HappyAng

Renovation Journey For Our Em @ B.batok

Today went on-site visit with ID to take measurement. Seller had removed the ceiling light and ceiling fan in the living room, ceiling light in the dinning area and even instant heater in level one toilet. Wah Lau eh.. By right, they cannot removed those fixtures in the unit lor.. Since we are going to major overhaul, so we dun mind seller removed those item.. But really wanna remove, at least must also courtesy inform us first mah.. Hmm.. wondering w/o ceiling lights and fan, they still can watch TV at nite in the living area meh? 8| Even instant heater also wanna remove! Boh Way Kong.. :bow:

Here comes the bad news.. Sian.. Too many CRACKS line found on the marble flooring! Even notice some marble with patch hole! :furious:

Wah.. Sibeh POWER lor.. No wonder so many carpets in living and dining area. :jawdrop:

Discuss with my wifey and ID, If replace the crack marble, estimate 20-25% of the flooring.. Also neither here nor there (some existing old marble, some new marble, colour may not match) Bopian lor.. Gonna hack off the entire marble flooring and replace with new homogeneous tile lor.. No $ for marble flooring.. :help:

Oh your ID hasn't been given your design brief? Cos for me/us when we did our ID sourcing we went to them with the same brief and told them our key concerns (kitchen too dark, staircase too dark, wanna retain balcony space, etc), and then evaluated the designs/quotes based on how well our brief was adhered to and how well the 'problems' were addressed.

Anyway you are so lucky to be able to retain your marble flooring.

adidaem, you say too fast liao. No more marble flooring for us le.. :~

Edited by HappyAng

My renovation works:

Masonry and Demolition work:

inclusive of:

- hack off existing floor tiles and wall tiles for whole unit

- supply and lay homogeneous floor tiles with skirting for living, dining, kitchen, balcony, two common toilets and master toilet

- supply and lay homogeneous wall tiles for kitchen, two common toilets and master toilet

- hack off existing wall for kitchen and master toilet

- waterproofing membrane for kitchen, three toilets

- construct walls for utility room (inclusive of installation and supply of door and door frame)

- construct wall between master and common toilet

- construct open shelving and settee for master toilet

- construct open shelving for common toilet (level two)

Custom-make carpentry work:

- Kitchen cabinet (33ft) with internal polygon and soft closing

- Granite top (17ft) for kitchen cabinet

- Breakfast counter (5ft) with soft closing and granite top

- Sliding wardrobe (8.5ft) with internal polygon for master bedroom

- Casement wardrobe (8.5ft each) with internal polygon for both common bedroom

- Dressing table for master bedroom(3ft)

- Suspended vanity with granite top (3.5ft) for master toilet and (2.5ft) for common toilet

- TV console with study table (8ft) for master bedroom

- TV console (8ft) for living room

- Shoe rack with settee (11 ft)

- Altar (3ft)

- storage with shelving under stairs area

Staircase:

- removed existing handrail

- installed 12mm laminated tempered glass with wood handrail

- stained existing parquet steps

Glass works:

- tempered frosted glass door for three toilets

- tempered clear glass shower screen for master and common toilet (level two)

- tempered glass sliding door for kitchen entrance

- sprayed tempered glass backing for kitchen

Partition and ceiling works:

- supply and install L-box, false ceiling for living, dining, balcony and passage way (level two)

- false ceiling with cove light box for three bedrooms

- box up sewage pipe for three toilets and balcony

- partition wall near breakfast counter

- partition wall board with plywood for TV feature wall

Plumbing works (owner supply fitting):

- supply and install stainless steel piping for kitchen and three toilets

- shower mixers for master and common toilet (level two)

- install toilet bowl, mini spray, basin and taps for three toilets

- central heater for level two and instant heater for level one

- inlet / outlet pipe for kitchen and washing machine

- kitchen sink and tap

Others:

- Laminated flooring with skirting for level two passage way and three bedrooms

- partial plastering works

- whole house electrical point

- whole house aluminium sliding windows with aluminium grilles

- whole house painting

- supply and install main gate

- haulage fee and acid wash cleaning (x2)

- three year warranty

Total cost: $80,000

Edited by HappyAng

Will it be completed before CNY?

ID will get all permit ready and start hacking in mid Jan 2013. Tiler can have more time to do up my flooring and wall. Will also making use of the CNY break, allowing the cement screed on 2nd level floor and those constructed wall to dry up totally, before the installation of laminate flooring. Carpentry, electrical and plumping work will starts after CNY.

Target to complete by early Apr 2013. :dancingqueen:

ID will get all permit ready and start hacking in mid Jan 2013. Tiler can have more time to do up my flooring and wall. Will also making use of the CNY break, allowing the cement screed on 2nd level floor and those constructed wall to dry up totally, before the installation of laminate flooring. Carpentry, electrical and plumping work will starts after CNY.

Target to complete by early Apr 2013. :dancingqueen:

Sounds like we'll both be starting and completing around the same time, if all goes well! :)

Looking forward to pictures!

Sounds like we'll both be starting and completing around the same time, if all goes well! :)

Looking forward to pictures!

Sure. Will post some picture when the 3D drawing is ready.. :yamseng:

Wish you a wonderful experience in your renovation. :dancingqueen:

3D Drawing

3Dbreakfastcounter_1.jpg

Breakfast counter,

any ideas to improve on the design?

3DKitchenCabinet.jpg

Kitchen,

thinking of changing the bottom cabinet to light grey colour (same colour as the top cabinet)

3DDining.jpg

Dining Area,

behind is the shoe cabinet with settee

3DLiving_1.jpg

Living area,

don't like the design of the partition. Any recommendation?

Should have a feature wall, but was not shown in the drawing.

Hi myrick88, my renovation is planned to start on 2nd week on Jan. Will posted more photo when we collect the keys next week.. :sport-smiley-004:

By the way, have u started your renovation yet?

Not yet... Still waiting for fs report. It will take about 3 weeks for this. I worry there might be many changed and thus ask my I'D to stop the planning work first till report is out to avoid wasted work.

Will only collect keys after CNY as owner ask for one month extension.

Not yet... Still waiting for fs report. It will take about 3 weeks for this. I worry there might be many changed and thus ask my I'D to stop the planning work first till report is out to avoid wasted work.

Will only collect keys after CNY as owner ask for one month extension.

U have started a T-blog? By the way, what type of flat you purchased?

Yesterday went EXPO buy cookie and chocolate, to give our neighbours and inform them of our renovation work (planned to start on 2nd week of Jan).

Then wifey and I went HOME Planner to look see look see, end up we bought Simmons Arlington Plush (Queen size mattress) and Lison Divan set. Salesperson throw-in Simmons Mattress Pad (x2) and Simmons Deepsleep Pillow (x4) for us. Schedule to deliver in end Apr 2013. We also bought Akemi bed sheet (650 thread count).

Looking forward to get our keys next week.. :dancingqueen: