icer

How Can Singles Afford?

I am single and not yet 35, coming soon.

At the rate the property prices are going, how can an average earning single afford a flat. Nowadays even 3 room flats are asking for at least $30K above valuation? And of course private properties are really expensive and not worth it.

Unless u go for those really outskirts areas, if not it's really hard to afford housing.

I am single and not yet 35, coming soon.

At the rate the property prices are going, how can an average earning single afford a flat. Nowadays even 3 room flats are asking for at least $30K above valuation? And of course private properties are really expensive and not worth it.

Unless u go for those really outskirts areas, if not it's really hard to afford housing.

Stay with your family, don't move out lor.

property prices go up and down

save a lot a lot now so that you can swop in and buy a unit when the prices are down

single can afford a place lah, just how much you save only :bangwall:

Heard end of the year, govt gonna increase subsidy for the low income earners

& also more options on the cpf usage.

Sad to say, nothing mention for singles. they only implement rule when the market is bad.

My colleges just sold her point blk flat at TPY at $18k COV.

I says, u siao ah ....

Says hb kancheong..new hse already come, wait cannot sell how ?

Don't be dishearten, might just catch another case like that.

property prices go up and down

save a lot a lot now so that you can swop in and buy a unit when the prices are down

single can afford a place lah, just how much you save only :yamseng:

Ya lor, I always think single very rich leh, my single colleges always go exotic holiday.

Sometimes 1 year, a few times some more.

Me, boh pian, 5 times more expensive...

it really depends on how you spend your money loh

i'm lucky to get a new flat from hdb, but i'm paying for it alone

so if you are not too picky, $200k or less can get a 3-rm flat liao :yamseng:

guess we'll have to make do with whatever we have to lead the kind of life we want yet can afford :furious:

that's why we are shifting to SK, coz central area too expensive liao

an EA in SK can't buy a 3-rm in chinatown :yamseng::furious:

guess we'll have to make do with whatever we have to lead the kind of life we want yet can afford :furious:

an EA in SK can't buy a 3-rm in chinatown :yamseng::furious:

Good idea, make some money , got new hse , more reno pictures.

faster find one partner, 2 ppl paying for the installment not so shiong, somore can get bigger flat..

Wah....faster find one partner just to help pay for flat ah! Dun tink is a good idea leh....

yah loh, alone also can get bigger flat

just the location not so good nia

btw, new flats and resale flats the price about the same loh

just that new flats no need to pay COV

have some patience and wait for the market to cool down

sure can afford one lah :P:D

Always do your sums and get something within your budget. Esp for singles, do factor in if you can still afford to service the mortgage in the event you lose your job. That's what I did.

Instead of paying $100k-$150K more for a flat in the central areas, you could settle for one in the suburbs and renovate it nicely. If the unit is near to the MRT station, it may just be a 30 mins ride to town. Also, a small loan = lesser interest.

guess we'll have to make do with whatever we have to lead the kind of life we want yet can afford ;)

an EA in SK can't buy a 3-rm in chinatown :dancingqueen::notti:

staying in the central - in the long run - you save more on transport cost + time.

actually really depends on your lifestyle and area of work

for me, after shifing to SK my transportation cost with increase by $100 a month

a year is $1.2k, 10yrs is $12k and 100yrs is $120k

add this $120k to my SK flat price i still cannot buy a similar flat in central wor

time wise i'll spend an additional hour every day which i can use to read a book, do some handicraft or sleep somemore on the train :):dancingqueen: