oogachaga

Impress21 Design And Build - My Home Makeover

DAY 50 cont

AFTER Mirror frame painted (a mirror cabinet would have costs close to $800 :jawdrop:)

and top mounted sink and new mixer tap. the plumbers took great care to centre the new basin over the hole in the marble top ( the old sink was not dismantled )...he actually measured the distance, and seeked my approval first before sealing with silicone! :good:

P1020906.jpg

AFTER

P1030010.jpg

AFTER Under cabinet doors painted with new s/s handles

P1030076.jpg

AFTER New shower set except shower head...useful tray included ( no need to drill more holes to install )

P1030082.jpg

AFTER WC with new accessories

P1030110.jpg

Costs for this toilet makeover:

Labour costs to install basin, tap, WC and accessories ( items bought separately ) $160

Painting and marble polishing included in the reno..so overall, quite "cheap" :D

Edited by oogachaga

:jawdrop: love the stainless steel look leh... cost alot more hor :deal:

Thanks! so much better than the old kitchen :dancingqueen:

I dont think it costs alot more vs tiling or tempered glass. If I were to do glass backing, Henry said I still have to tile that area where the steel backings are, costs savings zero! If no tiles there, very minimal savings...labour costs is high.

The kitchen looks great now! And after polishing the marble looks so different!

Thanks! Cheapo way of doing things...renew and rejuvenate...polish, paint .... :D

Agree with pinkpetter. The polishing really makes a big difference. Wow!

Thanks! More pics to come.....as for living and dining, no reno done, just rearrange furniture and WASH curtains and sofa fabrics, also look as good as new :D

nice kitchen.. :dribble: How much ur ID quote u for the stainless steel backing ??

Thanks again! Henry gave me a choice of either tempered glass or stainless steel, both at same price.

The 2 stainless steel backings costs $780.

Will post the final total damage when completed. Stay tuned :yamseng:

Edited by oogachaga

UPDATE ON BLUM Lobang

Finally happened to find another authorised BLUM dealer, along Upper Bukit Timah Road.

Kiang Sing Hong Hardware Supplies

828, Upper Bukit Timah Rd Tel: 67600365

Its located just beside the condo, the LINEAR...in those 2 storey shophouses.

Was looking for some rubber plugs for my chairs, and had to compare prices for BLUM ma

:bangwall::bangwall::bangwall: cheaper than what I bought from Shanghai Tong Lee!

The hinge set costs about less than $4, and the 500mm full extension runners was around $36 ( exc GST )..almost $10 cheaper for the runners!

Mr Ang said these are contractors' price...I didnt even had to ask!

BTW, there will be a price increase soon, he showed me the list and the runners will have a price increase of 35%!

So for those of you who are contemplating BLUM, go check this place out.

Looking forward to more posts from you. You are a very detailed person. I love the way you illustrate the reno process cos a picture speaks a thousand words.

Is your place near upper bukit Timah??.... seems to have a great view of greenery.

Looking forward to more posts from you. You are a very detailed person. I love the way you illustrate the reno process cos a picture speaks a thousand words.

Is your place near upper bukit Timah??.... seems to have a great view of greenery.

Thanks! Glad to know you like it.

Yes it is...a nice and tranquil area.....air is fresh and cool too :)

More pics to come :yamseng:

DAY 57

Works:

--Mirror Installation

Its been almost 2 weeks since they did the measurements... and today is installation.

I engaged Sen Glass Specialist ...they are the very same ones who did all the glass at T3...very impressive.

They do glass sliding doors as well...around the same price as what Henry did for me, could discount since I am doing mirror too :bangwall::bangwall: ..they also have DORMA mechanisms too..slightly more exp.

Okay...its 6 mm plywood backing ( actually it varies from 5 to 5.5 mm...I measured ), and 5 mm mirror glass. It has to be in 3 pieces..due to lift constraints.

Fitting the plywood and over the socket cutout

P1030113.jpg

Drilling in the plywood backing

P1030115.jpg

2nd piece of backing up, and fitting the 3rd piece as there's a dimmer switch cut out...

P1030116.jpg

Adhesive tape on the plywood, and the plywood skirting for mirror support

P1030121.jpg

Fitting the 1st mirror, using laser device to check the vertical line

P1030125.jpg

DAY 57 cont

Fitting the 2nd piece..you can see the laser device with red beam on

P1030133.jpg

Completed mirror installation and secured with tape

P1030134.jpg

They will be back a few days' time to silicone the edges as they need to wait for the adhesive to set first.

wow...mirror helps to brighten up the house...nice!

Your ceiling looks very high,esp when one use the door height as the reference pt.....r u staying in the highest floor? so envious... cos high ceiling will make the place even bigger...

wow...mirror helps to brighten up the house...nice!

Your ceiling looks very high,esp when one use the door height as the reference pt.....r u staying in the highest floor? so envious... cos high ceiling will make the place even bigger...

Yes mirror makes the space looks bigger :)

You are very observant :) I love the high ceilings, its hard to come by nowadays...it makes the place roomier! ..which is why no false ceilings for me.

My ceiling is 3.3 m high throughout except the kitchen and toilets ( original), and the living is 9 m high!

The high ceiling is really obvious fr the pictures sia.

So shiok to have such a high ceiling...9m!!!!! I thot it's usu for loft units or penthouse only. Do u intend to hang nice chandelier...

This is an awesome unit...and really hard to come by..how long did you take to find this dream home?

Yes mirror makes the space looks bigger :)

You are very observant :) I love the high ceilings, its hard to come by nowadays...it makes the place roomier! ..which is why no false ceilings for me.

My ceiling is 3.3 m high throughout except the kitchen and toilets ( original), and the living is 9 m high!

wah. shuld be private property. u ask them do alot of mirror? wonder how much will dey charge if i do a 1mX2.6m mirror.

Hi Deepwhite,

How is your renovation going so far? :)

I had open the blog as well to talk about the progress. All the wet work is done up very well but the plumber and electrician job is not so well done. Quiet shock that the electrician will not seal up the trunking gap... after talking to Henry, he mentioned that they will help us to seal the gap for the living room only... Job not done nicely.. :furious: