Well said! Form + Function :jammin:

PS: This mountain project better be good and stable! I've just seen the Nov2015 BTO for Punggol and it's situated right beside the sea,... how nice... with the view. But so effing far! I can't imagine having to commute up and down to work and if you have friends at the west side, they be like so dreading if coming over.... 8|

Yeah, totally agreed. Thank goodness most ppl preferred sengken/pungol over bukit batok. Less ppl applying means higher chances of getting the unit. :P

Mmoh, i also prefer sun dried clothes but judging from the sun direction, i'm not sure if i will get any. :P Bummer right? And 22 pages with over 20,000 views on this topic goes to show there is interest in the 2room section! Just that we have to keep going at it and inspire people to post more.

but mostly are repeated views and we "chit chat" alot here... lol!

btw, sound to me most 2 rooms owner in this thread are female? I only know bunniboi, rainbow1979 and ryanyth are male. and of cos andotang and I think ahjack are male too.

Edited by mmoh

Yeah, moreover, there isn't alot of platform available for 2roomers to chitchat and exchange ideas. ;)

I would be most keen to see how other 2roomers did their bathroom tho... :P

but mostly are repeated views and we "chit chat" alot here... lol!

btw, sound to me most 2 rooms owner in this thread are female? I only know bunniboi, rainbow1979 and ryanyth are male. and of cos andotang and I think ahjack are male too.

This wild ginger is a guy too FYI :sport-smiley-004: lol!!!

Mine is on the 18th flr as I liked to be closer to the sky then ground and my current house is on 3rd flr... kinda sick of living on low level flr already... :P

My block is 41x, guess not that far of from yours.

Eh, based on my current experiences living on 3rd flr, big trees doesn't really sheltered your house from much privacy. Someone sent by some gov unit would cut down the branches of the big trees in front of my window from time to time leaving it looking rather bare.

But maybe it'll be different in your new house. Fingers crossed... :)

Ankle, my choices that time bo bian. Only have the lower floors for the 47sqm ones and they were all facing carpark, so ugly. Me no want. The rest were the smaller units 38sqm ones. And i initially picked the highest floor which was the same price as this current unit, only difference was the size, a mere 38sqm. My heart just sank when i saw the lady printing out the floor plan and i was like, "Ok, you know what, let's change to the bigger unit instead." And so that is how i got to end up with a second floor apartment.

I'm trying to be positive. At the end of the day, it's a bigger unit, more space and fingers crossed, toes crossed, eyes also crossed that they put pweety, pweety trees and plants in front of my block on the second floor. If not, i go there and plant a row of banana trees myself!!!:sport-smiley-018:

LOL....this is a very good chit chat platform for 2 roomers....get to know each other, sharing information/experiences and photos..... :good:

Chitty chatter is good especially within the 2roomers! Socialising mah :drunk:

Edited by Wild Ginger

This wild ginger is a guy too FYI :sport-smiley-004: lol!!!

Ankle, my choices that time bo bian. Only have the lower floors for the 47sqm ones and they were all facing carpark, so ugly. Me no want. The rest were the smaller units 38sqm ones. And i initially picked the highest floor which was the same price as this current unit, only difference was the size, a mere 38sqm. My heart just sank when i saw the lady printing out the floor plan and i was like, "Ok, you know what, let's change to the bigger unit instead." And so that is how i got to end up with a second floor apartment.

I'm trying to be positive. At the end of the day, it's a bigger unit, more space and fingers crossed, toes crossed, eyes also crossed that they put pweety, pweety trees and plants in front of my block on the second floor. If not, i go there and plant a row of banana trees myself!!!:sport-smiley-018:

Chitty chatter is good especially within the 2roomers! Socialising mah :drunk:

:jawdrop: banana trees???? Eh....plant something else lar.....banana tree very spooky.....LOL :lol:

@wild Ginger

Understood your dilemma... I was having the same worries of size vs low flr before gotten queue no and was mentally preparing to accept 38sqm if queue no is no good. Then after gotten queue no even worst. Was struggling over corner vs privacy vs high flr vs near bus stop vs noise lvl from school.... :P

moi also sacrificed privacy for high flr + corner unit. Think I'm fine as my current room also have no privacy at all. Have to draw up curtain 24/7 but have gotten used to it already. :)

is your unit design same as mine? Cos I think mine is also somewhat different in the location of the household shelter. But the rest are still quite similar.

You can come visit my empty unit if you want. Or let me know which part you want to see so I can show you the photos?

I would love to visit, but can or not? I don't want to impose :o

Yes, the good part is big living room but this is at the expense of small kitchen. Luckily, I dont cook much. but still headache on the lack of table top space.

As shared before in previous posts, I intend to customised a day bed at the living room window which is abt 11ft x 1ft. This will serves as my sofa if there is guests or my lazing corner if I am at home or the extra bed if there is anyone staying over. I also intend to build book shelves at 1 of the side.

However, now with the actual unit, I realised that the morning sun shines through the living room windows and I get 0 direct sunlight from my kitchen window where the clothes hanger are. Hence the only place I can dry my clothes with direct sun light is at my living room, which is exactly where the day bed is. Also, the TV points & cable port in living room are located at the left wall panel. If I am to do carpentry and put TV / monitor there, it is exposed to direct sunlight. Of course, the blind / curtain should solve this issue.

So, now I am in dilemma whether should I proceed on the day bed... what do you think?

I think a good idea would be to use tape, to demarcate where you want the day bed, how much space the mattress and other stuff will take up Then you walk around and see if that space is acceptable to you?

Sometimes, it might be a bit difficult to visualise something, even on a 3D drawing?

BTW, have you guys thought of having a murphy bed system like HiddenWallBed? I've enquired before and it hovers around $2.5k for a standard system for a Queen Size. Would free up the space by a huge margin but i'm still a little skeptical on the hydraulics system for it. Will it be able to last along time, for e.g. 10yrs?

I have!

this is what I would like to do in my room, ideally!

I would love to visit, but can or not? I don't want to impose :o

No problem. Just need to fix a date that I am available. lol.

Cos I think it is important for the owner to physically see the unit to realise how small it is for your space planning. You might like to bring your floor plan and measuring tape for a comparison.

@wild Ginger

Understood your dilemma... I was having the same worries of size vs low flr before gotten queue no and was mentally preparing to accept 38sqm if queue no is no good. Then after gotten queue no even worst. Was struggling over corner vs privacy vs high flr vs near bus stop vs noise lvl from school.... :P

moi also sacrificed privacy for high flr + corner unit. Think I'm fine as my current room also have no privacy at all. Have to draw up curtain 24/7 but have gotten used to it already. :)

I also chose a high floor unit, but not exactly corner, because all the high floor corner units were all taken. My ballot number was 11X, which is already very good. I had the choice of a low unit (2-4 floor) corner, or a top floor next to corner unit. I chose the top floor one. :o

No problem. Just need to fix a date that I am available. lol.

Cos I think it is important for the owner to physically see the unit to realise how small it is for your space planning. You might like to bring your floor plan and measuring tape for a comparison.

Exactly. I had done a few 3D models on different programmes, but I just don't think it gives me the same kind of impression as the actual units.

I had gone to the one at the HDB hub a few times, to mull over the space, and tried to imagine how that will apply to my layout. 'updated; 2 room there is actually quite similar to the layout I've got. But I am worried that the 'actual' units will still differ.

LOL @ Wild ginger. Actually there is 1 more, from MsBunny. Link to her blog can be found on page 1 of this thread. But she hasnt been updating since Sep 7...

LOL @mmoh. You made me feel so guilty for slacking! :D

Is your kitty better now?

Well, there is a good and bad thing about having oversized furniture in our tiny nests lor.

Sigh, I was hoping to get more 'experience' from you, our quick hand quick leg 2roomer. Not like we got a lot of other references lor. If I didn't remember wrongly, MsBunny's unit shaped very different from the conventional 2-room layout. So I was hoping to get more photos from you, mmoh. :D

Thanks for remembering Bailey @kyooko! :)

Her condition fluctuates. It improves when she gets a steroids jab but it only lasts for 2-3 weeks and is not an ideal long-term solution. Still hoping she can do without that but we've already given her the jab twice so far... :( I'm a little worried for her which is why I'm on leave half of next week to keep her company at our new home.

I bought way too much furniture and now I'm trying to get rid of it haha. Should have listened to my mum (but don't tell her I said that! Lol)

MsBunny. What color is your sofa may i ask? If it's in an off white pastel, neutral shade to your wall color, then i doubt it will be a visual issue. Or is it the physical shape of the sofa that's eating up your space?

@Wild Ginger, it's a bit hard to describe my sofa... It's a sofa bed and it's kinda colourful lol. There's green, blues and greys. It's a solid sofa bed so it's pretty chunky. I need to get rid of ALL the other seating I got cuz I underestimated the physical size.

My favourite area in the house (besides the kitchen) is the foyer aka the cat suite cuz it's the least cluttered haha!

upload_-1.jpg

And other random things I've been sticking on my walls...

upload_-1.jpg

Sneak preview lol. :D