jessi

Our Home In The West

an update!

today we went to select the floor tiles with ID at balestier. got a headache to decide which floor tiles to select. end up we selected the tiles below. all these are the sample floor tiles given to us.

FlooringTiles.jpg

we also went to poh joo in jalan besar to check out. guess we will be getting the hood, hob, sinks, toiletbowl and other toilet stuffs from there. maybe next week we will be going down again to get all the stuffs.

finally after a delay, our reno will be starting on monday! they will start the hacking on monday, wiring on the next two days and follow by ceiling works and flooring. :sport-smiley-018:

Hi Jessi... I was at PJ with ID today as well.. was at the one near lavender at about noon time..spend some time there and $$$ as well.. got almost all my stuff there.. congrats on the start of your reno.. it will be fun as well as tiring.. cheers.

My personal experience and preferance is to get aircon with aircon specialist co(Ga*n C*ty, AllB*st); get washing machin/fridge at neighbourhood stores(those commonly mentioned in the forum) and tv from big electrical shops(B*st D*nk*, H*rv*y N*rm*n, C**rts) etc etc.

I just gotten my aircon from AllB*st after some searching ard. The salesman i've approached is very knowledgeable, frank and patient. He is the kind who dont mind customer go rounds to ask for other quotation, and always patient to answer ur doubts.

an update!

today we went to select the floor tiles with ID at balestier. got a headache to decide which floor tiles to select. end up we selected the tiles below. all these are the sample floor tiles given to us.

FlooringTiles.jpg

we also went to poh joo in jalan besar to check out. guess we will be getting the hood, hob, sinks, toiletbowl and other toilet stuffs from there. maybe next week we will be going down again to get all the stuffs.

finally after a delay, our reno will be starting on monday! they will start the hacking on monday, wiring on the next two days and follow by ceiling works and flooring. :sport-smiley-018:

jessi, ur tiles look small in the pics. are they ceramic or homogenous? is the size 800x800 big ones kind?

My personal experience and preferance is to get aircon with aircon specialist co(Ga*n C*ty, AllB*st); get washing machin/fridge at neighbourhood stores(those commonly mentioned in the forum) and tv from big electrical shops(B*st D*nk*, H*rv*y N*rm*n, C**rts) etc etc.

I just gotten my aircon from AllB*st after some searching ard. The salesman i've approached is very knowledgeable, frank and patient. He is the kind who dont mind customer go rounds to ask for other quotation, and always patient to answer ur doubts.

jessi, ur tiles look small in the pics. are they ceramic or homogenous? is the size 800x800 big ones kind?

my aircon also from Allbest... no probs so far ... hehe

hi koi koi are u gg to hack away one of ur rooms? if not i think the MBR very little space for WIW... u have better reconsider.. if u are really gg to do it w/o knocking away one of the room then the space left for bed, dressing table will be very small already, very cramp...

in my opinion, better dun.. just convert one of the rooms to a WIW... better haha

from the floorplan, our MBR looks like big enff for the WiW.. but on site.. the room is soo small. In the end, we r boxing up the area after the toilet door to create a small area for the wardrobe. At least, I can walk from the toilet to the wardrobe to get my clothes within the area. My WiW is only 2m x 1.5m.. den the room will only have the bed.. and I cannot place anything else there.

ehhh....i think hor, homogenous means the "same" , meaning, there is no such thing as homogenous ceramic and ceramic :notti:

:dunno:

Hi Jessi... I was at PJ with ID today as well.. was at the one near lavender at about noon time..spend some time there and $$$ as well.. got almost all my stuff there.. congrats on the start of your reno.. it will be fun as well as tiring.. cheers.

hey... i was also also at the PJ nearer to the lavender side around 12pm+ too. hehehe..

mine is homogenous tiles. ceramic are cheaper lah.. so i won't choose ceramic ones.. hehe.. oh these are just sample size tiles for us to bring home for reference. my living room is using 600x600, kitchen and balconies using 600x300 and toilets using 300x300 tiles.

from the floorplan, our MBR looks like big enff for the WiW.. but on site.. the room is soo small. In the end, we r boxing up the area after the toilet door to create a small area for the wardrobe. At least, I can walk from the toilet to the wardrobe to get my clothes within the area. My WiW is only 2m x 1.5m.. den the room will only have the bed.. and I cannot place anything else there.

initially we also wanted to just have a smaller wardrobe and the bed in the MBR but find that it's too cramp, so we decided to knock down the other room and i can have a bigger WIW. hehe..

ehhh....i think hor, homogenous means the "same" , meaning, there is no such thing as homogenous ceramic and ceramic :dunno:

hmm.. there's a difference between homogenous and ceramic tiles. ceramic tiles if chipped, you will see the inside of the tiles is white in colour but homogenous tiles if chipped, the inside is still the same colour as the top layer.

initially we also wanted to just have a smaller wardrobe and the bed in the MBR but find that it's too cramp, so we decided to knock down the other room and i can have a bigger WIW. hehe..

hmm.. there's a difference between homogenous and ceramic tiles. ceramic tiles if chipped, you will see the inside of the tiles is white in colour but homogenous tiles if chipped, the inside is still the same colour as the top layer.

icic but to me homegenous means "the same" so the homo part means the entire tile is of the same color?

so it's still valid that homogenous is still ceramic?

icic but to me homegenous means "the same" so the homo part means the entire tile is of the same color?

so it's still valid that homogenous is still ceramic?

ya i would guess the homo part means the entire tile is same colour :D

we started our reno on monday. the hacking was done and the whole place seemed so much brighter.

AfterHacking01.jpg

off goes the study room wall

AfterHacking02.jpg

so is the wall between MBR and BR2

the workers hacked away all my bedroom door frames by mistake but ID said he gonna do new ones for us.

met up with ID at the house yesterday with my dad who will helping me with the wiring. wiring should be completing by today or tomorrow. false ceiling will be up by friday together with the plasterboard wall for my WIW. they will be hacking the MBR vanity basin, common toilet basin and both toiletbowls either today or tomorrow. :D

Edited by jessi

Hi jessi... hacking completed so fast... so you got free door frame?

wow jessi. you hacked so many walls? so left only 2 rooms now? you house must look really spacious and big after hacking. :(

Hi jessi... hacking completed so fast... so you got free door frame?

hehe.. ya supposed to only hack away one door frame, so now got two new free door frame.

wow jessi. you hacked so many walls? so left only 2 rooms now? you house must look really spacious and big after hacking. :wacko:

ya left 2 bedrooms, the studyroom wall is going to be replace by glass. :D

hehe.. ya supposed to only hack away one door frame, so now got two new free door frame.

ya left 2 bedrooms, the studyroom wall is going to be replace by glass. :D

hey jessi, very nice huh...

glass for study room???

how much your ID quote you?

wanted to do that... cos adjusting the size of the studyroom...

but they say to carry glass from level 1 to 6 will cost alot... :wacko:

hey jessi, very nice huh...

glass for study room???

how much your ID quote you?

wanted to do that... cos adjusting the size of the studyroom...

but they say to carry glass from level 1 to 6 will cost alot... :bangwall:

hi koikoi, i was quoted almost 1K for half the wall size. ya lor.. the piece of glass cannot be too big also else also cannot carry up.