spikedoll

Em For A Lazy Couple And A Dog

Do you mind pm me your electrician uncle contact as I will be starting my Reno on 1 Apr and is looking for one to compare against my ID quote to prevent being chop by him.

If I can save more than 500, I will use contractor alr.

Hi rick88

Pm-Ed you! :)

No wow effect one lah lol..

22nd day of Reno

Must say that the progress is really fast.. Even the electrician we engaged on our own commented the same. The electrican uncle comes up several times and never rush us for switches and lights to install. In fact he told us no problem even if our lights arrive late.. He will still come again to fix up whatever we still haven't buy. He has few workers working for him and must say they are very professional. Best of all the uncle charge us at a really good rate for rewiring for EM. And using good PSB approved cables. Be careful some electricians using low quality products that can cause problems in later stage.

ID ( the boss) is very good at coordination works and his assistant also follow up closely and update us. Carpenters came down to do final measurements for kitchen cabinets and laundry yard yesterday and will do our project first, knowing we need to move in on 2/4. ID's assistant told us today our MBR wardrobe has been completed , next is our kitchen cabinet!

Hubby went up just now and saw 8 workers still working very hard, doing patching works etc.. Plumber also came today to do the piping.. Storage heater up.. WC up .. False ceilings also painted! Tomorrow they will start painting the rooms..

FE689E31-0DF4-47FF-9B91-C72E273B6BD0-14133-00000A07C39E0D26_zpscbb1ea8c.jpg

2D2FE77A-C322-485A-B18E-76F727984C9B-14133-00000A07C3D9207B_zpsb08ea148.jpg

And my stainless steel rack has arrived !!! We will have false ceiling in the kitchen as well.

4A5987AE-4A98-4CCD-A16D-0BE6B8ED6175-14133-00000A07C417F0A5_zps9ea0cb21.jpg

8DCAEC7F-EAAD-43FE-A7F9-40733639B6AD-14133-00000A07C440D877_zps6e805c10.jpg

19CBD1E5-FD6A-408C-AC97-E4E1B5BC838C-14133-00000A07C3500CC9_zps01d1ea6e.jpg

wow! Looking good! :dribble:

Thank you HappyAng :) hope it turns out nice like yours

So have you bought all the stuff Liao? Electrical appliances and furnitures

Thank you HappyAng :) hope it turns out nice like yours

So have you bought all the stuff Liao? Electrical appliances and furnitures

My side not much development since last week leh. Was told by ID, carpentry is schedule to site measurement on Thur nia leh... :jawdrop: Now worried that ID able to handover to us on time boh... :dunno:

Yes, we bought most electrical appliances and furniture le..

Hi Spikedoll,

Can I have the contact for your contractor, really liking what he is doing for your place :good: . Also, thanks for sharing your progress here :)

p/s: tried PM-ing you but your inbox is full.

No wow effect one lah lol..

22nd day of Reno

Must say that the progress is really fast.. Even the electrician we engaged on our own commented the same. The electrican uncle comes up several times and never rush us for switches and lights to install. In fact he told us no problem even if our lights arrive late.. He will still come again to fix up whatever we still haven't buy. He has few workers working for him and must say they are very professional. Best of all the uncle charge us at a really good rate for rewiring for EM. And using good PSB approved cables. Be careful some electricians using low quality products that can cause problems in later stage.

ID ( the boss) is very good at coordination works and his assistant also follow up closely and update us. Carpenters came down to do final measurements for kitchen cabinets and laundry yard yesterday and will do our project first, knowing we need to move in on 2/4. ID's assistant told us today our MBR wardrobe has been completed , next is our kitchen cabinet!

Hubby went up just now and saw 8 workers still working very hard, doing patching works etc.. Plumber also came today to do the piping.. Storage heater up.. WC up .. False ceilings also painted! Tomorrow they will start painting the rooms..

FE689E31-0DF4-47FF-9B91-C72E273B6BD0-14133-00000A07C39E0D26_zpscbb1ea8c.jpg

2D2FE77A-C322-485A-B18E-76F727984C9B-14133-00000A07C3D9207B_zpsb08ea148.jpg

And my stainless steel rack has arrived !!! We will have false ceiling in the kitchen as well.

4A5987AE-4A98-4CCD-A16D-0BE6B8ED6175-14133-00000A07C417F0A5_zps9ea0cb21.jpg

8DCAEC7F-EAAD-43FE-A7F9-40733639B6AD-14133-00000A07C440D877_zps6e805c10.jpg

19CBD1E5-FD6A-408C-AC97-E4E1B5BC838C-14133-00000A07C3500CC9_zps01d1ea6e.jpg

Very hard to find good and responsive IDs and contractors... Out of every 10 feedbacks I hear perhaps only 1 would recommend theirs... My friend is still rambling about his wrong choice of ID after so many years so we won't even talk about renovation in front of him... As usual promised heaven, earth and the world for him and end up everything late... Workmanship sucks and still have the cheek to ask charge extra for the agreed jobs... Handed over the flat a month late and my friend had to "rent" a house to stay...

Hi Spikedoll,

Can I have the contact for your contractor, really liking what he is doing for your place :good: . Also, thanks for sharing your progress here :)

p/s: tried PM-ing you but your inbox is full.

Pm-Ed u! :)

I guess we are lucky to meet our renovator who's knowledgeable and good. Initially we also met up with contractors and ID but found out that contractors' quotes are even higher than our appointed ID.. One of them is the famous contractor in RT, his quote is 30% higher zzz

So contractor may not be that cheap after all.. Some are too cheap to be true.

I think both renovator and house owner have to work hand in hand and cooperative as well so the process will be a pleasant one. Maybe I'm not very demanding type haha so the journey is less stressful.

Ok some updates today.. Painting in progress.. Box up done at staircase area.

A31DACE4-D24C-4DB1-9067-E64A78EE9499-15349-00000B10B18924A6_zpsc9e8b0c2.jpg

F40EF00C-8E97-4224-B100-E940F3C22408-15349-00000B10B13FF1A6_zps724c96f5.jpg

AA4D7D32-A939-4347-B785-FF724A73E7D5-15349-00000B10B248B195_zpse873b77c.jpg

Thank you Kang dang bro! :)

So how your EM so far? Any new changes/additions?

Haha... hope to save enough $$ for another reno in 5yrs time ;)

For me, it doesn't really bother me. The one that I would want to remove is actually the structural one....very eyesore but what to do since this is a HDB flat!

I leave it to the husband if he wants to get rid of the lower bar, the contractor will ask his man to do it.

Hi kooky, don't think we gonna remove that.. Just leave it as it is :)

Are you going to remove that?

For me, it doesn't really bother me. The one that I would want to remove is actually the structural one....very eyesore but what to do since this is a HDB flat!

I leave it to the husband if he wants to get rid of the lower bar, the contractor will ask his man to do it.

I like to ask if the midddle bar is a structural thing, why some EMs dont have. For me, I only had the lower bar removed.

Edited by potatoes