Bethel

Toa Payoh Blk 79 Kakis

seriously, i think it is excuses. It is a matter of workmanship.

My logic is if someone else houses' homogenous tiles is not uneven, why should mine be?

if u try looking at ur house, there are areas they can do w/o the uneveness, right?

ask him this.

Ask him for his professional advice, afterall, he can tell u more.

let him do something about it, rather than shrug this away.

btw, is this ur 1st homo tile, or is that a replaced tile?

it is my 1st homo tile. The sharp end gap turns black becos of the unevenness. ID sure try to brush it off cos dun have to do extra work. Frankly, even if he feels if it is uneven, he will probably tell u it is norm for homogenous tiles to have some part of unevenness. Sigh! This ID so far ok so also dun want to be too harsh on him. But I dun have much patience.....

Babymaro2003,

Received your PM and your comments for uneven tiles.

Edited by toppie

1st homo tile shouldnt have too much uneveness, maybe u are around on thurs, u come and see my replaced tiles.

my 1st homo tile has no obvious uneveness, just hollow problem.

Thanks for the contact, Meowie! I'm sure to hound this Gary :yamseng:

Any review so far on your Hettich system? Just for an idea, say how much would a hinge plus Silent system cost?

Hi groovygenie,

For the hettich system, i buy direct from the salesman. U may call Gary at 93367137.

:dancingqueen: , BUT.... he always dun pick up phone call de la.. so u need to be patient. He is quite helpful though...

For my drawers, I just got their threads.. not the whole drawers.. hence, cheaper :D

But of coz, not as nice :notti: it is a difference of 200+.. i think i can make do without the whole drawers. :P

tension,

i

1st homo tile shouldnt have too much uneveness, maybe u are around on thurs, u come and see my replaced tiles.

Ard what time you will be around on Thurs? Can PM me your number?

Dear neighbours,

Just testing water here.

Anybody interested in buying stuff online from UK?

But probably can only get the stuff sometime in late July/Aug.

Possible suggestions,

Brabantia bins, clocks, bathroom and kitchen accessories.

Recommended websites ....

www.amazon.co.uk :yamseng:

www.lasenza.co.uk

www.argos.co.uk

How it works:

1) You tell me what stuff you want at what price from which website.

2) I do the ordering and have them send to my address in UK.

3) I arrange shipping to SG.

4) The catch: Exchange rate fixed at S$3 to £1. Or if you prefer to do the booking and stuff, I can provide delivery address and as for the shipping, can discuss.

Why I can offer this is cos' we are relocating back to SG and shipping back a container. So it's a one-off thing. Still got unused space.

Do PM me if you're interested.

I'm from 79D btw. :bangwall:

my idea of uneven tiles is when u step across 2 tiles, u feel the cut leg feeling.

what is urs?

btw meowie, I will in for this Thurs.

tension, if u wanna see my tiling work, i can drop by abt 630pm on thurs. 8|

For mine, can also feel. But to ID, he finds it norm cos homogenous tiles sure have unevenness. Thought if tensionz/ meowie49 around tmr, can help to zoom some sense into my ID cos I cant be there. When comes to argument, need woman to be around.

hi toppie, maybe u wanna join us this thurs too?? :rofl:

Hi meowie,

I brought the jewel box already. Mine $25-00. Got a bit of discount from christine. Diff design from yours. Heard from christine you need it for your customary wedding?

Babymaro2003 :bangwall:

wah!:yamseng: what did u get?? why $25? urs got cover one ar? I bought mine for $12...

nono... those that i need for my customary is some pouches.. coz the restaurant, which we hold our wedding dinner, does not provide wedding favours de .... that why we looking for cheap alternatives... buy small pouches n put jolly beans inside.. hehehe :notti:

Edited by meowie49

Thanks for the contact, Meowie! I'm sure to hound this Gary :yamseng:

Any review so far on your Hettich system? Just for an idea, say how much would a hinge plus Silent system cost?

hi groovygenie,

for 1 door, u just need 1 silent system + 2 hinge.. the price for such combi will be abt 3.95(silent system) + 3.60(2hinge) = 7.55 (b4 gst)

as for review.. i cant give any.. coz everything is with my contractor now.. havent even see anything .. heehehe...

Edited by meowie49

Can understand that. My grills are up now. Not nice at all, make the whole house darker. Parents In law want it, dun want to make hubby's position difficult so bo bian got to do. Like a cage to me

Hi Toppie,

What kind of grills you did? can't really find type that suits the window all cos of the ugly bars tha HDB did. Even my 80yr old auntie says HDB is tupid why Condo can like that but we need have a fence behind our window..SighZz !!

Most of the designs quite standard...dunno how it looks if its horizontal grillies on top and verticle on the bottom. :jawdrop:

Hey neighbours,

- cost of many building materials had gone up. eg cement & sand & metal items.

Wen suppliers charge higher cost price 2 ID/contractor, end of e day, e consumer - 'us' gota bear e hike. ID/contractor stil earn e same unless they willing 2 lower dn their profit margin. :~

- cost of alum window grilles had increased by abt $0.80psf :~

- cost of daily expenses olso up. :~

:dribble:

-- Any1 doing/done soft closing hinges (eg Hettich frm Germany or Blum frm Australia) for e whole kit cabinet? Roughly wats e cost for e whole set of hinges?

-- Any1 doin/done designers electrical switches (eg Clipsal or A&J) for e whole unit? Roughly wats e cost for all e switches in a std unit?

With e increase in cost price, kinda worried, may have 2 take out all dis supplementary items.

I am changing the blum hinges by myself..cost of blum hinges plus soft closing is ard $4. If you call up blum at Ubi, they will direct you to their authorised seller which is @ Upper Bukit Timah Road. If you intend to chg your drawers that has already been installed to blum runners, then you can't changed it. Unless you changed the whole drawer set.. !!

If you are willing to spend more, they have another soft closing hinges Hafele which is more EX and better than blum, ard $6...Just a soft touch and the door will closed by itself..

wah!!! what did u get?? why $25? urs got cover one ar? I bought mine for $12...

nono... those that i need for my customary is some pouches.. coz the restaurant, which we hold our wedding dinner, does not provide wedding favours de .... that why we looking for cheap alternatives... buy small pouches n put jolly beans inside.. hehehe :~

This is what I bought loh, can put watches, necklace, etc.

21042008ga3.jpg

babymaro2003 :~

Hey neighbours,

1 day din log in, suddenly so many ladies chatting abt buying jewelries... :~

How 2 lay 600mm x 600mm homogeneous floor tile?

- cement & sand & water mixture then use it s e mortar base, abt 35-40mm thick from e rough surface of e floor slab.

- e 1st pcs of homo tile shd start 2 lay frm e ctr of main entrance dr, at e prefered veins orientation if any.

- u will see 2 cut tiles on e left & rite side of main dr. Frm there, then continue 2 lay e tiles inwards.

- place tile on e mortar base. Do pencil marking, cut tile if need 2, esp door frame area or edge of wall.

- remove dat particular tile by 'suction kit'.

- apply adhesive cement & water mixture under e tile.

- e tile bottom key & e adhesive cement apply sparingly, wil form a strong bond between e tile & e mortar base.

- place back e tile 2 e same position & orientation of veins/pattern.

- place plastic strips (abt 1mm thk, cut frm e tile packaging) between e tile joints.

- use e back of hammer 2 knock e tile.

- use e 'plumb ruler' 2 take e reading of e level. e 'bubble' in e ruler will show whether e tile is 100% horizontal or slanting 2 a side.

- continue e process of laying tile.

- if e above steps r being done frm e laying of e 1st pcs of tile 2 e las pcs of tile, do u think wil there b any uneven level between tiles & un-uniform joint width?

- after all e tiles r laid, remove e plastic strips, apply white cement 2 level up e gap between e joints.

- then measure & cut all e skirting tile, lay e skirting.

- grid e sharp edges at corner of wall.

- for skirting sharp edges, gota grind b4 lay, either on-site or in-factory. Additional cost needed.

- most of e time, e homogeneous tiles u had bought r in gd quality. It had passed their 'QC' over at their hmland.

- only occasional, e tiles r of inferior quality, then e ID/contractor can choose 2 reject & exchange for another batch frm e tile supplier.

- if sway sway, 1 kana poor quality tiles & slack tiler & u got dat 'cut leg' feeling, then u shd noe wat u shd do. (read e above steps, u wil understand)

- somebody mentioned dat ur ID say no such thing s e 'plumb ruler' 2 measure e level?

u can tell him straight 2 his face dat his tilers r not skilled workers with proper tile laying techniques & he is not competent enough 2 noe there is such a 'plumb ruler' thingy.

- by rite, in one of e courses of SG Construction Industry, there's a proper tile laying techniques module. This 'plumb ruler' thingy is olso part of a important thingy or rather a basic item for a tiler. Jus like a waiter without a pen 2 take customer's order! :notti:

Wow, think i write 2 long liao. Hope din confuse any neighbours here. :dribble:

e above is based on wat i'v seen & heard. Pls update mi if any1 got any better methods of laying tile 2 a good workmanship. :notti:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Abt e soft closing hinges for kit cabinet,

Thank u meowie49 & porkypig for replying.

Yes, i noe how it 2 go abt it, jus dat i'm kinda bz lately & lazy 2 work out on my own, so had asked wats e average or norm cost spent among fellow neighbours here. :P

- 1 jus needs 2 noe wats e design of de cabinets, dat means how many drawers, top-hung, ctr pivot etc compartment.

- fm there, buy e required hinges directly frm e supplier. Ask ur carpenter 2 fix 4 u.

- can olso ask e carpenter 2 liase with e supplier, but e carpenter may earn a fair bit frm there. :deal:

:~

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Abt e Designers Switches,

izit? aiyo, then i dun wan change liao, use back e 1 given by hdb better. :notti:

Hi Tension,

Can I take a look at ur floor tiles oso? My unit is undergoing the final stages of reno, wanna see to wat extend ur tiles are hollow...b4 handover by contractor. I will be in from Thurs afternoon onwards to wait4 electrician & some installation jobs.

Can PM me ur unit/contact? Feel free to drop by my hse too if u hv time later

21042008ga3.jpg

babymaro2003 !!

Actually hor, dis 1 can b included in e wardrobe design if e ID had planned & worked out e internal compartment 4 u de leh.

Some men even opt 2 hav 'toufu' boxes w or w/o glass top, can put expensive watches or rings.

21042008ga3.jpg

babymaro2003 !!

Hi Babymaro,

Can let me know where u bought tis jewellery thingy? Wanna check if they got a crossover bet wat u & meowie got cos besides watches etc, I got earrings ... Tks.