OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

hi happy,

i'm working on a tight budget too...prob 15k...can share with me ur quotation from ur contactor/ID?

Good morning YANG

Oh..mines is different from you.

1) dining chair (we buy ourselves. save the design money: can cost up to $1K+)

2) Living room features wall/tv console (we dont need it, after careful thought, so just from imm tv console

also have good design. Features wall dont need as everyday see will get bored, save design money: can cost up to $3K+)

3) L wall bomb shelter (You must check the width between shelter door and the wall. Talk to other and they told me is will be narrow if feature wall is done to cover the shelter door. Save design money, can cost up to $1k+)

4) Shoe cabinet (buy our own at imm (very nice design, save design money, can cost up to $800+)

5) Bedhead (dont need that)

6 & 7) Can give it a miss. Cos' item 5,6,7 can cost alot of money if let design do.

Oh...I am sorry that I am not pouring cold water on you.

I have a tight budget, so, mine is just simple flooring, kitchen cabinet, grill, paint, wardrobe, vanity top, wiring, lights, fans, kerb, doors.

Oh...$21K, be prepare to top up if you go for lots of carpenter work.

Initially I went to one id/contractor firm, he quote including features wall, tv console, etc...total: $28k+ excluding lights, wiring, fans, air con and of course haulage n sand cost. Total expected cost will be around $35K. (at least).

For flooring, I am going for granite....but after yesterday visit to one shop, I have the intention to change into marble flooring.....

1) Build in dining chair with cushion and storage

2) Living room featured wall and tv console

3) Featured L-wall for the bomb shelter

4) Shoe cabinet

5) Bedhead wall full height

6) Bed side table

7) Bed room tv console

(the rest are quite basic,kitchen cabinet,wardrope)

How is ur quotation like?

this sounds cheap... can U PM me your ID?

went to UHome & Future Home (same as Wei Ken???) just now...

Not impressed by the Future Home ID, blur lbur one... saw another couple inside with the same floor plan talking to a female staff ;) This ID never did much drawings, only noted down what we wanted and will get back to us in 3 week's time

Went into UHome and spoke to a "Sales Manager"... he seems kinda experienced and did a layout drawing for us and really analyzed the measurements and gave us a few ideas. Good ideas too, something never suggested by HomeSuccess (who we thought was full of ideas). He went thru the basic package and if we add in those items that we want, estimated cost of 25k, waiting for him to follow-up in 1 week's time

GPlan office is still under reno... wanted to go Frontier but no time liao... almost 7pm by the time we left UHome

We'll visit the Expo show on Sat, hope to speak to Baroque, *** and GPlan

Hi everyone! Hmm seems like my FH has already been included in the list so i shall juz piggy ride on his effort hee..

I m so excited to be here! ;)

BLK 25A

- redbottle

- loobhlinda

- pert

BLK 25B

- Linggie & KhooK

- Green

- MsBean

- h4happy

-marksng12

- Dtkiddy & yun11

BLK 26A

-

BLK 26B

- dunkmycar

- noellechua

- lynnnie

- dorcas

- Vacis + moonbell

- owens_avenue & genevie

BLK 26C

- elaine1205

- ZLia

- Cindy-Monkeybone

- chewy

BLK 26D

- OnePostWonder

- jj2

- Princess Momo

- rommie

- binzz

- kriegs

- wonsen

- Velynn

- Simpleboi

- jazznpop

BLK 27A

- xlan

- nemofc

- bchew

- Yang Guo

- Seafaith

- chaq

- Jasch

- glaminn

- dashe

- saeran

BLK 27B

- VinceDelfino

we got a new neighbour @ 25B - Dtkiddy

went to UHome & Future Home (same as Wei Ken???) just now...

Not impressed by the Future Home ID, blur lbur one... saw another couple inside with the same floor plan talking to a female staff ;) This ID never did much drawings, only noted down what we wanted and will get back to us in 3 week's time

Went into UHome and spoke to a "Sales Manager"... he seems kinda experienced and did a layout drawing for us and really analyzed the measurements and gave us a few ideas. Good ideas too, something never suggested by HomeSuccess (who we thought was full of ideas). He went thru the basic package and if we add in those items that we want, estimated cost of 25k, waiting for him to follow-up in 1 week's time

GPlan office is still under reno... wanted to go Frontier but no time liao... almost 7pm by the time we left UHome

We'll visit the Expo show on Sat, hope to speak to Baroque, *** and GPlan

i went down to future home too, the branch at havelock. chatted with one of their staff kym. she was v nice and their quote was fantastic. Heard from her that they were "approached" or authorised by HDB to serve the residents affected SERS. Is this true?

Anyway she also told me that HDB has contacted them and told them 25b will be ready in Nov. Oh btw has anyone seen their capentery? can comment

Hi Yang Guo,

Does your quote include the whole house window grill? and are u intending to have a door for your kitchen?

I had got a quote from another ID which came out to be abt 28k leh.. the things that we are doing are almost the same as urs leh.. ;)

Hi Jasch,

nope, window grill and whole house electrical works not included yet..i have checked already. If include these need another $3k

how many ID have u been to?

initially wanted a kitchen door,but cost abt $800..think dont want kitchen door lor,so i removed it from my list already.

Good morning YANG

Oh..mines is different from you.

1) dining chair (we buy ourselves. save the design money: can cost up to $1K+)

2) Living room features wall/tv console (we dont need it, after careful thought, so just from imm tv console

also have good design. Features wall dont need as everyday see will get bored, save design money: can cost up to $3K+)

3) L wall bomb shelter (You must check the width between shelter door and the wall. Talk to other and they told me is will be narrow if feature wall is done to cover the shelter door. Save design money, can cost up to $1k+)

4) Shoe cabinet (buy our own at imm (very nice design, save design money, can cost up to $800+)

5) Bedhead (dont need that)

6 & 7) Can give it a miss. Cos' item 5,6,7 can cost alot of money if let design do.

Oh...I am sorry that I am not pouring cold water on you.

I have a tight budget, so, mine is just simple flooring, kitchen cabinet, grill, paint, wardrobe, vanity top, wiring, lights, fans, kerb, doors.

Oh...$21K, be prepare to top up if you go for lots of carpenter work.

Initially I went to one id/contractor firm, he quote including features wall, tv console, etc...total: $28k+ excluding lights, wiring, fans, air con and of course haulage n sand cost. Total expected cost will be around $35K. (at least).

For flooring, I am going for granite....but after yesterday visit to one shop, I have the intention to change into marble flooring.....

Hi Happy,thanks for your advice,i am also looking at whether can i buy those items seperately too,hehe.ya imm has some v nice furnitures

oh ya marble flooring is it more exp than homo flooring?

Today went to balestiar with my family members, went to a few tiles shop, wow...really impress with the homo tiles, especially they make it look the same like marble!!!!

Took some sample home.

I like one homo tiles, they make it look like laminated floor!!!

Further went down to shaw plaza, saw lwt design, nothing much to see over there!

Also, many lights and bath accessories.

Going down again and next trip will be jalan besar and IMM (behind; show granites and marbles tiles).

Anyone go there to check our the homo tiles?

Today went to balestiar with my family members, went to a few tiles shop, wow...really impress with the homo tiles, especially they make it look the same like marble!!!!

Took some sample home.

I like one homo tiles, they make it look like laminated floor!!!

Further went down to shaw plaza, saw lwt design, nothing much to see over there!

Also, many lights and bath accessories.

Going down again and next trip will be jalan besar and IMM (behind; show granites and marbles tiles).

Anyone go there to check our the homo tiles?

Haven check out the homo tiles yet

oh ya, that means we can go check out the tiles first,then tell our ID that we want to buy the tiles from the shop that we want right?

or the tiles shop must be selected by our ID?

Hi everyone, just wanna to share my quotation, its on the high side due to all the designs, features, carpentary that we included, thought will be within our budget, buttttt, its not loh.. We had made amendments to the quotation, reduce some items and hopefully the price will go down, its about 36k !!

Hopefully, u all understand what i saying, cos some of the things i dun really know how to describe and the quotation not with me.. cos my ID took back to revise the costing..

The basic quotation for the standard package is around 17k, plus free fuji system 3 air-con, the remaining includes:

1) Feature wall for tv and tv console

2) Laminates for the living dining area with mirror

3) Additional cost increase for getting all 3 bedrooms with homogenous tiles

4) Glass door for MBR toliet

5) 1 top compartment bookshelf for our study room

6) 2 study tables

7) rest and relax long bench with storage in study room

8) bench with storage in dining area

9) Side table for MBR

10) Platform for living room

11) Wall paper for MBR

Haven't signed with my ID yet, looking at the final quotation first then will decide, although i had stated its 95% confirmed.. !!

Haven check out the homo tiles yet

oh ya, that means we can go check out the tiles first,then tell our ID that we want to buy the tiles from the shop that we want right?

or the tiles shop must be selected by our ID?

the ID would have some tiles for u to select right?

Just to add, from the $36k, around $2+k plus is for the 7% GST.. !!

Dun forget to check and include the 7% GST in your quote if your ID or contractor is registered for GST..

the ID would have some tiles for u to select right?

They will bring you to the tile shop to choose and normally will give u a price like can buy the $3 per sq feet type, if more must top up..

For furniture, lightings, kitchen and bathroom accessories, they will normally bring you to their affliated shops to buy to get cheaper price, but cheap or not, must do some home work also.. Normally ID will go with you to select, cos if buy a design that doesn't suit the theme, then no point also..

Just to add, from the $36k, around $2+k plus is for the 7% GST.. !!

Dun forget to check and include the 7% GST in your quote if your ID or contractor is registered for GST..

They will bring you to the tile shop to choose and normally will give u a price like can buy the $3 per sq feet type, if more must top up..

For furniture, lightings, kitchen and bathroom accessories, they will normally bring you to their affliated shops to buy to get cheaper price, but cheap or not, must do some home work also.. Normally ID will go with you to select, cos if buy a design that doesn't suit the theme, then no point also..

Hi Binzz,

most of my ID/contractor do not charge GST leh. Maybe u can try negotiate the price,ask them to give u discount?

my friend using ***** also, they managed to ask for alot of discount from them.

Hi everyone, just wanna to share my quotation, its on the high side due to all the designs, features, carpentary that we included, thought will be within our budget, buttttt, its not loh.. We had made amendments to the quotation, reduce some items and hopefully the price will go down, its about 36k !!

Hopefully, u all understand what i saying, cos some of the things i dun really know how to describe and the quotation not with me.. cos my ID took back to revise the costing..

The basic quotation for the standard package is around 17k, plus free fuji system 3 air-con, the remaining includes:

1) Feature wall for tv and tv console

2) Laminates for the living dining area with mirror

3) Additional cost increase for getting all 3 bedrooms with homogenous tiles

4) Glass door for MBR toliet

5) 1 top compartment bookshelf for our study room

6) 2 study tables

7) rest and relax long bench with storage in study room

8) bench with storage in dining area

9) Side table for MBR

10) Platform for living room

11) Wall paper for MBR

Haven't signed with my ID yet, looking at the final quotation first then will decide, although i had stated its 95% confirmed.. !!

Hi Binzz,

We just met up with ***** today also.. Our Id quote us abt 34k+(before GST). But heard from him they are gg to have a promo coming sat offering to absord the GST. Mayb u can check with ur ID. :~

We had gotten a quote from ernest interior abt 1 mth back with exactly the same items. Its much cheaper at only 28k. But dunno if they had increase their pricing a not since most material prices had gone up recently.

If you want u can try them also lor. :lol:

Hi Jasch,

nope, window grill and whole house electrical works not included yet..i have checked already. If include these need another $3k

how many ID have u been to?

initially wanted a kitchen door,but cost abt $800..think dont want kitchen door lor,so i removed it from my list already.

hmmm... can you pm me ur quote? so far we had went to a lot of ID.. but only 3 came back to us. 2 quote us abt 28k. one of them quote us abt 35k including a panasonic system 3 aircon (b4 GST) :)

We are still looking around for a few more b4 deciding who to sign up with ba. Anyway we are not rushing to move in also.. keke :bangwall:

Edited by jasch

I'm so excited to came across this thread...really interesting sharing from you guys. I dropped over Sat and Sunday, visited units currently under renovation by Tong Hong, GIM WEE and Homemakers. Here are my views,

Tong Hong

- very contractor-wise feeling given. (nv suggest anything on designs at all)

- Workmanship (Don't really know to tell, but looks normal?)

- The package seems expensive. (18k for standard fittings and fixtures, comes with free Mitsubishi aircons)

- Awaiting quotation

Gim Wee

- The guy gives alot of ideas on ID but seems very young.

- Don't have much workmanship to look at yet.

- Seems expensive as he just pull numbers from the air when I ask agar how much it'll cost. (said 30k+ for 4-room and 40k+ for 5 room, I never even said what kind of carpentry)

Homemakers

- Nv chat with any salesperson as wise

- Workmanship seems similar to Tong Hong.

- Price wise no idea.

Tried to sneak in and "caught red handed" by the security guard yest. Haha...you all should know what happens next. Undertable. =p He even escort us up to a 10th level of the block where my family friend's unit is. (nv climb to our units as it's too high, lifts not operating) He also gave me some valuable info that you guys will be interested in.

26C residents will be getting their keys in mid Oct. As for fellow 26B residents, we'll be getting ours in Nov. I guess new home can be ready by CNY. =) (The other units nv ask, paiseh)

Have you all came across and considered Classic Design, who's shop is opp Tiong Bahru Plaza? Chatted with them twice and overall impression very good. Quotation seems reasonable and said renovation can be done in 1 mth time. Seriously considering them, going to view the units they currently renovating to check on their workmanship soon. Seems no one mentioned abt this ID in Renotalk, hope to receive some feedbacks on it!

:unsure: