trashley

Turning A House Into A Place We Can Call Home

finally found some time to start my reno tblog.

some intro first.

we're a young couple buying our first flat, decided on yishun as prices are generally cheaper compared to everywhere else. we like that Yishun has a kind of peace and serenity, having my office within walking distance of my new place is sort of an added bonus. hehe... save on transportation.

we have a little girl and wife is expecting our second in august, so we were actually looking at 5rms, EAs and EMs.

these were the pics i saw in an online ad in oct.

n522121875_1527852_6638.jpg

n522121875_1527853_7043.jpgn522121875_1527854_7342.jpg

gave the agent a call to arrange for a viewing, realised that the unit is only 3-4mins walk away from my office. fell in love with the place when i saw it, i arranged for another viewing immediately for wifey to take a look.

only the price is holding us back now. after a few rounds of negotiation we settled on $384K, valuation of the unit was $375K with a COV of $9K.

floor plan

Blk277YishunSt2206-296-floorplan-1.jpg

After placing a deposit for the OTP, we went to a few IDs and contractors for quotes. Regretted not getting to know about RenoTalk earlier, so many people to answer all my doubts and queries.

We decided to use Brenda from Wideangle Design as we were impressed with her professionalism and superb service rendered, both wifey and me were very comfortable with her.

initial plan

• repaint whole unit
  • polish marble floor
  • change 3 toilets
  • feature wall **** room
  • glass partition for a study room from living room area
  • overlay 2nd floor with veneer
  • WIW with feature wall in MBR
  • wardrobe for mum's room
  • reposition power point
  • remove obiang cornice
  • epoxy pebble wash at walkway from main door

Was planning to leave the kitchen as it-is, and redo next time when budget allows. When i brought Brenda to my place for initial evaluation, she told me it is not advisable to keep the cabinet as the base is already rotten. Which actually made me happy within, as i now have a valid reason to redo the kitchen!! :rofl: i asked Brenda to hack away the toilet in the kitchen, as its so small that its neither here nor there. this enabled me to fulfill my dream of having an island counter in my kitchen!! :D

realized that the floor can't be kept as well as there were quite a few big bad stains that can't be removed completely even with polishing, it will at most lighten it. so decided to change it as well.

2nd draft

• repaint whole unit
  • hack entire 1st level flooring
  • replace with 80cm X 80cm homogeneous
  • hack toilet in kitchen
  • cabinet in kitchen
  • redo 2 toilets
  • feature wall **** room
  • overlay 2nd floor with veneer
  • WIW with feature wall in MBR
  • wardrobe for mum's room
  • reposition power point
  • remove obiang cornice
Edited by trashley

pictures of the place before work starts

from main door

_MG_1077.jpg

dining area

_MG_1078.jpg

kitchen

_MG_1071.jpg_MG_1088.jpg

teeny weeny toilet in kitchen

_MG_1072.jpg

Edited by trashley

view from dining area to living area

_MG_1083.jpg

view from extended living area

_MG_1081.jpg

stairs

_MG_1079.jpg

common toilet

_MG_1084.jpg_MG_1090.jpg

Edited by trashley

I think the price u bought is considered reasonable leh, COV $9k only wor and the flooring is marble leh... my flat is also at yishun but reno will start in late june or july... i m now sourcing around for contractor and cheap lobangs

congrats! tats quite a good price for EM! first flat can buy EM liao, so good!

EM is my ideal kind of HDB unit for now but too bad, cannot afford. :)

welcome to RT Blog .... wow the lay-out is so spacious!!!

i think it appears more spacious is because previous owner hacked away the balcony and extended the living room area

welcome fellow yishuner, which street or ave are u at?

hihi, im at st 22.

I think the price u bought is considered reasonable leh, COV $9k only wor and the flooring is marble leh... my flat is also at yishun but reno will start in late june or july... i m now sourcing around for contractor and cheap lobangs

hmmm.... wait till i pen down my experience later, seriously regretted paying COV for it. hehe... but just comfort myself to think that as long as i like the place, dont bother too much. haha

its actually broken marble.

congrats! tats quite a good price for EM! first flat can buy EM liao, so good!

EM is my ideal kind of HDB unit for now but too bad, cannot afford. :)

actually not much difference, comparing between urs and mine.

u paid $340K for a 4A, i paid $384K for an EM.

just that yishun flats are generally cheaper i guess.

actually not much difference, comparing between urs and mine.

u paid $340K for a 4A, i paid $384K for an EM.

just that yishun flats are generally cheaper i guess.

it might jus seems like $40k more for ur EM but reno plus maintenance, SP bills, etc add up, its actually a lot more lor.

hehe! my pocket already burn a big hole for my tiny 4A le! :D

it might jus seems like $40k more for ur EM but reno plus maintenance, SP bills, etc add up, its actually a lot more lor.

hehe! my pocket already burn a big hole for my tiny 4A le! :D

hehe... very true indeed...

trashley, ur place is near the park right, great it is peaceful and not rowdy. hmm ur workplace is near? don't tell me u're teaching? there's a lot of schools in yishun. :)

when are u planning to start reno?

Congratulations on your new buy... :thumbs up: Your price should be alright i think. I bought my 5I at 390K...:( but the most important thing is that you like the place... :dancingqueen:

Hi Trashley,

Spacious place you have there .. nice squarish layout ..

And is good to that your office is near your new place ... convenient to go and check on the progress everyday haha. :D

Look forward to your reno updates ..