OnePostWonder

Newbies @ Jalan Membina

Hi Binzz,

We just met up with ***** today also.. Our Id quote us abt 34k+(before GST). But heard from him they are gg to have a promo coming sat offering to absord the GST. Mayb u can check with ur ID. :good:

We had gotten a quote from ernest interior abt 1 mth back with exactly the same items. Its much cheaper at only 28k. But dunno if they had increase their pricing a not since most material prices had gone up recently.

If you want u can try them also lor. :D

Hi Jasch, thanks, will look at the coming sat promotion.. haha.. Going to see somemore, I havent signed on the dotted line also.. keke.. Still can change if the quotation is really very expensive, the most lose my $800 deposit to change to other things loh.. haha.. Will check with others to compare for quotation in order to fight for lower prices.. Thanks..

yang guo, who is your friend's ID in *****, if you dun want post here, can pm me please... Thanks!:unsure:

Who is going for the renovation fair at expo on sat? Hands-up, can do a mini gathering, have been talking so long in forum, never see each other before.. keke..

Hi Jasch, thanks, will look at the coming sat promotion.. haha.. Going to see somemore, I havent signed on the dotted line also.. keke.. Still can change if the quotation is really very expensive, the most lose my $800 deposit to change to other things loh.. haha.. Will check with others to compare for quotation in order to fight for lower prices.. Thanks..

yang guo, who is your friend's ID in *****, if you dun want post here, can pm me please... Thanks!:unsure:

Who is going for the renovation fair at expo on sat? Hands-up, can do a mini gathering, have been talking so long in forum, never see each other before.. keke..

Hi, that is really a high side!!

Wow, $34K++++ is really alot of money to consider!

Are yours is 5 room unit??

u guys shd try UHome :D

their package are reasonably priced with system 3 air-con

I'm interested in their homo + parquet package at only $14,000

Have their quotation on hand, mine is about $25K (without design/features, without grills, etc...), he called me last week, but have asked him to wait......probably drop him lah.

I'm so excited to came across this thread...really interesting sharing from you guys. I dropped over Sat and Sunday, visited units currently under renovation by Tong Hong, GIM WEE and Homemakers. Here are my views,

Tong Hong

- very contractor-wise feeling given. (nv suggest anything on designs at all)

- Workmanship (Don't really know to tell, but looks normal?)

- The package seems expensive. (18k for standard fittings and fixtures, comes with free Mitsubishi aircons)

- Awaiting quotation

Gim Wee

- The guy gives alot of ideas on ID but seems very young.

- Don't have much workmanship to look at yet.

- Seems expensive as he just pull numbers from the air when I ask agar how much it'll cost. (said 30k+ for 4-room and 40k+ for 5 room, I never even said what kind of carpentry)

Homemakers

- Nv chat with any salesperson as wise

- Workmanship seems similar to Tong Hong.

- Price wise no idea.

Tried to sneak in and "caught red handed" by the security guard yest. Haha...you all should know what happens next. Undertable. =p He even escort us up to a 10th level of the block where my family friend's unit is. (nv climb to our units as it's too high, lifts not operating) He also gave me some valuable info that you guys will be interested in.

26C residents will be getting their keys in mid Oct. As for fellow 26B residents, we'll be getting ours in Nov. I guess new home can be ready by CNY. =) (The other units nv ask, paiseh)

Have you all came across and considered Classic Design, who's shop is opp Tiong Bahru Plaza? Chatted with them twice and overall impression very good. Quotation seems reasonable and said renovation can be done in 1 mth time. Seriously considering them, going to view the units they currently renovating to check on their workmanship soon. Seems no one mentioned abt this ID in Renotalk, hope to receive some feedbacks on it!

Tong Hong N Homemakers already strike off from my list. (not too good encounter with them, Homemakers is bit on the high side...Tong Hong..price not sure, but the guy....better dont say)

Gim Wee...is it they wear something like dark blue and very young guy standing outside blk 25a?

I saw them talking to a couple...he approach me also but told him I will look for him...but I forgot!

Hi, that is really a high side!!

Wow, $34K++++ is really alot of money to consider!

Are yours is 5 room unit??

Nope, ours is 4-room only.. We backside itchy :unsure: go and ask for alot of features, carpentary, but we were also thinking, if we never ask, we dunno how much will it cost, must as well check for everything first, after the quotation is back, we will then decide which ones we dun want and than take away and revised the quotation.. Cos if later stage, during actual renovation, suddenly decide to add the work in and then inccur extras.. By den, even if the cost is higher, we have the old quotes to check whether are they over-charging us.. We prefer to go all out first, then decide what is the final items we really need, want and have budget for it.. This cost will not be the final one.. hehe..

Just to check, notice someone mentioned about electricity wiring, not included in quotation also ah? must source else where issit?

Nope, ours is 4-room only.. We backside itchy :D go and ask for alot of features, carpentary, but we were also thinking, if we never ask, we dunno how much will it cost, must as well check for everything first, after the quotation is back, we will then decide which ones we dun want and than take away and revised the quotation.. Cos if later stage, during actual renovation, suddenly decide to add the work in and then inccur extras.. By den, even if the cost is higher, we have the old quotes to check whether are they over-charging us.. We prefer to go all out first, then decide what is the final items we really need, want and have budget for it.. This cost will not be the final one.. hehe..

Just to check, notice someone mentioned about electricity wiring, not included in quotation also ah? must source else where issit?

Yes, you are right....take their quotation and then strike off those you dont want to bring down the cost.

Initially I also like that, ask him to quote everything, pcie: $37k+:unsure:!:good:

Yes wiriing is not included, plus the cost of labour to install lights, ceiling fans....

Dont forget about haulage and sand....

Yes, you are right....take their quotation and then strike off those you dont want to bring down the cost.

Initially I also like that, ask him to quote everything, pcie: $37k+:unsure:!:good:

Yes wiriing is not included, plus the cost of labour to install lights, ceiling fans....

Dont forget about haulage and sand....

Huh, ok, den must cater this inside our cost estimate also.. Haulage i think included (FOC) in my quote, sand i not so sure.. Before signing anything really must open eyes BIG BIG to check..

Morn fellow neighbours!

Wow so many people are in so early wor :good:

Anyway, can i juz check if 5 room flats have tiles already laid by HDB? or izzit only for 4 room de? Cos me & my FH got the flat thru WIS & we were so excited about it that we didnt even see wat was offered haha

binzz, wat does the exhibition at Expo feature ah? :unsure:

Morn fellow neighbours!

Wow so many people are in so early wor :good:

Anyway, can i juz check if 5 room flats have tiles already laid by HDB? or izzit only for 4 room de? Cos me & my FH got the flat thru WIS & we were so excited about it that we didnt even see wat was offered haha

binzz, wat does the exhibition at Expo feature ah? :unsure:

Hi yun11,

I remember only 4-room and below have ceramic tiles for kitchen and bathroom, but for 5-room, only bathroom have tiles..

The exhibition at Expo is like a fair, with a IDs gathering together at a common place to let us get quotation.. :D Normally, at these fairs, many companies will give some "special" deals, something like comex 2007..

Hi yun11,

I remember only 4-room and below have ceramic tiles for kitchen and bathroom, but for 5-room, only bathroom have tiles..

The exhibition at Expo is like a fair, with a IDs gathering together at a common place to let us get quotation.. :unsure: Normally, at these fairs, many companies will give some "special" deals, something like comex 2007..

Hi binzz,

Thanks for the update on the tiles :good:

Hmm, i went for such an exhibition at Expo sometime in Aug.. wonder if it is the same one..

So u will probably engage ***** as ur ID? cos my sis is considering them.. how do u find them so far? :D

Hi binzz,

Thanks for the update on the tiles !!

Hmm, i went for such an exhibition at Expo sometime in Aug.. wonder if it is the same one..

So u will probably engage ***** as ur ID? cos my sis is considering them.. how do u find them so far? :jawdrop:

Yup, very very likely, infact, we are very pleased that the first design that they came up with, cos not only fully meet our requirements and when we look at it, both hubby and me was thinking, this is it, we like the design and we want it.. So far we can really click with our ID, his mindset and ours is the same, not pushy also, although we placed the deposit ($800 to obtain the 3D drawings and quote and to secure the last exhibition package), but we did not signed on any contract.

Den throughout the whole meeting last Sat, never did he once ask us to sign the contract. This is what we like..

But, the above comments is based on my thoughts and feel, basically, i believe, one must really click with the ID first, only when u feel comfortable, then commit..

By the way, who is your sis ID? pm me?? Thanks..

Huh, ok, den must cater this inside our cost estimate also.. Haulage i think included (FOC) in my quote, sand i not so sure.. Before signing anything really must open eyes BIG BIG to check..

for new estate like ours, supply of sand and haulage must be done by the contractor appointed by HDB and the contractor will charge a flat rate... the name and hp number of the contractor is pasted on the lift lobby of blk 25a... so call the contractor and ask him what is the rate... cos i haven't get keys yet, so haven't called him...

so, dun let ur ID overcharge u for sand and haulage cos ur ID won't be the one supplying the sand and haulage... some dishonest ID will claim that they have to book a lorry or what to carry the sand/debris away to ENV-approved dumping ground or what... it is just plain nonsense... !! :jawdrop::notti:

for new estate like ours, supply of sand and haulage must be done by the contractor appointed by HDB and the contractor will charge a flat rate... the name and hp number of the contractor is pasted on the lift lobby of blk 25a... so call the contractor and ask him what is the rate... cos i haven't get keys yet, so haven't called him...

so, dun let ur ID overcharge u for sand and haulage cos ur ID won't be the one supplying the sand and haulage... some dishonest ID will claim that they have to book a lorry or what to carry the sand/debris away to ENV-approved dumping ground or what... it is just plain nonsense... !! :jawdrop::notti:

Okok.. thanks for the information redbottle, will double check on my quote when i get it, maybe tomoro.. I never see sand, but I remember i see the word haulage leh..

Me also one big sotong one.. hehe..

Edited by binzz

Nope, ours is 4-room only.. We backside itchy :jawdrop: go and ask for alot of features, carpentary, but we were also thinking, if we never ask, we dunno how much will it cost, must as well check for everything first, after the quotation is back, we will then decide which ones we dun want and than take away and revised the quotation.. Cos if later stage, during actual renovation, suddenly decide to add the work in and then inccur extras.. By den, even if the cost is higher, we have the old quotes to check whether are they over-charging us.. We prefer to go all out first, then decide what is the final items we really need, want and have budget for it.. This cost will not be the final one.. hehe..

yes, normally wiring is not included in the quotation bcos the exact cost depends on the no. of points. but your id/contractor will be able to give you the per unit cost e.g. per lighting point how much, per scv point how much, per light installation how much etc.

so, dun let ur ID overcharge u for sand and haulage cos ur ID won't be the one supplying the sand and haulage... some dishonest ID will claim that they have to book a lorry or what to carry the sand/debris away to ENV-approved dumping ground or what... it is just plain nonsense... :notti:8|8|

i actually know how much the apppointed HDB contractor is charging for the uplift of sand bcos i was at one of the show flat and this contractor was complaining that the sand is so expensive. he charged the owner a fixed cost which happens to be lower than what is charged by the appointed HDB contractor. so he was complaining he lugi blah blah blah. !!

Hi ALL,

I heard from one of my neighbour that the showflat @ 6th floor granite tiles crack!!!! Was it true????

Anyone can verify this????

I asked another neighbour and she told me yesterday went there, no such thing happen.

Hi ALL,

I heard from one of my neighbour that the showflat @ 6th floor granite tiles crack!:)! Was it true????

Anyone can verify this????

I asked another neighbour and she told me yesterday went there, no such thing happen.

CRACK ! That's really bad if it is true.

Could the workmanship be bad as they have speed up the renovation so that they can be the 1st showflat.