Allo

Greycat & Brownmse New Hme

just finished drooling at ur house.. :jawdrop:

hehe like ur blog, so many nice pictures with alot of interesting story telling

Thank u Yangguo, U have a beautiful home too! :jawdrop:

Me hafnt been updating my blog cuz lazy....so I go to other ppl blog n di-siao-siao....ehhehe :jawdrop::curse:

hi Greycat,

Saw the house nicely done up, can share how the workmanship & services of East Pine Builders?

Hihi Popeye gal...ur the 1st person to ask me abt them on RenoT....did some1 intro them to u too?

I got them as referred by my fren (her hse balinese theme, very well done :) ). Conclusion---will still do my next hse with him la :) Havent really commented on their scvc before in RenoT, let me start writing my story on a boring Monday morn:

My contractor has his own workers n carpentry I believe is his own factory. But some stuff wld be done by his sub-con (eg electrical works & plumbing works). Some of his sub-con work not very high-standard but my contractor solves the problem for me by doing it himself so end of day, I still get what I want. Eg, his plumber sent a young boy who didnt know how to install things properly so my contractor 8| them n do himself with the bangla. Electrical guy was ok only I find. But other things like finishing of painting, carpentry was good la. And I say dat becuz I have seen before bad finishings for my frens' hses.

He is also very knowledgible abt pdts n can explain why certain reno works shd b done in that way for better quality. Our common ground was believing in quality products. Even so, he doesnt push us to do fanciful designs n gives suggestions for practicality. Eg, we change our glassdoor handles frm T-shape bars to rounded ones at his suggestions so it wont b dangerous for kids in future n can hang things oso. Along the way, he gives practical advice la...

What I like abt them is dat the quotes r very transparent n communication is easy becuz he speaks english (probably the only church-going English-speaking contractor I know of). I did a comparison with 2 other contractors as well but both didnt give me good vibe so I ended up with East Pine. The quote is reasonable when i did my comparison. Something extra---they have drawings oso, was quite shocked when my contractor show me the 3D drawings he got his in-hse designer to do for him. I always thot contractors didnt have drawings, guess the line has been blurred nowadays.

Scheduling---He actually set up a nice schedule for me when I signed on. However, due to me n hubby making changes along the way n cldnt agree on some stuff, he cldnt start his scheduling on time. In the end, we kinda slowed down the process due to our indecisiveness as he had to coordinate the different workers coming in to do different reno works. Moral of the story---if u sign with them, add 2 weeks extra to ur schedule.

Cost---After looking thrgh the contract, I changed the pymt terms as alota frens n relatives told us not to pay too much in advance. Hence, I really broke up the pymt terms such dat we were oni paying him enuff to start the next phase of renos (like 10--30% eachtime). He was very accomodating n agreed w/o question. Frm what I see, they dont haf any cashflow problems at all as he never once chased me for any payments. In fact, I paid my last pymt quite late after he finished doing the last defects. It's a comfort factor for new home owners cuz u feel safe knowing dat u dunt haf to be afraid they run away wif ur $$... :(

To my knowledge, he does alota private hse n shops oso so he's very packed n can be holding 9-10 projects at any time, mostly frm referral biz. But he does follow-up even though the final stage of defects repairing can be slow if he's busy but he will come back n do it. He brings a bangla on a Saturday n will spend whole day painting n touching up and still sends us X'mas cards.... :) If ur gonna start ur renos, after CNY is the best time cuz this is the time when they r least packed. After dat, towards yr-end, they will have many projects on hand liao....

Im not sure we r talking abt the same contractor as Im not sure if he has any partners.....can pm the name of ur contractor? Hee.... :jawdrop::jawdrop:

Thank u Yangguo....it's actually at Mkt Street carpark. The oni shot taken there as we didnt apply for permit n after taking 1 foto, we got discovered by the security guard who chased us out... :P

So ur wifey must be Xiao-long-nu.....ehehehhe :jawdrop::curse::P

Thank u Yangguo....it's actually at Mkt Street carpark. The oni shot taken there as we didnt apply for permit n after taking 1 foto, we got discovered by the security guard who chased us out... :P

So ur wifey must be Xiao-long-nu.....ehehehhe :dancingqueen: !! !!

huh, go mkt street carpark take photo also must apply for permit? my photoshoot with my xiaolongnu is coming soon leh..i thought of gg to "ur territory (mkt street)" to take this nice photo

eh how u know my wife is xiao-long-nu ah? so clever :dunno:

Hehhee.....Im not surprised if u have a Big-bird at home as a pet (Shen-Diao).... :dribble::notti:

Yup, thk its $500 to go into dat carpark for shoot I thk, siao rite? Its my fotographer's experimental shot la...almost my whole shoot is cbd area...

Good luck for ur shoot! :P

Harlow all, Happy Chinese New Year!!! :yamseng::yamseng:

Havent been updating my blog for sometime as no new updates....just some pictures nw taken over CNY celebration period, to keep this blog afloat.... :P

Picture 1---My new tower fan, bght at Taka best denki with taka vouchers.....

As we dint install aircon and we been having gatherings at our new place, dis additional fan realli helps.... :D

Feb11003.jpg

Bought my rabbit to my new place before CNY to stay for a week. More like a bootcamp for him as nobody sayangs hims here like my mom. In the end, he got rather upset n started kicking his poops out of the cage to protest...grrr.... 8|8|

Labbit checking out his new turf....

Feb11012.jpg

His cute butt :P

Feb11013.jpg

Going back to his cage...

Feb11015.jpg

For Cantona-bro...thanks to ur gai-siao, I got this mahjong set. Its cream-beige color (shiny-reflectv)...

Feb11018.jpg

The professional casino chips.... :notti::notti:

Feb11019.jpg

The mahjong table...I like best.... :(

Feb11026.jpg

Next comes the pictures of sme of our CNY decors....didnt realli plan on decors initially, but as CNY got nearer, we started to panic n bght sme stuff n started to invite our frens, relatives, colleagues over....

In the end, our hse was fully utilised frm 2nd day onwards with back-to-back gatherings n it was really fun! :D

The golden rat, inside is mini-mandarin oranges....

Feb11031.jpg

Gourd n pumpkin on the TV console

Feb11032.jpg

Vase frm Ikea, lucky plant frm nursery in Jurong West, very near our hme.....

Feb11033.jpg

The lucky SUAN--hanging in front of my stove, kindly provided by my MIL....

Feb11034.jpg

My full fridge, full of food to last us for 3 days of CNY cooking.....say small not small, say big not big enuff....

Feb11041.jpg

Picture of my HHS rack, contact kindly recommended by Ms Koikoi....:)

Feb11043.jpg

Sme new additon to my common toilet. As we do our laundry washing in this toilet, there r sme unsightly pails n stuff inside. Hence we decided to buy a shower curtain to hide it....oni bght dis shower curtain on CNY-eve at NTUC...

Feb11045.jpg

Still can see abit of the rain shower frm the top...

Feb11046.jpg

Toilet seat cover frm MUJI in HK....(psssst....they r slightly cheaper...hehe)

Feb11048.jpg

Vain attempt to turn my Xmas reindeer into CNY-lu....sigh....

Feb11050.jpg

One of the many pairs of wedding bears ard the hse....this set on my sound system....

Feb11052.jpg

Pillow cases for CNY frm HK. Saw them in chinatown gog for cheapcheap oso....

Feb11053.jpg

Tissue box cover bght at chinatown...

Feb11054.jpg

My fengshui plant....nw with alota CNY dingding-dangdang hanging....

Feb11035.jpg

Many many CNY cookies, got self-order, got gifts oso....

Table is on loan frm PIL hse, thk it can b bght at Carrefour, v gd size to use. When not in use, can fold n keep in HHS. Tablecloth frm shop in honglim...

Feb11029.jpg

My show cabinet display....this is what u see when 1st step into the hse... :)

Feb11039.jpg

Thats all folks...catch up again in the morning....I need to sleep now...

Good morning all! :D

Been receiving sme enquiries abt East Pine & curtains contact, thot I wld just post their name n contact no here....Pls dont prank call them la, they're realli nice ppl, hehe :notti::notti:

Just extremely busy pattern... !!

Can speak engrish type, no worries....

If u need a quote for curtains, can call Ms Sharon @ 90229033

If u want to meet my contractor, he's George frm East Pine, contact @ 90280051.

(U may wan to avoid calling him on Sunday, he gooes to church I think.... :D )

Both r not related la, just separate contacts I got frm frens n family....

You can say ur referred by the grey-color hse frm Jurong West st 65, hehe :yamseng::yamseng:

Cheers :(

Harlow apple-jie...Happy CNY!:):yamseng:

Bunny can carry but he dont like it, will kick me after a while la. I normally cradle him like a baby, he has very soft fur :notti:

Its back-breaking work to clean a white hse I realise, esp the homo tiles can see every strand of hair...

Btw, thk u were the one who say can use veg oil to protect kitchen stainless steel backing rite? I tried it yest, very gd! :good:

same to you, Gong Xi Fa Cai

kekeke, your bunny same as my girl, carry carry will start to demand to be let go :)

think it's the colour of the tiles we choose, the lighter the colour the easier dirt can be seen :yamseng:

the veg oil i read from another thread, but can't remember who post it liao

i also find it very good, think got to stock up on veg oil liao :notti:

Hubby BrownMse see me use veg-oil...he Shake head as I "Yi Du Gong Du"....ahahaha :)

Nw the oni prob is the previous watermarks left on the backing haf to find a way to remove....

hee.. ur labbit like soft toy leh.. so cute!:bangwall::(

Harlow xlan....Happy CNY!!!

Wah...everyone's back at RenoT tdy.... :(

He cute to see oni, not cute to hold....kena labbit kick veli pain wan.. :~

Dis pic is after grooming, I shd haf taken a before picture where he lookd like LIONKING....ahahaha !!

Harlow skywolf....

Hee, my labbit got a little platform in his cage for him to chillout. :lol: Labbit poo is like M&M, dry very fast wan n smallsmall. I clean the homo tiles shiny b4 gg to sleep. Imagine my horror when I wake up to see poo 1m far away frm cage n lazy HB playing nintendo wii but ignoring my labbit... :lol: He protest lor...