mummymantras

Home Is Where The Art Is...

Project File's style seem to be a good fit to what you have described. I've seen many of their projects featured in Home & Decor and they all have loads of storage/shelves, carpentry etc. We also spoke to the ID when we went to look at the furniture (Motto). Seems nice, easy to talk to and even suggested other stores to look at.

Three-D Conceptwerke was one of those we approached... do be specific about which ID you want... we didn't select them so... nuff said.

I'm also considering Three-D Conceptwerke. Can share who you spoke to there? Why didn't you choose them in the end?

wah, maus 1 and 2 are so heartbreaking. i read them back in the day and it still haunts me. spiegelman couldn't maintain his standard after maus. i now go for robert kirkman and brian michael bendis. hollywood in a comic, but with a lot more depth and less on the angst.

good for you to put in local flavour, but i always feel that some of these architects/designers don't necessarily respect the heritage of the building. they rip the guts out and what remains is the shell. fine and good for some, but its a good piece of history lost. i've advised timothyng27 to look through some old pictures from the national archives to get some ideas. since your apt is at old airport road here're some links i found which may inspire you:

http://picas.nhb.gov.sg/picas/public/internetSearch/index.jsp

wah, maus 1 and 2 are so heartbreaking. i read them back in the day and it still haunts me. spiegelman couldn't maintain his standard after maus. i now go for robert kirkman and brian michael bendis. hollywood in a comic, but with a lot more depth and less on the angst.

good for you to put in local flavour, but i always feel thasome of these architects/designers don't necessarily

respect the heritage of the building. they rip the guts out

and what remains is the shell. fine and good for some, but

its a good piece of history lost. i've advised timothyng27 to

look through some old pictures from the national archives

to get some ideas. since your apt is at old airport road

here're some links i found which may inspire you:

http://picas.nhb.gov.sg/picas/public/internetSearch/index.jsp

Thanks for the link, rottenramone. I share your perspective. I think some owners like the privilege of living in a shophouse but lack the respect of history and just try to forcibly blend the new with the old.

Another observation I have is that a number of IDs in their quest to create more space for the owners may often neglect to provide circulation or flow of people through the house. Hopefully we can achieve this in our new home.

Hi!

Haven't got my house but I'm "short-listing" some of the stuffs that I really love. One of my "must-have" is that dining table from Originals. It looks really sturdy and I love the legs. Is it extendable? Anyway, wrt to your comment on comfy butt, I thought the benches would be good for the kids to climb up and down and you can mix and match with other chairs. At least, the lines wouldn't look so dead and you can keep your butt senses a little sane. I was thinking of chairs along the line of white base with wooden legs. And if you wana to blend with the local kopitian chairs, you can work with some upholstery expert to give the little dent on the kopitiam chair a little built in cushion that is a bit of a bump but not killing the original local kampong look.

My 2 cents...

Good afternoon, Renotalkers!

Am stuck at home this week. There's been an outbreak of HFMD at my daughters' childcare centre, so mummy and her daughters are all stuck at home. Just this morning, we played hide-and-seek, sang songs, read books, made assorted arts and crafts out of tissue paper, cardboard, tin foil and glitter crayons... and now they are bored... Sigh...

Anyway, my obsession for today is tables!

21_ethnicraft8.jpg

I love this one by Originals. Study construction and clean lines is just my thing. I would, however, prefer the benches to have cushions. Hard, wooden seats can be a real pain in the ***! :D

This Mapp table (part of Plank Living) by Air Division is also a real beauty!

image-13.jpg

Hi!

Haven't got my house but I'm "short-listing" some of the stuffs that I really love. One of my "must-have" is that dining table from Originals. It looks really sturdy and I love the legs. Is it extendable? Anyway, wrt to your comment on comfy butt, I thought the benches would be good for the kids to climb up and down and you can mix and match with other chairs. At least, the lines wouldn't look so dead and you can keep your butt senses a little sane. I was thinking of chairs along the line of white base with wooden legs. And if you wana to blend with the local kopitian chairs, you can work with some upholstery expert to give the little dent on the kopitiam chair a little built in cushion that is a bit of a bump but not killing the original local kampong look.

My 2 cents...

I don't think it's extenable.

But, yes, I love it too because it's so sturdy and solid. It feels like it would last forever and is heavy enough not to be knocked over easily by rambunctious children (or pets!). And the solid wood surface would age gracefully and slowly develop a smooth, finely grained patina as the years go by. Beautiful!

I've been thinking about getting two of the benches for either side of the table. But, I would indeed also buy a few padded chairs for those older members of the family who ... ahem ... require more comfortable seating options. :D

Your idea of a kopitiam chair with a little built-in cushion is a nice thought actually. And not something I'd considered previously. But interesting... And it could definitely work... I've got some nice stuff from the seventies (including my mum's old portable Olivetti typewriter) that we will be displaying around the flat and they'll probably go well with some 'uniquely Singaporean' furnishings. :good:

waaa.. that is like a lot of ideas!!! so what design you have in mind!! hahah jia you

Our design concept would probably be a cross between an indie bookstore (we have a lot of books) and a boutique hotel (we have a lot of artworks). :D

Given that I work from home (and do ocassionally meet my clients and collegues at home) I need the 'public' areas of my home (i.e. the living / dining room & kitchen) to exude a warm but intellectual feel – similar to that in an independent bookstore. Also, for the same reason, the ‘public’ areas of the home need to be kept separate from the ‘private’ areas of the home (i.e. the bedrooms), so that the visiting clients and colleagues are not tempted to poke around in the ‘private’ areas of the home.

For the 'private' areas of the home (i.e. the bedrooms), they need to feel warm, personable and soothing to the eye – similar to that in a boutique hotel - in order to showcase our collection of artworks and photographs, and reflect our interest in arts and design. Examples of local boutique hotels with quirky but pleasing aesthetics include New Majestic Hotel (http://www.newmajestichotel.com), The Club Hotel (http://theclub.com.sg) and Wanderlust (http://wanderlusthotel.com).

I think this is probably why most of the IDs I've called go absolutely speechless when I plunge into my long list of needs. They usually wait for me to finish and then they ask (in some confusion), "So, what look you want, ah? Modern? Black and white? Retro? Zen? Resort?"

And then I explain that I like natural materials - wood, cloth, stone. And clean lines. And good design. But I'm not too fussy. For me, the most important thing actually is that my books and artworks are well-placed and that my home is a place where I can work during the day and relax at night. Simple.

Anyway, if I already had a specific look in mind for my place, why would I need an ID... I could just get a contractor, right?

Then, they go slient again. And, then they usually repeat themselves. "So, what look you want, ah? Modern? Black and white? Retro? Zen? Resort?" Sigh... :rolleyes:

Ha...i facing the same issue as you.

Think these IDs just cannot think out of the box..they too fixed to the usual theme Zen, Minimalist, etc.

I don't have a specific theme, but have list of requirements...these IDs just dun get it. :bleah:

Our design concept would probably be a cross between an indie bookstore (we have a lot of books) and a boutique hotel (we have a lot of artworks). :D

Given that I work from home (and do ocassionally meet my clients and collegues at home) I need the 'public' areas of my home (i.e. the living / dining room & kitchen) to exude a warm but intellectual feel – similar to that in an independent bookstore. Also, for the same reason, the ‘public’ areas of the home need to be kept separate from the ‘private’ areas of the home (i.e. the bedrooms), so that the visiting clients and colleagues are not tempted to poke around in the ‘private’ areas of the home.

For the 'private' areas of the home (i.e. the bedrooms), they need to feel warm, personable and soothing to the eye – similar to that in a boutique hotel - in order to showcase our collection of artworks and photographs, and reflect our interest in arts and design. Examples of local boutique hotels with quirky but pleasing aesthetics include New Majestic Hotel (http://www.newmajestichotel.com), The Club Hotel (http://theclub.com.sg) and Wanderlust (http://wanderlusthotel.com).

I think this is probably why most of the IDs I've called go absolutely speechless when I plunge into my long list of needs. They usually wait for me to finish and then they ask (in some confusion), "So, what look you want, ah? Modern? Black and white? Retro? Zen? Resort?"

And then I explain that I like natural materials - wood, cloth, stone. And clean lines. And good design. But I'm not too fussy. For me, the most important thing actually is that my books and artworks are well-placed and that my home is a place where I can work during the day and relax at night. Simple.

Anyway, if I already had a specific look in mind for my place, why would I need an ID... I could just get a contractor, right?

Then, they go slient again. And, then they usually repeat themselves. "So, what look you want, ah? Modern? Black and white? Retro? Zen? Resort?" Sigh... :rolleyes:

Ha...i facing the same issue as you.

Think these IDs just cannot think out of the box..they too fixed to the usual theme Zen, Minimalist, etc.

I don't have a specific theme, but have list of requirements...these IDs just dun get it. :bleah:

Yeah. Trying to find an ID who is even willing to listen to what I need is a real pain...

And I guess that it's also really hard for me to connect with many of the ID 'cos I'm really bad at visualising things... I'm a 'word' person, not a 'picture' person (which is why I became a writer... I would suck at being a photographer!). I could list down all the things I'd like to have in my home, but I wouldn't be able to give a clear description of how to put them together in a coherent style. So, I really need the help of a good ID to give my messy ramblings some sense and direction. Hopefully, I'll find one soon... *twiddling thumbs*

This is why I'm moving to Old Airport Road... :D

http://www.cnngo.com/singapore/eat/10-best-hawker-food-stalls-singapore-236530

Home of some of the best food in Singapore! And whatever isn't at the Old Airport Road Food Centre is mostly either at Chinatown or along East Coast Road / East Coast Lagoon Food Village, which isn't too far away either. :dancingqueen:

Hi Mummymantras, congrats on ur new home and wishing you a fun reno journey... Cassia is a nice place, and the "Lor Mee" at Old Airport Hawker centre is superb :dribble:

More pics of homes I love... This is another conservation shophouse at 55, Blair Road (anyone starting to spot a pattern yet... ;) ), which was rejuvenated by Ong + Ong. Absolute perfection!

1250632265-blairrd-09.jpg

Beautiful bookshelves.

1250632257-blairrd-08.jpg

Gorgeous colour scheme. But I object to covering the books in white though! :bleah:

1250632288-blairrd-11.jpg

Again, excellent balance of clean lines and warmth. Like the antique chest on the floor. But I'd do without the huge Mao poster... It would be a bit alarming to have him looming over the bed every night as I sleep! ;)

This is really nice :jawdrop: !! Thanks for sharing :D

Yeah. Trying to find an ID who is even willing to listen to what I need is a real pain...

And I guess that it's also really hard for me to connect with many of the ID 'cos I'm really bad at visualising things... I'm a 'word' person, not a 'picture' person (which is why I became a writer... I would suck at being a photographer!). I could list down all the things I'd like to have in my home, but I wouldn't be able to give a clear description of how to put them together in a coherent style. So, I really need the help of a good ID to give my messy ramblings some sense and direction. Hopefully, I'll find one soon... *twiddling thumbs*

Hahaha...i'm totally opposite of you. I'm a very visual person...so when i met the IDs..i cannot describe in words what i want. It's in my brain..but dun know how to put it in words...hahahaha :bangwall:

BTW which IDs you shortlisted..can share share?

Hahaha...i'm totally opposite of you. I'm a very visual person...so when i met the IDs..i cannot describe in words what i want. It's in my brain..but dun know how to put it in words...hahahaha :bangwall:

BTW which IDs you shortlisted..can share share?

Sure. Here's the IDs / contractors that I've contacted so far (I may have to contact even more if none of these seem able to handle the job):

(1) Loyd Pek (a Renotalk fave): He was the first to get back to me (just hours after I'd emailed him!) and he really seemed to be taking an effort to understand our requirements (he asked a lot of questions about my lifestyle needs that I hadn't even thought about!). I'll be meeting him soon to see if he's as capable as I would hope.

(2) The Carpenter's: Seemed willing to spend some time and effort considering our requirements and thinking about how to design an appropriate home for us. I'll also be meeting them soon to see their design proposal and quotation.

(3) Three-D Conceptwerke: Seemed strangely reluctant to take on the job I was offering. They kept repeating on the phone that the budget I'd set aside for renovations was far too low and there was no way they could do it for so little. And, oddly enough, they didn't even bother to talk about my needs or how they could modify some of my design suggestions to accommodate my budget. So, since they were unwilling to be flexible, I decided to be unwilling to be flexible too. And I told them that I wasn't willing to increase my budget so significantly just for the pleasure of having them as my ID. :bleah:

(4) i-Bridge Design: No reply yet.

(5) The Design Practice: No reply yet.

(6) Project File: No reply yet.

(7) Bara Interior: No reply yet. (They did my present home 9 years ago, and so, we thought we'd give them a chance to do the next one, since they did a pretty reasonable job on the last one. :D )

More pics of homes I love... This is another conservation shophouse at 55, Blair Road (anyone starting to spot a pattern yet... ;) ), which was rejuvenated by Ong + Ong. Absolute perfection!

Again, excellent balance of clean lines and warmth. Like the antique chest on the floor. But I'd do without the huge Mao poster... It would be a bit alarming to have him looming over the bed every night as I sleep! ;)

Hey MM, I'll disclose my IDs and my feedback on them once my reno is over k (handover on 20th!)? Now is in process and there are ups and downs... so I'll prefer to give a balanced view once reno is over.

But the whiteness and clean lines of this featured reno reminds me of my IDs... basically the furnishings stand out and for you I think that's not a problem judging from your current place.

I'm also considering Three-D Conceptwerke. Can share who you spoke to there? Why didn't you choose them in the end?

(3) Three-D Conceptwerke: Seemed strangely reluctant to take on the job I was offering. They kept repeating on the phone that the budget I'd set aside for renovations was far too low and there was no way they could do it for so little. And, oddly enough, they didn't even bother to talk about my needs or how they could modify some of my design suggestions to accommodate my budget. So, since they were unwilling to be flexible, I decided to be unwilling to be flexible too. And I told them that I wasn't willing to increase my budget so significantly just for the pleasure of having them as my ID. :bleah:

My 2 cents on 3D Conceptwerke... initial impression was good. Seemed to understand what we wanted and promised to get back in a week. But then no response. And then we chased, and when we finally met, the ID gave us a simple top-view layout... and did not incorporate most of the requirements/brief we told him (had the feeling he forgot). I mean... how to forget fans right? Some more we told him every room had to have one... I'd also set up a website with my 'brief', pics, floor plan, ideas, etc so that everyone we approached had the same info, so really no excuse to forget lor...

Anyway not sure if it's cos my initial budget is too low so he didn't put in the effort... but seriously, we would have, and eventually did revise our reno budget.

Btw if you see the recent reno they do, they seem to specialise in the 'industrial chic' look which we weren't keen on. I don't think I need an ID to do industrial chic lor... concrete screed, exposed pipes, exposed wires... I also can ask contractor to do, why bother to go thru ID.

Didn't want to mention this earlier cos didn't want to influence MM. But since she is done with them...

That said, they do feature in reno mags pretty often and 3D did the reno for my fav EM reno so far - Minimalist Loft.

Hey MM, I'll disclose my IDs and my feedback on them once my reno is over k (handover on 20th!)? Now is in process and there are ups and downs... so I'll prefer to give a balanced view once reno is over.

But the whiteness and clean lines of this featured reno reminds me of my IDs... basically the furnishings stand out and for you I think that's not a problem judging from your current place.

Sure thing. Makes sense. :good:

My 2 cents on 3D Conceptwerke... initial impression was good. Seemed to understand what we wanted and promised to get back in a week. But then no response. And then we chased, and when we finally met, the ID gave us a simple top-view layout... and did not incorporate most of the requirements/brief we told him (had the feeling he forgot). I mean... how to forget fans right? Some more we told him every room had to have one... I'd also set up a website with my 'brief', pics, floor plan, ideas, etc so that everyone we approached had the same info, so really no excuse to forget lor...

Anyway not sure if it's cos my initial budget is too low so he didn't put in the effort... but seriously, we would have, and eventually did revise our reno budget.

Btw if you see the recent reno they do, they seem to specialise in the 'industrial chic' look which we weren't keen on. I don't think I need an ID to do industrial chic lor... concrete screed, exposed pipes, exposed wires... I also can ask contractor to do, why bother to go thru ID.

Didn't want to mention this earlier cos didn't want to influence MM. But since she is done with them...

That said, they do feature in reno mags pretty often and 3D did the reno for my fav EM reno so far - Minimalist Loft.

Yeah. I must admit that I was impressed by all the good publicity they've been getting lately (cover of this month's issue of Lookbox no less!) and I do like what they did for the Minimalist Loft (also one of my faves). But frankly their attitude was ridiculous.

Maybe it was the fact that the staff member who called me simply didn't have a good command of English (so perhaps he was simply suffering from an inability to express himself properly). Or perhaps it's the company's policy not to waste time by accepting jobs with overly tight budgets that might lead to conflict with the clients later on. But still, I find it absurd that he seemed unwilling to even discuss how we could possibly get the job done on the budget given. I even pointed out to him that we were very flexible and understood that if certain design elements were costly, that we could forgo them or opt for less costly alternatives. But all he did was continue to repeat over and over again that our budget was too small for them to work with...

Anyway, if they don't want the job, I'm sure we can find another ID / contractor who does... ;)