the exact measurements we like. We shall see his 3D drawings to see if the designs are worth the price:) Didn't know that wardrobes nowadays are so cheap... All less than $1k... Maybe baby's room can get those cheap cheap one....

i intend to get dining chairs.... their chairs looks very nice... since my table is built together with my island, then there is no need for me to have table.... only need to get right chairs for my design. for wardrobes, i prefer built wardrobe, as its more sturdy.... maybe i have bought too many cheap ones that spoilt easily.... so prefer built in for my own flat.

Very busy week... Work plus baby also sick... Heng now better..at least me and hubby can concentrate on reno stuff....

Sat 12 Feb 2011: Met my brother aka Supersimon to buy my sanitary stuff and lightings... Three of us (incl my hubby) met around 12 noon to start our day... We walked to Poh Joo Hardware as our first stop. Poh Joo has a very wide range of selection... The person who served us was very helpful and friendly..even when we told her that we will need to go a few shops later to compare prices, she still served us with great patience. Thumb up for great service! Maybe due to the fact that Poh Joo is very popular, there were also quite a no of out of stock when my brother specifically described the designs he wanted.

Then we walked to Lighting.com.sg to see the lights... I wld say the range is quite limited but okie lah... I need cheap lighting anyway... However, I still can't find the perfect dining light that has the punch! So we didn't confirm on lighting... I think most likely I will go back to purchase the downlight, bedroom and kitchen light. I was quoted $33 for each Philips downlight (without ballast). If any kind soul got a cheaper quote, please pm me the store and price... Thks in advance!

Finally, we went to Royal Fanco to check out the sanitary stuff again. Not much of good impression cos the store is so small and cramped! Not much of stuff on display either....BUT the boss Henry and the lady who served us are very knowledgeable. Actually, they carry a lot of brands.. The tap, mixer they recommended seems very solid and are very heavy.. Maybe due to the prolong standing and walking... I decided to buy most of the stuff from Royal Fanco. I also bought my WCs, sink and basins there. Total damage is around $2k... Sigh... these are 'hidden costs' of reno... Few small small items can rank up to thousands too...

Sun 13 Feb 2011: Went *spam to get my KDK ceiling fan... then thru talking to the staff, decided to get fridge from them. This is my fridge: Hitachi R-W691EMS!

http://www.hitachiconsumer.com/sg/products...s.aspx?oid=2909

Okie... got to sleep... so tired... and many special thanks to my dearest brother who spent so much time with me:)

Edited by friends78