Bengologist

Let's Go Punggol!

Do a google search n u will find some write-ups on roller blinds vs. curtain..

Check this out: http://www.ehomeservices.com.sg/articles/what-are-the-benefits-of-roller-blinds-and-curtains.html

There are also some forum threads in RT talking about the same..

Check these out:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/45562-blinds-vs-curtains/

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/31700-curtain-or-blinds/

For me, I did rainbow blinds for the living rm and my rm (for aesthetics & mtce reasons - i lasy to take down, wash & hang up curtains), while I did curtains for my mom's (the folks usu prefer the more conventional, & her rm allows full length curtains :P)

At the end of the day, I think it broils down to individual preference & the functions one is after ba.. :)

Just4fun, I heard that rainbow blinds is expensive, is that so? Thinking to get it.

Haha I din look at normal rollers blinds at all (becos i dun like the either fully opaque or fully 50% option) so din check out the price.. :P But i know rainbow is definitely more exp (not to mention i think kena chopped carrot head a little :() I like it quite a lot.. but looks like not many bros & sis got it so not much sharing.. Ya pls do ur hmwork before deciding whether to get it.. share share ur info too :lol:

Er, can enlighten me on why go for roller blinds? I would have though in terms of maintenance and easy upkeep curtains are easier? No? Of course it does not look modern.... Still...

Do a google search n u will find some write-ups on roller blinds vs. curtain..

Check this out: http://www.ehomeservices.com.sg/articles/what-are-the-benefits-of-roller-blinds-and-curtains.html

There are also some forum threads in RT talking about the same..

Check these out:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/45562-blinds-vs-curtains/

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/31700-curtain-or-blinds/

For me, I did rainbow blinds for the living rm and my rm (for aesthetics & mtce reasons - i lasy to take down, wash & hang up curtains), while I did curtains for my mom's (the folks usu prefer the more conventional, & her rm allows full length curtains :P)

At the end of the day, I think it broils down to individual preference & the functions one is after ba.. :)

Hi Aplc,

I agreed with what jus4fun has mentioned. Curtains looks classier and add more elegance to the house but it's harder to maintain because you have to bring down from the curtain rod every now and then to wash it. The frequency depends on the way how the curtains are being used and maintained.

On the other hand, roller blinds are easier to maintain because when it's not in use, it's hidden inside its casing/spring rod. In addition, according to the 4 curtain specialists I have spoken to, blinds do not require cleaning in washing machine. You just need to use clean water to wipe it occasionally and it will be able to last for a long long period of time.

Anyway the main reason why I have chosen blinds over curtains is really because of the "modern" feel it emits. The easy maintenance and cheaper cost factors are just bonuses. However, like what jus4fun has mentioned, it's really down to individual's preference. :lol:

Haha I din look at normal rollers blinds at all (becos i dun like the either fully opaque or fully 50% option) so din check out the price.. :P But i know rainbow is definitely more exp (not to mention i think kena chopped carrot head a little :() I like it quite a lot.. but looks like not many bros & sis got it so not much sharing.. Ya pls do ur hmwork before deciding whether to get it.. share share ur info too :lol:

Wow! Rainbow blinds.... Hmmm.. How does it look like?

Is it something like this? :unsure:

n2CWl1K.jpg

13th June 2013

After the tortoise start to my renovation, my house had undergone a major fast & furious transformation over the last couple of weeks, which is partly my mom's credit for nagging at the ID. Just when things are finally switching to the positive side, my ID dropped a bomb on me while I was engaged in a staring contest with the monitor screen in my office. He told me that some of the items I had placed inside the storeroom were MISSING!

OHHHHHHH MYYYYYYYYYYYY GODDDDDDDDDDDD! :jawdrop:

He informed me that his contractor had told him that the Tecno Hob & Hood were missing, so he questioned me to find out if I had brought it home. I immediately replied in a rather outraged manner,"Why do I have to bring it back? These two items are so heavy and bulky. I have deliberately left all the items inside the storeroom for your convenience during installation and now you are telling me they are lost? What else are missing? You sure it's missing? Did you or your contractor check properly? We have not adjusted anything in the storeroom. The only time I know the items are being moved is when your workers shifted them to the living hall during the painting of the storeroom. Did any of your workers steal it? If yes, tell them to return it asap in perfect condition. Otherwise, I'm gonna make a police report later on the theft!" :furious:

He was stunned at my reaction and immediately apologise for his comment. He mentioned that this is the first time such thing had happened and he is trying to figure out solutions to tackle this issue without compromising the renovation progress. He offered to do a double-check with his contractor and workers. After 30 minutes, he gave me a call again to say that he had called up all the workers and none admitted to stealing the Tecno Hob & Hood. In order to prevent delay in the renovation, he offered to compensate me with a new Tecno Hob & Hood, using his own pocket money and claim the amount from the company at a later date. In addition, he went ahead to change the number lock and also complied a list of the workers for submission to the police. Despite his habit of impunctuality & unresponsive to calls/SMS/Whatsapp, I'm pretty satisfied with the way how he handled this unforeseen circumstances.

Therefore in the evening after my work, I went up to my house to check on all the things in the storeroom to ensure that there are no further missing items. After snapping a few photos of the progress, I made my way to the Punggol Neighbourhood Police Post to file a police report on the missing items. I really have to feedback that not only is the police station located in a strange & inaccessible area (21A Tebing Lane), the police officer recording my statement took a very long time to generate the police report. I was there from 10.30pm to 12am and had to take a cab home (midnight charges :~ ). As of today (19th June 2013), the investigating officer had not given me a call, so I really wonder if they are following up on the case.

Anyway here are some of the pictures of my renovation progress taken on 13th June:-

1) The carpentry items and the tools & equipment placed in the living hall
20130613_215537_zps16488c5d.jpg

2) The glass sliding door for the MBR wardrobe
20130613_215548_zps4b73dab8.jpg

3) Part of the wardrobe is already installed in one of the common bedroom
20130613_215815_zpsaadac803.jpg

4) The kitchen cabinets. The granite top will be installed on 21st June.
20130613_215708_zps8579f9b3.jpg

5) The cabinet on the opposite side of the kitchen
20130613_215724_zps1029090f.jpg

Edited by Bengologist

Wow! Rainbow blinds.... Hmmm.. How does it look like?

Is it something like this? :unsure:

n2CWl1K.jpg

Ben, you are so cute. Lol

I saw this at someone forum, they sell at Qoo10 too. :)

null_zps338e892a.jpg

Oh dear! 'Luckily' ur id take responsibility of the theft..inside theft are scary! Hope ur reno more smooth soon!

N rainbow blinds... Hmm... Not bengish leh... Haha

With my help of my daughter, I can easy upload these photos. :) 80% of carpenter is done. I wouldn't take pic of the process, cos my carpenter guy don't allow me go up my place while they will working..He know I will ask a lot of questions and disturb them. lol..so he ban me..... :( sorry if the kitchen photo is blur, too small place to take photo.

null_zps1fca7115.jpg

null_zps9bf127fb.jpg

null_zpsc111f289.jpg

null_zpsacfae9d3.jpg

Ben, you are so cute. Lol

I saw this at someone forum, they sell at Qoo10 too. :)

null_zps338e892a.jpg

Ohhhh.. That's a rainbow blind! I thought it's really in rainbow colour. Thought how come jus4fun bro is sooooooooooooo hyper :dribble: in this selection. Hahaha! :lol:

aiseh niko! orange kitchen, very naruto-ish color :sport-smiley-018::sport-smiley-018:

Edited by edd

heh, my kitchen sink tap also missing during my reno, maybe when they clear rubbish, also throw the tap away accidentally since it's a really small flat piece...see la no storeroom for me to store item is like tat one...but for hob and hood...hmmmmm....something fishy going on eh??

aiseh niko! orange kitchen, very naruto-ish color :sport-smiley-018::sport-smiley-018:

we want something special..all color is choose by my daughter except for my master room.

Ben, feel sorry for what had happen. I don't really good in words. If he is my ID, I will screw him up. 8|

Haha no worries and thank a lot for your nice words.

I was furious on that day when he told me this. I thought it's another trick up his sleeves again to delay the renovation. However, I got to sympathise with him because he's also not expecting such things to happen. :dunno:

Therefore, my advice to everyone here is to try to visit your house every now & then to inspect the items. The last time I had seen the Hob & Hood is on 19th May, which is about 3 weeks ago, so I have no idea when the theft actually took place. In addition, write a list of items placed in the house for renovation purpose and ask the ID/Contractor overlooking your project to take charge (ask them to sign on that list) so that when they are missing *touchwood*, there's someone who will take responsibility of them.

I'm just lucky that my ID is a nice fellow in this aspect. :)