Good day to all!! After reading so many ppl reno blog, I decided to pen down mine too. Hoping everyone can contribute your comments along the way.

Reno Timeline (not in the rush so slow and steady):

- From now to end Apr, hunt, source and finalise ID (DONE)

- May, material selection (DONE)

> Kitchen 3D design out liao

- Pre-reno preparation, 5 June 2010

> Dismantle Sys-2 A/C, to be re-use (DONE)

> Get foreign worker to "empty" house (DONE)

> Dump as many old stuff as possible (DONE)

- 9 June 2010, Commence Reno!!

- Jul, 3rd week, diy electric wiring (DONE)

- Jul, 4th week, up L-box (DONE)

- Aug, 1st week, painting work and Chemical wash (DONE)

> diy ceiling fan installation (DONE)

> downlight installation (DONE)

- Aug, 2nd and 3rd week Piping and Ceiling Lights....

> Walk-in wardrobe pole system (DONE)

> All lights (DONE)

> Piping (DONE)

> Tempered glass @ kitchen & toilet (DONE)

> Curtain Pole (DONE)

- Aug, 4th week Cabinets, doors and touch up

> Shoe Cabinet (DONE)

> Kitchen Cabinet (DONE)

> Doors work (DONE)

- Sept, 1st week handover (DONE)

- Sept, 2nd & 3rd week home furnitures, appliances deliveries...(DONE)

- Sept, anytime MOVE HSE!!(DONE)

- Oct, Mini Hse Warming.. (DONE)

Confirmed ID...

Hoe Aik Reno Construction - $33K

Shortlisted ID...

1) Urban Design - $33K (Lost the deal bcos inconsistent quotation items and pricing. Cannot imagine after reno, actual things is different from quotation)

> Pre-sale - 8/10

> Ideas - 7/10

> Consistence - 6/10

> Onsite Survey - 5/10

> Price - 7/10

= Total - 33/50

2) Hoe Aik Reno Construction - $33K (Consistent quotation and very sincere pre-sale)

> Pre-sale - 7/10

> Ideas - 8/10

> Consistence - 9/10

> Onsite Survey - 10/10

> Price - 7/10

= Total - 41/50

KIV-ed ID...

1) Hwa Li - $30K (bochap attitude, no itemised quote and some hidden cost)

2) Meng Design - $29K (too many hidden cost)

3) Décor Mark Design - $40k (Crazy!! Charged me $15k for Homo tiles for the whole hse)

4) Inspiration Living - $31K (No sinks, no wc, no full glass silding door)

5) Contractor (1) - $44k (Contractor only leh)

6) Contractor (2) - Didn't arrange

7) ossify (Part-Time ID) - Sorry bro, some changes in my reno plan

Personally, I have condemn all ID @ IMM, too ya ya. Don't even bother to follow-up with me and has been 5mths after approaching them. Cannot imagine their after sales service.

For readers who does not have an account, pls CLICK HERE to have full view... =)

Type: 4A @ Jurong West

Floor Area: 107 sqm

Owner since: 11 Jun 2007

Empty Hse: 05 Jun 2010

Reno Start: 09 Jun 2010

DIY Electricity: 10 Jul 2010

Reno End & Handover: 09 Sept 2010

ID: Hoe Aik Concept @ Clementi

Air-Con: Siat Air Cool Engineering

Estimated $$ spent: $60K++ (inclusive of Electricial Applicances, Furnitures, Houseware, Toiletware, DIY stuff and blar blar blar)

(Updated on 06 Oct 10)

Edited by sunnytan31

Floorplan originally from HDB

Frm%20HDB.JPG

Current Floorplan (Previous Owner Design)

Original.JPG

- MBR toilet door relocated

- Storeroom was hacked away

My desired Floorplan

My%20Design.JPG

- Relocate back MBR Toilet door

- Hack and construct back store space for walk-in wardrobe

Some Comments received

- Meng Design commented that shower screen in MBR toilet could be too narrow

> Hoe Ail Reno Construction had comfirmed shower screen is perfect for my mbr toilet

- Urban Design recommends to build cabinet with DOORS in my walk-in wardrobe

- Deco Mark suggests to build false wall for walk-in wardrobe instead of soild wall

- Many folks saw my design, immediately qns posted is "You siao arh! 2 ceiling fan in your LR, r u sure?" I replied, YES! =)

Edited by sunnytan31

Frm%20HDB.JPG

Original.JPG

My desired Floorplan

My%20Design.JPG

Some Comments received

- Deco Mark suggests to build false wall for walk-in wardrobe instead of soild wall

- Many folks saw my design, immediately qns posted is "You siao arh! 2 ceiling fan in your LR, r u sure?" I replied, YES! =)

Welcome to T-blog...and congrats on getting your new unit...I am staying in JW too... 9xx the old blocks near the stadium...where is your unit?

I see that you also have a small balcony that I covered to store-room.

Feel free to checkout my t-blog... :)

Welcome to T-blog...and congrats on getting your new unit...I am staying in JW too... 9xx the old blocks near the stadium...where is your unit?

I see that you also have a small balcony that I covered to store-room.

Feel free to checkout my t-blog... :)

Hi dannywmp, thx of the warm welcome. I had the same idea too, to convert the mini balcony to become storeroom. My blk is near City Havest Church and I guess ur block design and my block design is similar. =)

Frm%20HDB.JPG

Original.JPG

My desired Floorplan

My%20Design.JPG

Some Comments received

Welcome, Sunny!!! hv a smooth reno journey....

i oso staying in JW...65series...oso near stadium there.... :D

welcome and congratz !

we had 2 ceiling fan in our LR too , really not bad!

Hi Velv, appreciate if u can show a photo of ur LR w/ 2 fans. Haha, my wife keep nego with on the fan.

Hi dannywmp, thx of the warm welcome. I had the same idea too, to convert the mini balcony to become storeroom. My blk is near City Havest Church and I guess ur block design and my block design is similar. =)

Ya...so we are very near...next time can go kopi shop for kopi liao... :P

I think the floor area is about the same but the layout different...my kitchen is behind and yours is at the entrance...my living room is L-shape and yours square. I think the MBR toilet same...equally small.especally the shower area...the width for my shower screen is less then 780mm...

Having 2 fan in the living room is Ok, I also have 2...but one in the main hall and 1 in relax corner...

My Desired Floorplan - V2

My%20Design%20V2.JPG

- Kitchen wall hacked

- Build a full height shelf/cabinet with full glass sliding door to divide Wet and Dry Kitchen

My Desired Floorplan - V3

My%20Design%20V3.JPG

- Kitchen Sink flushed with Stove, to have more walking space cum laundry area

- Main lights change to Circular light for much much lower maintence cost

> 1 x 40W circular ultra bright cost $8

> 1 x 36W energy saving light cost $26 ( somemore 2 pcs)

> Lifespan, actual facts is the same ++--2yrs

Isn't your sink too close to your stove?

Usually ppl avoid that due to FS ? Though each for his own.

Or, even in practically, if your sink is too near to the stove, it hinders the cooking and cleaning.

Isn't your sink too close to your stove?

Usually ppl avoid that due to FS ? Though each for his own.

Or, even in practically, if your sink is too near to the stove, it hinders the cooking and cleaning.

Hmmm... I think you are right. Good comment. Thanks, let me go crack my head somemore.

Or do u have any recommendation? Bcos my concern now is lack of space for dish holder.

Edited by sunnytan31

:jawdrop: so many fan!?u will have a hard time cleaning them.Do u have maid? :P

Eh.. Nope. Actually ceiling fan very easy to clean one, moreover I'm getting those basic type. Trained during my NS BMT time. =D

Edited by sunnytan31

My Design V4

My%20Design%20V4.JPG

Kitchen and dinning layout, I'm still undecisive.

- Sink and stove arrangement

- worry not enuff storage space

Bedroom 1 vs Bedroom 2 design, also undecisive

- BR 1 looks simple

- BR 2 looks modern but worry abit complicated

Can anyone give me some advice and suggestion?

My Design V4

My%20Design%20V4.JPG

Kitchen and dinning layout, I'm still undecisive.

- Sink and stove arrangement

- worry not enuff storage space

Bedroom 1 vs Bedroom 2 design, also undecisive

- BR 1 looks simple

- BR 2 looks modern but worry abit complicated

Can anyone give me some advice and suggestion?

Sink and stove - Look ok to me but personally I dun like cooking with my back facing the kitchen door... cause if got someone come in the kitchen I also may not know... but its not a bit issue.

Washing Machine - Is your washing machine (w/m) in the common bathroom?? Look funny le cause long run maybe will spoil cause of the moist in the bathroom.. do consider another place to put the w/s if you can.

Lights in the living room - You dun need light above your tv... can take out 2 of the light just above the tv. Cause lights just above the tv will reflect on the tv sometime hard to see the tv show. I dun have lights above my tv unit so always look cozy at the tv area.

Lights in the bed room - I only have 1 light in the ceiling... maybe you want to consider again the amount of light you have in the bedroom. For my MBR I have beside lamp. If you are not going to read in the room then you do not need so much lighting.

Ceiling Fan in bed room - Erms... if you believe in FS its not good sleeping under a fan... its like cutting you like that... But for me I dun like sleeping under a fan cause feel very pressure like something is pressed on you.