familyof4

Parents & Parents To Be

Roflmaoxz

Congrates!!!! U must be very excited. :D How's the service at KKH? Some pple say it's good, some say no good. I would like to go to KKH in future, but very confused with the conflicting comments that I got from others. :P

Zc31

Hehe, ya, dun be too excited, if not fall further. I last mth was sooo convinced that I'm pregs.. In the end.. cry cry cry. hahaha. This mth, just bochap, if yes then YEAH! if no, yay also, cuz can have more fun next mth. hahaha :P

PMS symptoms like cramps or light bleeding (pinkish in colour) for a couple of days. Go read up about implantation bleeding or early pregnancy bleeding to learn more. :) *crossing fingers for u!*

i wish you all the best too!

Roflmaoxz

Congrates!!!! U must be very excited. :D How's the service at KKH? Some pple say it's good, some say no good. I would like to go to KKH in future, but very confused with the conflicting comments that I got from others. :P

Sister Angel81, If I were to answer you seriously in question, I will seriously advise you to consider your prenatal and delivery care elsewhere. Taking up a prenatal care with KKH is really depends on your luck with the gynae. Unless you have some doctors in mind. (intro by people here or from singaporemotherhood)

I dun really want to elaborate further, as you might have heard "something" from others. I have witnessed much worst (twice) but I can't reveal it here as it maybe sensitive.

My 2 sisters' nephews were delivered in mount alvernia in march 09. From what I observed, the nurses and the welfare officers are very friendly with good temper. I maybe consider letting my wife to deliver in mount alvernia, as she's just starting her 2nd trimester.

How's Thomson Medical Centre? Another good choice?

Sister Angel81, If I were to answer you seriously in question, I will seriously advise you to consider your prenatal and delivery care elsewhere. Taking up a prenatal care with KKH is really depends on your luck with the gynae. Unless you have some doctors in mind. (intro by people here or from singaporemotherhood)

I dun really want to elaborate further, as you might have heard "something" from others. I have witnessed much worst (twice) but I can't reveal it here as it maybe sensitive.

My 2 sisters' nephews were delivered in mount alvernia in march 09. From what I observed, the nurses and the welfare officers are very friendly with good temper. I maybe consider letting my wife to deliver in mount alvernia, as she's just starting her 2nd trimester.

Thanks for the advice! :D

Well, I did get a recommendation from a colleague of mine for the gynae. But the bad stories I heard were more about the nurses and other staff. I would like to go to KKH cuz that was where I was born. But it's not worth it if I have to pay and accept bad service.

I've also heard good stories/comments about Mt A and TMC. But private hospitals seem more x leh. Any docs to recommend there btw?

From my research MAH and TMC are about the 2 most partonized by mums and often thumbs up for value for $.

i will not advise KKH.

Angel, I love MAH for the nurses support for breastfeeding. My friends who went TMC said it was good there too! :) Anyway my gyane in private practice...so I get to choose the hospital i prefer :)

My 2 sons were delivered in Gleneagles.

Must say service there is pretty good and the nurses are nice and friendly. There are alot of experienced senior sisters who've been there for a long time and have very 'motherly' qualities. The pediatricians normally would come from the Singapore Baby and Child Clinic, and one of the best Pediatricians you can look out for is Dr Yip Yeng Yoong, who's very experienced, particularly with early delivery and ICU cases. Outside of delivery, even when my younger son had an eye surgery there when he was just below a year old last late year, the care rendered by the nurses was excellent.

Cost-wise, I guess it is slightly higher than KKH, but not by a humungous bit, but I think its worth the extra money.

As for MAH, my elder sister delivered her 2 sons there and has pretty good feedback for the excellent nursing care rendered. Same as Gleneagles, there are alot of older and experienced midwives/sisters who take good care of the little ones with a heart. Cost-wise is also not too high from KKH.

TMC is not too bad, my sister-in-law delivered there, but I heard that depending on which gynae and the package you undertake, the cost is quite high. Personally, I'm not really a fan of TMC - Very difficult parking and also the hospital is somewhat 'dark'.

Edited by adrian_john

Roflmaoxz

Zc31

Hehe, ya, dun be too excited, if not fall further. I last mth was sooo convinced that I'm pregs.. In the end.. cry cry cry. hahaha. This mth, just bochap, if yes then YEAH! if no, yay also, cuz can have more fun next mth. hahaha :P

PMS symptoms like cramps or light bleeding (pinkish in colour) for a couple of days. Go read up about implantation bleeding or early pregnancy bleeding to learn more. :) *crossing fingers for u!*

Hug, Angel81! Jia You ok?

When me kanna my 2nd child, I had 'period' as usual leh. Just that the discharge was brownish red.

I thought it should not be possible (tt I was pregnant) but who knew :P

Now me hv 1 boy (going t b 6 yr old) & 1 gal (just turned 2 last March)

cannot deny tt pregnancy is a mystical & fanstatic journey. Think my ah-lao oso agrees :)

But think we'd stop at 2 lah. else all would need to eat grass liao :D

my boy is delivered in Raffles Hospital & gal in TMC

adrian john,

yours normal delviery at Glen E at which year ah?

me too will be in Glen in end aug 09...

i keep worrying as the hospital seems so old..

Edited by LadyLuck

adrian john,

yours normal delviery at Glen E at which year ah?

me too will be in Glen in end aug 09...

i keep worrying as the hospital seems so old..

Hi LadyLuck,

My sons were normal delivery in Sept 2005 and Oct 2007. My younger son was warded for his eye surgery last year around Sept/Oct. Well, the hospital may be 'old' but it sure doesn't feel like it sometimes. Good news for hubbies, usually the labour ward delivery suite has a TV with a nice recliner chair and a TV with cable channels. :) Good way to pass time.

BTW, who's your gynae?

agreed but I think if one pays more for the specialist in KKH then treatment would be very different otherwise its whoever on duty (i.e houseman?) delivers for u when u're due to pop as u're not attached to a specific gynae.

Mount Alvernia has got very caring and patience nurses. All my 3 rascals were born there so I know. heeee.....

I think TMC also good but it was never my choice as I already set my mind on Mount Alvernia the moment I got pregnant.

From my research MAH and TMC are about the 2 most partonized by mums and often thumbs up for value for $.

Yup!

Angel, I love MAH for the nurses support for breastfeeding. My friends who went TMC said it was good there too! :) Anyway my gyane in private practice...so I get to choose the hospital i prefer :)

yup, MAH is pro-bf. Me too, gynae 'cant' go KKH so its either MAH, TMC or gleneagles. Anyway, my main concern was the gynae must go MAH then I'll see him. :P

My 2 sons were delivered in Gleneagles.

Must say service there is pretty good and the nurses are nice and friendly. There are alot of experienced senior sisters who've been there for a long time and have very 'motherly' qualities. The pediatricians normally would come from the Singapore Baby and Child Clinic, and one of the best Pediatricians you can look out for is Dr Yip Yeng Yoong, who's very experienced, particularly with early delivery and ICU cases. Outside of delivery, even when my younger son had an eye surgery there when he was just below a year old last late year, the care rendered by the nurses was excellent.

Cost-wise, I guess it is slightly higher than KKH, but not by a humungous bit, but I think its worth the extra money.

As for MAH, my elder sister delivered her 2 sons there and has pretty good feedback for the excellent nursing care rendered. Same as Gleneagles, there are alot of older and experienced midwives/sisters who take good care of the little ones with a heart. Cost-wise is also not too high from KKH.

TMC is not too bad, my sister-in-law delivered there, but I heard that depending on which gynae and the package you undertake, the cost is quite high. Personally, I'm not really a fan of TMC - Very difficult parking and also the hospital is somewhat 'dark'.

I think I know who's your wifey. ....heeee...she's the one who took over from the retired sister right? I was one of the 1st few cases which she assisted to make the hosp booking and arrangement for my scheduled delivery after she took over from the retired sister. That time, she told us that she's also pregnant. But I cant remember her name and also didnt have much time to know her as I went off for my cesarean not long after she came over from Gleneagles. Oops, hope I get the right person.

Edited by hello88

Hee.. Thanks for the advice Zc31, familyof4, adrian_john, rdnest & hello88! Looks like KKH is not winning any awards for service anytime soon. heheheh :P I'll go chk out MAH bah, tink TMC is abit far.

Any comments/feedback about NUH? ;)

Rdnest, hehe hope that I won't puke too much during pregs in future. I have a fren who needed bed rest for the 1st tri, cuz puke too much! :P

i think morning sickness depends on the pregnancy itself.

FOr my case, i puke day and night for my 1st preg and Hubby even teased me that he needs to play Andy Lau's 马桶 for me when I woke up! Puked the whole day thru till my 2nd trimester then it stopped.

my 2nd preg, no sickness at all! :dancingqueen: appetite was ok too...tho the bloated feeling is till there, but at least I don't throw up :)

to add on for MAH, my 2nd c-sec was so painful due to some complications, but i insisted to BF my boy. The nurses and sister Kang were really encouraging...even with the pain, they helped me and encouraged me. I also stubborn lah...insisted in bfg for the good of the baby :) Never once did they rejected my request to bf eventho they knew im in pain :)

Hee.. Thanks for the advice Zc31, familyof4, adrian_john, rdnest & hello88! Looks like KKH is not winning any awards for service anytime soon. heheheh :P I'll go chk out MAH bah, tink TMC is abit far.

Any comments/feedback about NUH? ;)

Rdnest, hehe hope that I won't puke too much during pregs in future. I have a fren who needed bed rest for the 1st tri, cuz puke too much! :P

Give the hospital a call and enquire when got tour. good chance to see facilities and usually they'll give some milk samples, etc