newie

Reno Quote- I Think Im Being Ripped Off

We recently bought a an older private 4+1 bedroom condo(abt 1,800 sf/169sm) and engaged a builder to carry out complete revamp of the kitchen, 2bathrooms, utility, maids room and maids bathroom.

Having only just come across this website, I'm afraid I am being overcharged by the builder. His quotation lacks a lot of detail . Here it is:

Protection to unit floor $400

Hack tiled wall/floor/cabinets of kitchen, 3 bathrooms and utility room )

Dismantle false ceiling in kitchen/bathrooms ) $7000

Dispose concealed water pipes in kitchen )

Apply water proofing to kitchen, utility and 3 bathrooms ) $13,000

Supply sand and cement to level floors and walls )

Supply and install plaster ceiling for kitchen and 3 bathrooms $2300

Supply and install 2 granite tops and vanity cabinets for the 2 bathrooms $4000

Supply and install new concealed water pipes for kitchen and 3 bathrooms $6500

Supply and install tempered glass sliding door and screens in kitchen and 2 bathroom $7500

Supply and install aluminium frame bi fold door at maids toilet and maids $900

Supply and install 2 wall mirrors for bathroom $400

Supply and install new refuse chute $500

Sand and vanish wooden flooring in 4 bedrooms $1000

Polish marble floor in living/dining and corridoor $1400

Paint whole aprtment $1900

Supply and install 3 Rheem waterheaters (6gall, 15gall, 20gallon) $1480

supply and install 2 pop up waste in 2 existing bathtubs $500

Supply labour to install new vanity sink inside master bathroom $250

GRAND TOTAL $49580

The above does not include cost of tiles and sanitary ware.

This does not include us engaging a kitchen ID company to do the design and build kitchen cabinetry !!

having just moved back from Australia, where the cost of doing a kitchen by itself is abt $50K- I guess we didnt do much research into the whole thing. The builder came recommended by our trusted real estate agent and before we engaged him, he took us to a couple of places that he was working on to let us see the quality of his work. The places were pretty high end (Orchard Boleuvard etc) and we were pretty impressed.

We have just started the reno works 1 week ago- no deposit or downpayment have been made. So far, he has hacked all the areas and replaced the water pipes.

I need advice on:

1. How much discount should we ask? Before we engaged him, we asked him for a discount and he had agreed he will give us one but did not specify the amount. He kept re iterating that because we are close friends of the real estate agent(whom im sure gives him a lot of work), he will "look after us". Is 10percent reasonable discount? When I mentioned this, he started ranting about getting another contractor etc etc

Getting another contractor is not an option at this stage. We are already paying rent and enormous amts in the storage of our container from Austrlia and any delay means more money to us.

Would really appreciate any advice on how to deal with this. So far, my relationship with him is good and I dont want him to sabotage me by lowering the quality of his works.Thanks!

We recently bought a an older private 4+1 bedroom condo(abt 1,800 sf/169sm) and engaged a builder to carry out complete revamp of the kitchen, 2bathrooms, utility, maids room and maids bathroom.

Having only just come across this website, I'm afraid I am being overcharged by the builder. His quotation lacks a lot of detail . Here it is:

Supply and install tempered glass sliding door and screens in kitchen and 2 bathroom $7500

GRAND TOTAL $49580

This does not include us engaging a kitchen ID company to do the design and build kitchen cabinetry !!

having just moved back from Australia, where the cost of doing a kitchen by itself is abt $50K- I guess we didnt do much research into the whole thing. The builder came recommended by our trusted real estate agent and before we engaged him, he took us to a couple of places that he was working on to let us see the quality of his work. The places were pretty high end (Orchard Boleuvard etc) and we were pretty impressed.

We have just started the reno works 1 week ago- no deposit or downpayment have been made. So far, he has hacked all the areas and replaced the water pipes.

I need advice on:

1. How much discount should we ask? Before we engaged him, we asked him for a discount and he had agreed he will give us one but did not specify the amount. He kept re iterating that because we are close friends of the real estate agent(whom im sure gives him a lot of work), he will "look after us". Is 10percent reasonable discount? When I mentioned this, he started ranting about getting another contractor etc etc

Getting another contractor is not an option at this stage. We are already paying rent and enormous amts in the storage of our container from Austrlia and any delay means more money to us.

Would really appreciate any advice on how to deal with this. So far, my relationship with him is good and I dont want him to sabotage me by lowering the quality of his works.Thanks!

The quotation is far too high... 50k for kitchen is too much... How big can ur kitchen be?? How can it be so much??

Even 30k is expensive... i would suggest changing contractor cos he is not going to give u a 50 percent discount...

I guess less than 25k will be enuff for ur kitchen...

I took a quick look at the items (which is not really about a kitchen), probably 2 or 3 of them are higher than "norm".

But considering that you have engaged a high end contractor, I supposed that you would be paying a premium of about 10-15 K. But you should be able to get very good finishing.

I wouldn't want to discuss any discount with a high end contractor; he most probably would be insulted.

GRAND TOTAL $49580

I need advice on:

The quotation is far too high... 50k for kitchen is too much... How big can ur kitchen be?? How can it be so much??

Even 30k is expensive... i would suggest changing contractor cos he is not going to give u a 50 percent discount...

I guess less than 25k will be enuff for ur kitchen...

Hi shawncck

Thanks for your input. I do realise his price is pretty high but his quote is not just the kitchen. I guess I may have to show him other quotations in this forum for him to compare with and try to get a decent discount.

Hi shawncck

Thanks for your input. I do realise his price is pretty high but his quote is not just the kitchen. I guess I may have to show him other quotations in this forum for him to compare with and try to get a decent discount.

Still the quote was high i feel... In design, high end or not, it doesnt matter... it is only branding...

High end doesnt promise good workmanship while low end oso does not mean lousy workmanship..

A contractor that can deliver good workmanship w a good pricing is consider good...

We are looking for good contractor good ID... not a high pricing ID.... bear in mind that...

Let u know that i did a complete reno of 52k plus on my 1300sqf hdb. Hack all floors. All walls. Electrical, false ceiling all do etc. Agree urs is condo so there's tighter time frames for hacking, shorter wroking hrs are allowed etc n urs is 1800 sqf. But still, your price is way too exp. Coming back from aus, the contractor must hv seen u to be a ripe carrot for chopping.

Also u hv not settled the real final price inclusive of discount before signing contract n starting work. The saying 'will take care of you because u r my fren's fren' is rubbish in such situations and all forms of biz. Only the mafia can say that and mean it. When it comes to biz, best for everything to be in black n white.

On the conception of workmanship, i can only say a contractor is as good as his sub contractors bcoz the contractor himself is not going to do all the work outside there. He'll be subcontracting parts of the work to diff craftsmen outside there - tiler, carpenter, ceiling specialist, electrician, plumber. The skill of the contractor is in selecting the best team n communicating n managing everyone. Yes i will pay for that premium but it has to be reasonable.

Unfortunately, u didnt do enough homework to check. Try to ask for 20% discount at least. U hv been chopped severely. I dun need to disect ur quote in detail. One look can see certain items hv been charged dble.

Let u know that i did a complete reno of 52k plus on my 1300sqf hdb. Hack all floors. All walls. Electrical, false ceiling all do etc. Agree urs is condo so there's tighter time frames for hacking, shorter wroking hrs are allowed etc n urs is 1800 sqf. But still, your price is way too exp. Coming back from aus, the contractor must hv seen u to be a ripe carrot for chopping.

Also u hv not settled the real final price inclusive of discount before signing contract n starting work. The saying 'will take care of you because u r my fren's fren' is rubbish in such situations and all forms of biz. Only the mafia can say that and mean it. When it comes to biz, best for everything to be in black n white.

On the conception of workmanship, i can only say a contractor is as good as his sub contractors bcoz the contractor himself is not going to do all the work outside there. He'll be subcontracting parts of the work to diff craftsmen outside there - tiler, carpenter, ceiling specialist, electrician, plumber. The skill of the contractor is in selecting the best team n communicating n managing everyone. Yes i will pay for that premium but it has to be reasonable.

Unfortunately, u didnt do enough homework to check. Try to ask for 20% discount at least. U hv been chopped severely. I dun need to disect ur quote in detail. One look can see certain items hv been charged dble.

Agreed w what arowana say.... maybe u can change the contractor since nothing was signed....

Thanks for all your advice.

If I cant get a decent discount, then I will change contractor.

Since you two seem to be quite "senior" in this area, can you give me the names of a few contractors- they dont have to be the cheapest but as long as they are good.

thanks again

GRAND TOTAL $49580

I need advice on:

The Kitchen cabinet is a separate contract right?

There are a few imported Kitchen specialist in Singapore, the set of Kitchen will cost

30-50K which is consider normal, they have include imported Germany/ Italy appliances

like expensive sink, tap, Oven, Built in Fridge even dryer which itselves already cost

20K-30K or more which ever price is applicable. Kitchen cabinet materials price which is

in high-end side, normally they come with water resistant board instead of plywood, Quartz

worktop and Blum soft closer and even comes with retractable tempered glass door,

Not to forget they high Rental showroom & advertistment.

unless you get nothing of the above :rolleyes:

Renovation price are too high, you have to blame yourself for not checking the market before

engaging them :dunno:

There are soooo many ways the ID or contractor can "robert" you if they want...

They can give you discount here and there, and eventually give you some under par worksmanship and quality, if that's the case, I would rather pay more. Cos, I may be staying there for good.

To me, most important, is worksmanship, quality, after-service support, warranty.

I agree with demioboy78 totally but probably one thing I thought he missed out - the ID's attitude. If you dun like her/ his attitude you will find yourself having a tough time with her. I am speaking from my personal n recent experience. Haizzz

i agree

attitude is the most important. For renovations, there will sure be screw ups, defects, rectifications etc. you will need to communicate clearly no matter what.

if you cannot work with the guy, how cheap also useless.

Thanks for all your feedback .

Managed to negotiate 20percent discount from my contractor.

As said by some viewers, attitude counts as well. The attitude of my contractor is pretty good. He is always pleasant, easily contactable, prompt with replies , on time and the workmanship is high. I know im still paying higher than average but Im happy with his attitude and workmanship.