junwei84

Joining The Expanding Simei Neighbourhood

Marshmallow never do tiling works lor.. Who else uses 60x30 tiles???

QUOTE (Banned @ Oct 5 2010, 06:55 PM)

hmm.. But my reno is starting tml.. not much time left.. And SBH dun have the tiles i wan in Hafary..

Btw neo. did your id say that laying 60x30 tiles more ex den 30x30? any way to confirm this? jus find it very weird..

marshmellow:

hey bro, when is the tiles stock coming in? if it's just few days, maybe just wait for the tiles to come ba....

during my reno, one of the tiles also no stock but we were lucky becos the original 300 x 450 one got no stock so we got free upgrade to 300 x 600... keke

btw, the price difference between big and smaller tiles is well documentated in renotalk... dun worry ya it's due to more time/effort/attention/skill is required for bigger tiles and bigger tiles are also heavier to carry/handle, hence the higher price in workmanship

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh i saw tt comment on ur blog for marsh so tot they did tilin oso.. haha.. paisei if i gave e wrong info if they din do tiling.. but i see their blog got toilet tilin ma! hahahaha =) but anyway it ink lots depends on tiler la.. go niam ur ID to make sure tiler do good job should b fine ? haha

Edited by junwei84

wow.. 60x30 tiles really that uneven meh? u guy are making me scared..

white tiles probably have a higher chance of being uneven, on the walls or on the floor.

plus it's more noticeable.

Happened to us too.

Our kitchen wall tiles are 60x30, living/dining floor tiles 60x60

So, either u can a very good tiler who knows what to do with the uneven tiles (e.g, has good workmanship, place them at the sides or corners, exchange them for better ones...)

or don't choose white tiles at all :P

Edited by booksntoys

yep, hope quality n worksmanship come out is ok, and i have no problems w e rectifications work.. den everyth will b sui sui and everybd can huat!

hmm, i dunno whether its i sway kena bad tilers or wad, maybe marshmellow can comment too? since we both hav Henry as e contractor, easier to compare. Mine e wall tiling was quite bad which even Henry agreed but he tells me its cos of tiler worksmanship no good la.. mayb marshmellow can comment if their wall tiles are v bad or v good? den can hav a clearer pic. =)

I did 60x30 . But also on the wall nia . Floor is 60x60 .

mayb you can see if urs got uneven-ess n if e tiles are v close to ea other.. if close and uneveness nt much, den should b good n juz banned juz need to make sure his tiler make sui sui can liao.

cos e 2nd tiler who came in explained tt if he do, he wouldnt put e tiles so close tgt, if nt sure will hav uneveness prob.. if would put dem wider apart.. den can make dem even.. so mayb banned can check w his tiler see how they do it.. =)

hmm.. But my reno is starting tml.. not much time left.. And SBH dun have the tiles i wan in Hafary..

Btw neo. did your id say that laying 60x30 tiles more ex den 30x30? any way to confirm this? jus find it very weird..

marshmellow:

hey bro, when is the tiles stock coming in? if it's just few days, maybe just wait for the tiles to come ba....

during my reno, one of the tiles also no stock but we were lucky becos the original 300 x 450 one got no stock so we got free upgrade to 300 x 600... keke

btw, the price difference between big and smaller tiles is well documentated in renotalk... dun worry ya it's due to more time/effort/attention/skill is required for bigger tiles and bigger tiles are also heavier to carry/handle, hence the higher price in workmanship

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

oh i saw tt comment on ur blog for marsh so tot they did tilin oso.. haha.. paisei if i gave e wrong info if they din do tiling.. but i see their blog got toilet tilin ma! hahahaha =) but anyway it ink lots depends on tiler la.. go niam ur ID to make sure tiler do good job should b fine ? haha

opps.. I ddnt realise it was another marshmEllow and not marshmAllow.. Hahaha..

white tiles probably have a higher chance of being uneven, on the walls or on the floor.

plus it's more noticeable.

Happened to us too.

Our kitchen wall tiles are 60x30, living/dining floor tiles 60x60

So, either u can a very good tiler who knows what to do with the uneven tiles (e.g, has good workmanship, place them at the sides or corners, exchange them for better ones...)

or don't choose white tiles at all :P

mayb you can see if urs got uneven-ess n if e tiles are v close to ea other.. if close and uneveness nt much, den should b good n juz banned juz need to make sure his tiler make sui sui can liao.

cos e 2nd tiler who came in explained tt if he do, he wouldnt put e tiles so close tgt, if nt sure will hav uneveness prob.. if would put dem wider apart.. den can make dem even.. so mayb banned can check w his tiler see how they do it.. =)

oh ok.. i will take note of that.. hmm.. maybe have to go there when they doing tiling liao.. Lucky mine is black tiles.. :)

yo yo saw my name being mentioned... LOL paiseh today no time to come in till now.

yupz i have 60 x 30 tiles for kitchen walls and both toilet walls. Actually i am very satisfied with the tiling work... So complaints so far and the tiler head is a nice chap~ i think the gaps between the tiles are quite small - at least it's small compared to previous home's ceramic tiles - but i haven't seen yours so can't comment if the gaps are wider or narrower........ btw, how bad is the uneveness?

junwei do you happen to know the names of the 1st and 2nd tiler?

btw from what i know, for plumbing, there are 2 different group of pple (from different company), one is the usual plumbing work, the other is the "clear blocked pipe specialist". So you must have met the second one....

and hope i m not too late! i complained to Henry many times about my "usual" plumber... his installation of accessories was disastrous... Henry also v sian after he saw. ended up he got the tiler redo everything for me! but i know Henry has a few sub-cons for plumbing so i hope you get another guy~ but in any case i get you mentally prepared first :)

opps.. I ddnt realise it was another marshmEllow and not marshmAllow.. Hahaha..

banned > no no... i am MarshmAllow... and i am the one that left that post in your t-blog...

there is another MarshmEllow in the forum that tried to sell designer clock a few months back... Bro Simon should remember :P

yo yo saw my name being mentioned... LOL paiseh today no time to come in till now.

yupz i have 60 x 30 tiles for kitchen walls and both toilet walls. Actually i am very satisfied with the tiling work... So complaints so far and the tiler head is a nice chap~ i think the gaps between the tiles are quite small - at least it's small compared to previous home's ceramic tiles - but i haven't seen yours so can't comment if the gaps are wider or narrower........ btw, how bad is the uneveness?

btw from what i know, for plumbing, there are 2 different group of pple (from different company), one is the usual plumbing work, the other is the "clear blocked pipe specialist". So you must have met the second one....

and hope i m not too late! i complained to Henry many times about my "usual" plumber... his installation of accessories was disastrous... Henry also v sian after he saw. ended up he got the tiler redo everything for me! but i know Henry has a few sub-cons for plumbing so i hope you get another guy~ but in any case i get you mentally prepared first :)

Hi Marshmallow,

Our living room tiles are very ok. There are just a few uneven tiles which we can totally accept. The big prob is the mbr toilet, esp the wall tiles. Many tiles were uneven, and the feature black tiles were badly done too. The floor tiles are slightly better, despite I felt that they could be better laid. No rectification can be done for the floor tiles cos henry say will affect the waterproofing. We are also not satisfied with the jagged edges of the mbr toilet wall tiles.

Our kitchen floor tiles also got jagged edges. At the very start, we tot it was poor grouting, then on closer inspection much later, realised it's jagged edges instead.

We asked henry many times at different times whether is it due to the tiles being low quality but he say no. he say its the worksmanship. But I dunno the names of the tilers lei. must ask junwei liao.. He can click better with the subcons, haha

For the installation of accessories, I think it should be the same guy as yesterday the one who came to clear the blockage cos we explained very clearly to him the positions and he listened attentively and also made his own markings on the positions. Hope the installation of my accessories will go well.

Today carpentry should be fully up le.. no more cokups pls....

Edited by solitaire

Hi Marshmallow,

Our living room tiles are very ok. There are just a few uneven tiles which we can totally accept. The big prob is the mbr toilet, esp the wall tiles. Many tiles were uneven, and the feature black tiles were badly done too. The floor tiles are slightly better, despite I felt that they could be better laid. No rectification can be done for the floor tiles cos henry say will affect the waterproofing. We are also not satisfied with the jagged edges of the mbr toilet wall tiles.

Our kitchen floor tiles also got jagged edges. At the very start, we tot it was poor grouting, then on closer inspection much later, realised it's jagged edges instead.

We asked henry many times at different times whether is it due to the tiles being low quality but he say no. he say its the worksmanship. But I dunno the names of the tilers lei. must ask junwei liao.. He can click better with the subcons, haha

For the installation of accessories, I think it should be the same guy as yesterday the one who came to clear the blockage cos we explained very clearly to him the positions and he listened attentively and also made his own markings on the positions. Hope the installation of my accessories will go well.

Today carpentry should be fully up le.. no more cokups pls....

oh i see... then i think that was just standard blockage clearing. cos my toilet was very badly clogged, so they need to send another "specialist" to come.

sorry to hear about what happened to your tiles... hope the 2nd tiler can at least make it better. all the best for the rest of the reno! and i really hope you will get a better plumber than mine~ :)

oh i see... then i think that was just standard blockage clearing. cos my toilet was very badly clogged, so they need to send another "specialist" to come.

sorry to hear about what happened to your tiles... hope the 2nd tiler can at least make it better. all the best for the rest of the reno! and i really hope you will get a better plumber than mine~ :)

2nd tiler already came and gone le. He already changed whatever he can le. I believe the rest are not rectified due to practical reasons etc. We will re-check the whole house again this wkend again. Haiz, what to do, first-time house owners, so will be particular over the biggest investment of our lives ;)

Who else uses 60x30 tiles???

am using 3 x 6 wall tiles on wall in both my common and mbr walls

common bath even went vertically instead of the normal horizontal laying

as far as the visuals allow, did not spot any over-the-board unevenness tat are so bat requires rectifications.

perhaps, the consolation is that at some areas you would have sink, mirrors, cabinets etc to cover up?

think replied in banned's tblog. laying more ex because is 3x6? no lei.. my id never mentioned anything

Haiz, what to do, first-time house owners, so will be particular over the biggest investment of our lives ;)

i can understand what you mean man..

i sensed my id getting irked sometimes but i always tell him, "i know is a painful process to do my place but pse understand is a 45k investment down"

but i think he feels better each time after taking a look at the island.

HMM i also dunno e subcons names.. i know electrician ah liang only. i like him. love him la. i tink he's **** good.. haha.. n **** professional!

2nd tiler already came and gone le. He already changed whatever he can le. I believe the rest are not rectified due to practical reasons etc. We will re-check the whole house again this wkend again. Haiz, what to do, first-time house owners, so will be particular over the biggest investment of our lives ;)

yaa.. i tink as it went on, we got more n more particular.. hope we're nt overboard in our particular-ness.. haha.. but then yea.. its a big investment~!

am using 3 x 6 wall tiles on wall in both my common and mbr walls

common bath even went vertically instead of the normal horizontal laying

as far as the visuals allow, did not spot any over-the-board unevenness tat are so bat requires rectifications.

perhaps, the consolation is that at some areas you would have sink, mirrors, cabinets etc to cover up?

think replied in banned's tblog. laying more ex because is 3x6? no lei.. my id never mentioned anything

i can understand what you mean man..

i sensed my id getting irked sometimes but i always tell him, "i know is a painful process to do my place but pse understand is a 45k investment down"

but i think he feels better each time after taking a look at the island.

eek! i also wan an island!! but we didnt have space at all in e kitchen to do it, even knock down walls also gt a beam blockin e way.. so no island.. sadd la.. but solitaire dun like island anyway so oh welllllllllllllllllllllllll..

hmm tink some IDs charge more some dont for e 3x6 tiles.. ID dependent i guess

My tile also no problem . In fact a lot of guys who visited my place comment that the tile is nicely done up . My tiler is the "little black" I think most henner got no complaint with him .

My problem is the uncle painter

banned > no no... i am MarshmAllow... and i am the one that left that post in your t-blog...

there is another MarshmEllow in the forum that tried to sell designer clock a few months back... Bro Simon should remember :P

Ya lor . That time i tot Y suddenly u sell clock ... lol

It's like that de . Normal for 1st timer like us . I rem b4 hang over I use coin to knock on all the floor tile to check for hollowness ... and my wife was like "hey what are u doing on the floor ????"

My tile also no problem . In fact a lot of guys who visited my place comment that the tile is nicely done up . My tiler is the "little black" I think most henner got no complaint with him .

My problem is the uncle painter

hmm.. my tilers were 2 china fella.. looks like i gt e bad one.. damnit....

Ya lor . That time i tot Y suddenly u sell clock ... lol

It's like that de . Normal for 1st timer like us . I rem b4 hang over I use coin to knock on all the floor tile to check for hollowness ... and my wife was like "hey what are u doing on the floor ????"