h4happy

'kai Men' - On The Very First Day Before Renovation

row pineapple or durian is subjective lah.

the important part is ;

pray at centre of the house + all 4 corners = just say EX skew me need to do renovation

then stick the josssticks at the centre of the house, together with whatever offerings you brought.

then go scatter the rice+salt.

Mace which one is correct har. .. :bangwall:

1. open door and scatter the rice+tea to all over the house then pray

or

2.walk in pray first then scatter the rice+tea?

3.if my center of the house is outside the bathroom, so i need to put there or i can jut put in a center of living room?

4.when can i open the window?after pray or before pray?

MANY MANY THANKSSSS

Hihi

I have quite a silly question. The flat that i bought was previously owned by a malay family so do i still go through the same procedure or different ways? Thanks!!!

Hi CutePinkElephant

Open Door Ritual

Prepare salt, rice, incense paper and 大悲咒水

Open the door.

Before step in, please say I am the new owner and will be living here from now onward, whoever that is staying inside please move out now, thanks.

Burn incense paper in a container outside the door before entering.

Now enter the door

Sprinkle rice, salt and 大悲咒水 at all corners of the house.

While sprinkling the water, chant the following:

觀世音菩薩心咒(六字大明咒)

嗡。 嘛 呢 叭 咪 吽

Oh ma ni pei me ohm

When you have finished, open all the window.

After completed burn incense paper on the outside of the house.

Hi Everybody

I am sure everybody will go thru this eagerly.

After reading thru the topics, this is what I find.

Please advise what actual steps need to do.

My finding:

1) Find a auspicious date and time according to your baizi.

2) Only immediate families allow to go in. No outsiders.

3) After that, cannot enter for 3 days. eg) monday open door, wait until thur can open door??)

4) Things to bring:

a) 1 Pineapple (wan li) (to row into your house) say something good word like huat ah!!

b) 5 Red Apples or kum (ji xiang ru yi)

c) Grapes

d) Bananas

e) Fa Gao

f) Charcoal (wrap in red paper)

All put in the middle of the living room.

5) Salt and Rice (to sprinkle all over the house)

6) Burn Joss Stick and burn incense paper (middle of the house): for buddhist

My questions:

1) Is the above correct?

2) After 3 days, we open the door again and can bring all the fruits back home?

3) item 6 need to have 2 red wax candles?

4) Need to pray outside the main door?

Thanks everybody!!

HAPPY

i have a similar question as smartbuy. i not so superstition, i am chinese not buddhist, taoism or christian. i know nothing about this procedure.

do you think it is better to do this procedure. does this procedure applicable to resales flat if no much renovo work done, just painting and cleaning.

can immediate families is brother, sister, sister hushand?

hi h4happy, can you write actual step, what can what can't.

Hello DEAN

It really depends on individual.

Just like my mum's new house, we have the alter table, we order and shift the alter table in BUT put it in such a way that it is no alignment.

On the good day, bring in our guan yin but before reaching the main door, I think need to pray the sky then open the door, move in backwards with your face and you carry guan yin facing outward.

Move in slowly in case you trip lah. Then shift the alter table nicely and put the GuanYin for 3 days (lock of door for 3 days).

If you have ancestors tablet, after 3 days, bring it in.

Sound silly? I dont know. Just follow from advise. No harm lah.

i have a similar question as smartbuy. i not so superstition, i am chinese not buddhist, taoism or christian. i know nothing about this procedure.

do you think it is better to do this procedure. does this procedure applicable to resales flat if no much renovo work done, just painting and cleaning.

can immediate families is brother, sister, sister hushand?

hi h4happy, can you write actual step, what can what can't.

Hello DEAN

For me, I will choose a good date and time.

Then bring fruits and joss sticks, etc.. (as mentioned in pt 1)...

When turning the keys, make sure you say good good things.

Also make sure no outsiders follow you in.

You as the 1st owners go in, of course if your parents or siblings follow, it is ok. But no strangers.

When open the door and say good things liao, do not step inside first, roll a pineapple into your living room and shout HUAT ah!!!

Then go in splinking salts, beans and rices all over the places by saying you are the owners, plse go away, also say good things too.

hapy

what the 1st step need to do? example after you got keys. is it need to praying...

rice with salt or rice with green beans or both can?

just saw rice with green beans on another website, so am curious about it...

not the very superstitious but just wanna know what to do :D

rice with salt or rice with green beans or both can?

just saw rice with green beans on another website, so am curious about it...

not the very superstitious but just wanna know what to do :D

I still remember the first time when I do it.....want to do or don't want to do....often in a dilemma. Do, sometimes make me look funny!! Don't do, may miss out the good things.

Anyway, I think you'll feel safer to follow those advice from in-laws and relatives.

Hi Everybody

I am sure everybody will go thru this eagerly.

After reading thru the topics, this is what I find.

Please advise what actual steps need to do.

My finding:

1) Find a auspicious date and time according to your baizi.

2) Only immediate families allow to go in. No outsiders.

3) After that, cannot enter for 3 days. eg) monday open door, wait until thur can open door??)

4) Things to bring:

a) 1 Pineapple (wan li) (to row into your house) say something good word like huat ah!!

b) 5 Red Apples or kum (ji xiang ru yi)

c) Grapes

d) Bananas

e) Fa Gao

f) Charcoal (wrap in red paper)

All put in the middle of the living room.

5) Salt and Rice (to sprinkle all over the house)

6) Burn Joss Stick and burn incense paper (middle of the house): for buddhist

My questions:

1) Is the above correct?

2) After 3 days, we open the door again and can bring all the fruits back home?

3) item 6 need to have 2 red wax candles?

4) Need to pray outside the main door?

Thanks everybody!!

HAPPY

Any idea where to get Fa Gao??? Thanks!

Hmm, I think to do or dont do depends on individual

If dont do.. at night cannot sleep.. worry this and that.. than best to do it even if you think its silly

Can anyone advise pls..

Pineapple after praying how ar?

Cos my FS Master told us to leave it in the new house till it 'huat'.

Now if 'huat' liao, cannot eat, den i bring home and throw? or put under a tree downstairs??

Hi CutePinkElephant

Open Door Ritual

Prepare salt, rice, incense paper and 大悲咒水

Open the door.

Before step in, please say I am the new owner and will be living here from now onward, whoever that is staying inside please move out now, thanks.

Burn incense paper in a container outside the door before entering.

Now enter the door

Sprinkle rice, salt and 大悲咒水 at all corners of the house.

While sprinkling the water, chant the following:

觀世音菩薩心咒(六字大明咒)

嗡。 嘛 呢 叭 咪 吽

Oh ma ni pei me ohm

When you have finished, open all the window.

After completed burn incense paper on the outside of the house.

Let say you have burn incense paper outside door before entering.

When entering the house, put 5 apple, 5 orange, grapes, 2 x fa gao with red dot, bananas, 2 x pineapple first before sprinkle rice, salt or after sprinkle rice mix with salt?

can i do open door if i do reno end or year. basically house will vacant till oct-dec 09

Let say you have burn incense paper outside door before entering.

When entering the house, put 5 apple, 5 orange, grapes, 2 x fa gao with red dot, bananas, 2 x pineapple first before sprinkle rice, salt or after sprinkle rice mix with salt?

can i do open door if i do reno end or year. basically house will vacant till oct-dec 09

Do you know why you are doing the offering ? The fruit is offer before you enter the house.

The offering is for those ( spirit or whatever ) who might have occupied the house, now that you have offer fruits + burning of incense paper, so they should enjoy the good meal, accept the good deed and leave.

Because once you enter the hosue & spinkle 大悲咒水, it will be very painful for them.

After spinkle 大悲咒水, you can proceed to sprinkle the salt or rice in any sequence you want.

Once you open the door, the reno can do anytime after that.