Bengologist

Let's Go Punggol!

Beng Beng, always so entertaining reading ur posts.. :)

I dun hv a 虎妈 like u.. no wonder my reno took 2 mths 22 days la! Haha! :lol:

U staying in the MRB or ur folks? The dark grey wall oso looks a bit dark to this gor gor.. er I mean 大叔 here.. I used latte (my personal fav) + lily white for my rm n natural cane + lily white for my mom's.. more warm colors I chose.. better leave the bolder colors to 年轻小伙子 ba! Haha! :lol:

Edited by jus4fun

After abandoning this little corner on the world wide web, I returned from my hectic work schedule to find no cobwebs and tangled vines, all thanks to you lovely peeps for visiting it every now and then. Give yourselves a pat on your shoulders right now! :good:

Now back to the weekly updates. Please allow me 10 minutes to browse through this forum to see when's my last update.

Okay found it! :dribble: Last update was 1st June, really eons ago. Let's move on to the next chapter of the renovation journey.

6th June 2013

According to the schedule plan, the workers are supposed to come to the house to do additional painting work on the wall of my living hall and the master bedroom. As I will be busy slogging my guts out for my paymaster, not to mention partying in the indoor stadium with Jay Chou after my work, I have to leave the spying :ph34r: duties to my Ninja Mom.

When she arrived at the house at 4pm, she immediately ring me up and shouted over the phone, "DO WHAT PAINTING?! WHAT PAINTING DID THEY DO?! EVERYTHING IS THE SAME AS WHAT WE HAVE SEEN LAST WEEK! DID THEY COME TO DO? WASTE MY TIME TO COME DOWN! I'M SO PISSED RIGHT NOW! :jail: "

I straight away calm her down and say,"Hey Mom! I'm not the contractor. You gotta chill. I will give him a call right now."

As per usual, my ID refuses to pick up my call and I have no choice but to send a SMS to his mobile saying, "Hello, can you advise me what's happening to the painting work?" He called 10 minutes later to say that he's heading to my unit with his painting contractor. My mom waited in the house for their arrival and I guessed my ID did not have a good evening because he has to face the wrath & nagging power of my mom. Really good luck and may God blessed him. Hahaha! :rolleyes:

After the painting is done (within 30 minutes), he sent me the photos for confirmation. I'm not convinced that they did a proper job but I am glad that they managed to keep pace with the schedule. I will make sure the walls are properly painted during the painting touch-up in the final stage of the renovation, otherwise I will buy hundred pieces of canes and whip them on their butts *hahahaha*. 8|

8th June 2013

After the painting job, the next task is to install the glass panel in my living hall and the shower screens in the two bathrooms. In order to avoid the unnecessary lioness' roar from my mom, I had decided to make the trip down on my own to the house to check on the progress. Ever since he experienced the "hair-dryer treatment" from my mom (which is even more powerful than Sir Alex Ferguson's original version), he has been making constant updates to me on the renovation progress. He even drop me a rare SMS before the workers begin the glass/shower screen installation work and another SMS after the installation. If I have known how much effect my mom's ranting has on him, I would have gotten my mom to liaise with him right from the start, and perhaps I might even be a resident of Punggol-Pasir Ris GRC right now. Hahahaha! :lol:

Here are some of the photos taken during that week:-

1) The painting contractor working hard on the MBR wall.

IMG-20130606-WA0006_zps0681ddcb.jpg

2) The almost completed product *pending touch-up*. Is this really an awful colour selection like what my Mom say? :(

20130609_161507_zps0d447065.jpg

3) Shower screen in one of the bathrooms. Hooray! No more wet toilet floor! :sport-smiley-004:

20130609_161448_zpsed340fb6.jpg

4) The fully-painted wall in the living hall. Yes, you are right, pending touch-up work too! :P

20130609_161643_zps613e7ff6.jpg

5) The glass partition in my living room. Pretty solid despite its thickness. Pleasing to the eye too. Love it. :wub:

20130609_161633_zps839d0e05.jpg

nice to see more updates, wah your toilet mosaic is so nice, you overlay it or is HDB default design? quite cool

painting done, next up will be carpentry work le and furnishing liao :)

still got about 1 week to your handover date

lol, 姜还是老的辣!

u nvr suan ur ID " see la...deal with me u dun wan, now u deal with my mom lor! got eyes cannot recognise orh eee orh!!!

the grayish wall looks alright to me, i would use a lighter shade tho

elders dun really like such colors lol

Hahaha... I think he must be traumatised by the experience with my Mom. Her "狮吼功" won't lose out to the 包租婆 in 《功夫》。

:lol::lol::lol:

thanks jus4fun for the info..... tt wd be $220 per foot run ya.... so gd if can get tt now....I can really see wt difference a year makes..

n fr ben's quote, I think I can roughly say the price now is abt $260-$280 pfr....

i'm still thinking if I shd just get ikea wardrobes....

My IDs quote was 240 pfr All formica Naturelle with blum hinges

but Kitchen was 100 pfr..... :rolleyes:

I think ikea's wardrobes' prices are pretty much similar to what my ID quoted me, especially if you take into account the delivery and installation fee, plus the sealing up of the space above the wardrobes. :unsure:

Beng Beng, always so entertaining reading ur posts.. :)

I dun hv a 虎妈 like u.. no wonder my reno took 2 mths 22 days la! Haha! :lol:

U staying in the MRB or ur folks? The dark grey wall oso looks a bit dark to this gor gor.. er I mean 大叔 here.. I used latte (my personal fav) + lily white for my rm n natural cane + lily white for my mom's.. more warm colors I chose.. better leave the bolder colors to 年轻小伙子 ba! Haha! :lol:

Hahaha! Glad that my post brighten up your day! :lol:

Lol.. Although I have a 虎妈, her training wasn't good enough to make me a tiger too. Okay, maybe I'm a paper tiger. Hahaha! :D

I'm staying in the MBR, so that dark room is mine. My mom is just unhappy that I painted my room that dark. In fact, It's only that side of the wall that is dark grey, the rest of the room is light in colour. Hahaha! As for my folks' room, I have chosen sandstone colour for them, so they have no complains about it. Hahahaha! :P

nice to see more updates, wah your toilet mosaic is so nice, you overlay it or is HDB default design? quite cool

painting done, next up will be carpentry work le and furnishing liao :)

still got about 1 week to your handover date

Ha thanks! I also kinda like the mosaic tiles design in the bathroom. It's HDB default design, so I guess I will curse and swear lesser at them for my expensive house. Hahaha! :lol:

Yeah, carpentry is also up too. I will post the updates in a while, so stay tuned.. :notti:

9th June 2013

Although it's not as urgent as the other component of the renovation, I have proceed to arrange appointment with a few curtain-makers so that I can put a strike across the word "Curtains" on my to-do list.

Unlike majority of the homes in Singapore, I have chosen to install roller blinds for my whole house, instead of the traditional curtains. The main reasons are that blinds are easier to maintain, user-friendlier and they emit a simple, yet modern & sophisticated feel to the home, which fits exactly into the way how I wanted my house to look like.

It's not difficult to extract information from Renotalk pertaining to curtains/blinds etc and it's even far easier to get a long list of curtain specialists. However, similar to the hunt for a suitable ID, there are only a handful of highly-recommended ones and after doing my 'homework' on this website, I went ahead to shortlist the following four curtain-specialists:-

1) MGL Curtains
2) Mr Chew
3) Vincent
4) Radianze Furnishing & Decor

Among them, Vincent offers me the cheapest quote but the warranty is only 1 year. MGL Curtains is slightly more expensive than the rest but quality of their product is not too bad. Mr Chew's price is just slightly higher than Vincent but he impressed me during the first meeting with a whole trolley full of catalogue. Lastly, although the price offered by Ryan from Radianze Furnishing & Decor is not as competitive as Vincent & Mr Chew, I had decided to sign with him. The reasons are very simple and as follows:-

a) He is in charge of several curtain projects in the Punggol area, especially in the vicinity around my house. Even without on-site inspection in my house, he is able to tell me the problems which will encounter during the installation of the blinds. Therefore, he is experienced.
b) He possess a good service attitude.
c) The curtain/blind materials are excellent quality and that's the reason why he has no fear offering a 5 years warranty! Yeah, you didn't read wrongly, FIVE YEARS WARRANTY! :jawdrop:

For those who want Mr Chew & Ryan's contacts, here you go.
20130609_222138_zps2f80bb7f.jpg

As for MGL Curtains & Vincent, I'm terribly sorry that I have lost your namecards. :(

Before my appointment with Ryan on 9th June, I had gone to the house earlier to check on the renovation and did some small D.I.Y. work. Hahaha, it's really soooooooooooo insignificant that I'm laughing while typing the words right now. :lol::lol::lol:

Let's check out the photos of my little D.I.Y. project

1) Okay, please hold your laughter, it's really very insignificant. Yes, pasting of stickers on air freshener dispenser :sport-smiley-004:
20130609_163537_zpseb85ef9c.jpg

2) The first attempt. A little ugly. :(
20130609_163613_zps7f0733e9.jpg

3) Another attempt but on the next dispenser. Much better right? Hahahaha... :D
20130609_164957_zpsdbbba77f.jpg

Edited by Bengologist

9th June 2013 (Continued from above...)

Okay, so I have mentioned in my previous post that I had an appointment with Ryan. My mom and I had arranged to meet him at 4.30pm but he turns up late at about 5pm. However, he wasted no time when he arrived, showing us several catalogues and taking measurements of the windows. While he's busy jotting down the dimensions, he also talk to us about the pro/con of curtains & blinds, their maintenance and also advise us on the type of materials/colour to choose so as to match to its surrounding.

These are the selections I have made.

1) 50% Light Filtering roller blind (for my living hall)
20130609_175602_zps5cc3d7bc.jpg

2) 100% Black-out roller blind (cream colour) for my parents' room
20130609_175712_zps3c7add75.jpg

3) 100% Black-out roller blind (gray colour) for my sister's room. Ryan say this one look like silver colour under the right lighting. :rolleyes:

20130609_175821_zps03f23f3b.jpg

4) Finally, this is the 100% Black-out roller blind (canyon colour) I have chosen for the MBR. :)
20130609_175908_zps616efafc.jpg

Edited by Bengologist

So u managed to convince ur folks to use roller blinds instead of the traditional curtain.. gd for u!! :)

Hahaha yes.. My sister and I voted for roller blinds, my dad withdrew his vote, so my mom has no choice but to submit to roller blind. Everything is settled in a democratic manner. :lol:

haha very cute! :)

Er, can enlighten me on why go for roller blinds? I would have though in terms of maintenance and easy upkeep curtains are easier? No? Of course it does not look modern.... Still...

Do a google search n u will find some write-ups on roller blinds vs. curtain..

Check this out: http://www.ehomeservices.com.sg/articles/what-are-the-benefits-of-roller-blinds-and-curtains.html

There are also some forum threads in RT talking about the same..

Check these out:

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/45562-blinds-vs-curtains/

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/topic/31700-curtain-or-blinds/

For me, I did rainbow blinds for the living rm and my rm (for aesthetics & mtce reasons - i lasy to take down, wash & hang up curtains), while I did curtains for my mom's (the folks usu prefer the more conventional, & her rm allows full length curtains :P)

At the end of the day, I think it broils down to individual preference & the functions one is after ba.. :)

Edited by jus4fun

hahaha, ur cousins so funny. u really dare to use colors, the color look nice on the selection catalogue but i dun dare to use :P

aiyo, start ur own t-blog liao lor! :rolleyes:

Yes, they are. Thanks for the compliment. Why no dare? I also don't care, if no nice then change color lor. :) No t-blog for me. When I upload the photos, it take me 2-3 hours to do that. 不要害我。now I still need my daughter teach me how to join photos together before I upload.

OMG OMG OMG! This colour is sooooooo vibrant and refreshing! I totally love it! :wub: I would have done something similar if my folks do not give me this :angry2: look. I have chosen a dark grey colour for one side of my bedroom and my mom has been nagging me for the past 2 weeks on my bad colour selection. :dunno:

Please upload more pictures! Really love your colour selection! :thumbs up:

Ben, thank you for the compliment. I & my daughter go through all the color before we select the color to let painter paint. Just go to any paint shop and get the Nippon catalogue. Chose dark color will always nag by old people, try to be more understandings. :) my mum don't bother so much, so I'm lucky but if any things go wrong.. My daughter will nag at me. :(