korea

Which Car Are You Driving Now?

hey check with you guys. put installment aside. how much shld i come out $ for car expenses for one year

example :-

Road Tax for 1.5,1.6,1.8, 2.0 or 2.2

CBD estimate

ERP estimate

Parking Fee

Season parking

Repair & maintenance

Petrol

and what else ah?

Edited by LadyLuck

Road Tax for 1.5,1.6,1.8, 2.0 or 2.2

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...calculator.html

CBD estimate

ERP estimate

Parking fee

really depends on where you work and how often you go into Erp areas/shopping...etc

every mth i top up my cashcard to $50+ dollars and usually it lasts me till the next top up.

Season parking

from $65-$95 per mth

Repair & maintenance

jap cars are the safest, low cost repairs.

conti cars known for their expensive spare parts.

korean cars prepare to visit workshops frequently after 3 yrs.

oil change + misc every 10,000km prepare around $100

once you reach 30,000km, more stuffs to change like brake pads, ATF, eng mountings...all the wear and tear stuffs costs a few hundreds.

then $100 again for 30-50k, another few hundred bucks at 60,000km as same as 30,000km

Petrol

average around $400 a mth but still ... depends on how you use your car.

i am paying around $300 for approx 2400km per mth.

Insurance

at least $2k for a first timer on a average car. if buy Da view Ah Axe or Eebor prepare $5k.

Edited by MaCe

and hor, every two years must change tyres

also, wash car yourself or go to petrol station

or once a year wax swee swee by 'experts' all translates to $$$

there are a lot of misc stuff that's difficult to budget for

e.g. window film, visor, wipers etc

not forgetting accidentals like changing bumpers :)

Hi ladyluck, and motor insurance!:) Very expensive!!

oops, u are right , insurance

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...calculator.html

really depends on where you work and how often you go into Erp areas/shopping...etc

every mth i top up my cashcard to $50+ dollars and usually it lasts me till the next top up.

from $65-$95 per mth

jap cars are the safest, low cost repairs.

conti cars known for their expensive spare parts.

korean cars prepare to visit workshops frequently after 3 yrs.

oil change + misc every 10,000km prepare around $100

once you reach 30,000km, more stuffs to change like brake pads, ATF, eng mountings...all the wear and tear stuffs costs a few hundreds.

then $100 again for 30-50k, another few hundred bucks at 60,000km as same as 30,000km

average around $400 a mth but still ... depends on how you use your car.

i am paying around $300 for approx 2400km per mth.

at least $2k for a first timer on a average car. if buy Da view Ah Axe or Eebor prepare $5k.

lao pi huei

:lol:

oops, u are right , insurance

lao pi huei

ok lah...compare to taking taxi lagi jialat.

making it simple - car fully paid, roadtax and insurance fully paid.

you need to set aside roughly $400-$600 for the car.

ok lah...compare to taking taxi lagi jialat.

making it simple - car fully paid, roadtax and insurance fully paid.

you need to set aside roughly $400-$600 for the car.

oic..

road tax & insurance is yearly renewal rite?

oic..

road tax & insurance is yearly renewal rite?

yupz, insurance is yearly 1st timer at least 2k but down the road as long as there is no accident(you fault), it gets cheaper each year.

roadtax is fixed, can pay either 6 mths or 12 mths.

hi ladyluck,

your question is generally vy general.

car cost:

1) depend on type, brand, make, model.

juz like MaCe says, the difference between the country of origin/make

eg. abc brand car model 1 make in jap vs abc brand (same brand) car model 2 make in thailand got price difference... sawadeekap made is cheaper

2) 2nd hand car generally can bargain for better price. look out for car that are used for 1-2 years type. condition still quite gd and still under warranty.

3) type: eg. saloon car, hatchback car, AWD, 2WD, suv, mpv etc. of coz the bigger the car cap, the more ex.

petrol: (petrol cost also depend on optimization of driving the car, constant speed = constant petrol consumed = lower petrol cost, there are gadget in the mkt to monitor this. but for honda car, there is a build in monitor that will let you know the optimization)

1) so far, cheapest type are small cars, eg. honda jazz (top of super mini petrol saving car).

2) dependent on car type also. eg. cannot compare a 1litre car to a 1.3litre or 1.6litre car. generally, those that got greater cap or power car, higher petrol consumption... if not how to have power leh???

3) dependent on usage. eg. some ppl like to vroom vroom alot or with heavy feet, sure car drink petrol like waterfall fast fast... high cost. eg. also on travel pattern. if most traveling are on highway, lesser petrol cost. if travel alot on normal city area where there are alot of stopping at trafic lites or jams, petrol cost is high.

4) eg. a AWD consume more petrol.

5) to calculate if car consume petrol efficiently, always note down the km travel, petrol vol top up, $ use for petrol. and you will know eg. per litre travel xxkm (eg. generally, bigger cars are 8-9km/litre, most car fall in the range of 10-12km/litre, more efficient type may yield 15-18km/litre.

6) manual vs auto transmission car. manual car optimises the petrol better so can yield higher km. eg. same car type but 1 is auto, 1 is manual - auto yield 12km/lire, manual may yield 16km/litre.

7) generally, for normal usage, be prepared for $600+ for petrol per month(since petrol $ keep going up and never come down nowadays... :jawdrop: )

season parking:

1) dependent on where you park. eg. hdb generally cheaper, $65 to $95. can check hdb website for their rates. $65 for open carpark. $95 for covered carpark, eg. multi-storey carpk (MSCP).

2) parking at city area more ex. eg. if your work requires you to drive and your work place is at shenton way area... die lor... season parking vy ex and also not necessary have, vy luck ku one leh. some kiasu ppl buy whole year season parking leh.

3) condo parking. so call free but already cost build in... :notti: condo developer not so stupid.

erp/cbd/shopping centre parking/hourly parking etc.

1) these are costs as well.

2) with so much erp on rd, don't be surprise that next time take mrt also must pay erp... 8|8|

3) generally, allocate abt $100 per month if you go thru alot of erps and also park at expensive hrly parking areas.

4) also don't forget must buy coupons leh... vy heart pain to tear coupons everytime coz i see myself tearing my hard earned $$$ :help::help::help:

road tax

1) can refer to onemotoring website for infor.

2) generally, higher cap car = higher road tax coz you are consider A SAI (well to-do) ppl whose wallet is rich enough to compensate for the pollution made... :horse:

3) smaller car = lower road tax

car insurance

1) expensive thing...

2) dependent on car cap. bigger, more ex, luxury car = higher insurance = reason: car price more ex, car parts and car repair more ex if got into insurance. whatever it is, its EEEEXXXXPPPEEENNNSSSIIIVVVEEE.....

3) get quote from different insurance coy and see how much premium to pay.

4) of coz if no accident for 1st year, 2nd year insurance got a 10% discount, subsequently 2nd year no accident, 3rd year got 20% discount and the cap is at 50% discount.

5) so if you don't drive, 100% discount :notti:

other costs

1) repairs - depending on what is serviced and brand of car. repair of ben signal lite vs jap car's signal lite = $xxxx.00 vs $xxx.00

2) servicing - eg. bwm go to workshop 1 time = +/-$1000!:deal::dribble:

normal avg jap car = +/-$250

small car = +/-$150

3) maintnenace

- car wash range from $2.50 (not so clean, chin chye wash type) to $6 for small car to saloon car. bigger size car range from $8 onwards. taxi the cheapest... $2

- wash + wax exterior only

small to saloon car = $50 to $80

big size car = $70 onwards

luxury car = more ex

- wash + wax + clay

small to saloon car = $70 to $100

big size car = $100 onwards

luxury car = more ex

- all the above + interior grooming

small to saloon car = add $20 to $30

big size car = $50 onwards

luxury car = more ex

generally, the amount of $$ you need to set aside for your 2nd wife:

- small car = $1200

- saloon car = $1600

- bigger car = $2000

of course, there's another option, get a OPC small car. the amount to set aside per month:

- small car = $700

the above are mostly base on my experience as i hv tried many different cars thru the years.

:deal: who dare to buy car after reading your super long post? 8|

Too short .. Tio Shoot Cheong Post Count

Too long .. Tio Shoot for too lor sor.

Like that how? 8|

:(:rofl::rofl:

me lor soh ah mah leh :good:

ya, MaCe is rite, if taxi/bus fare more than $600-$1k a mth > go buy a car but hor, to own a car, estimate monthly cost (with all in), its wat i stated:

- small car = $1200

- saloon car = $1600

- bigger car = $2000

of course, there's another option, get a OPC small car. the amount to set aside per month:

- small car = $700

and also i forgot, if you are those that spend alot of time travelling or rather, you click alot of mileage on roads, it will be better to get a hydrid car. save alot of petrol cost considering petrol price keep increasing.

currently, there are not much hybrid car on the road, so far only honda hybrid and toyota prius that are within our reach. lexus and others are too ex.

honda hybrid are more well establish as theirs is don't know reach how many generations of R&D already for hybrid and so its more reliable.

and also hybrid helps to protect our environment. :(

8| who dare to buy car after reading your super long post? :lol:

most rich ppl lor.. :deal:

Too short .. Tio Shoot Cheong Post Count

Too long .. Tio Shoot for too lor sor.

Like that how? :P

nebermind la.. shooting ppl is fun, today i kana shoot, tomorow i shoot ppl, like arcade games... shiok nia... zz

most rich ppl lor.. :notti:

Rich ppl normally dun read they jus come in look at a few second and walk over to the counter to paid $$$. :notti:

and also i forgot, if you are those that spend alot of time travelling or rather, you click alot of mileage on roads, it will be better to get a hydrid car. save alot of petrol cost considering petrol price keep increasing.

currently, there are not much hybrid car on the road, so far only honda hybrid and toyota prius that are within our reach. lexus and others are too ex.

honda hybrid are more well establish as theirs is don't know reach how many generations of R&D already for hybrid and so its more reliable.

and also hybrid helps to protect our environment. :deal:

Hi Leen, thanks for the infor.

i stay in town & work in town, bus to workplace is 10mins, tot of getting weekend car but... the red plate GOSH!:P so ugly...

but i hav no idea what is the diff between OPC & Normal car?

Installment free policy :P

Edited by LadyLuck