froggy

My Second Home At Fernvale Vista

bearlyn

just saw fr yr signature that u bought some of the furniture from malaysia. Do u mind sharing with me where u went to? U know any furniture shops specialising in lounge chairs / counter chair and table etc?

what about the costs and delivery and customs etc? and touch wood - if defective?

Is the range there more varied? and cheaper?

wondering whether we should head across the causeway to recee ...

bearlyn

just saw fr yr signature that u bought some of the furniture from malaysia. Do u mind sharing with me where u went to? U know any furniture shops specialising in lounge chairs / counter chair and table etc?

what about the costs and delivery and customs etc? and touch wood - if defective?

Is the range there more varied? and cheaper?

wondering whether we should head across the causeway to recee ...

well, e address i need to dig out from my file. Keke.. Lounge chair ah? Dun tink I saw many fanciful design chairs over there. My bro in law drove me in, n we went to nova, but it's not e same nova in sg, n buy from there cos delivery free, onli need to pay custom n gst fee, all in ringgit. Design wise I can say sg better, but cos I wanna a shorter sofa n sg dun have so I went to m'sia lo.

My furniture have not arrange to deliver cos Reno not completed yet, but if defective I can reject n tell them to send me a new pc, but cross fingers la. 1 lucky thing for me is tat my bro in law is a msian, so his sis stayin there can help me liaise. Pricin wise i feel tat it's so so la cos samgalz got more furniture with a lower price. My heart so pain.. :P

how u know he is holding yrs to rush others? yr house is so big - how long yr whole reno process?

i find that, at least in my case, the uncertainty of HO is bc of no work schedule to start with. If we had insisted on that right at the beginning, there will be less chance of flexi date. So in a way, I have to blame myself for not insisting on one.

ha that's when u see no workers at your place and appearing only after a few days of no work or 1 worker on the whole house then you know did a mistake that gave contractor an impression you jin chin chai liao.

my place have at least 10 days plus minus throughout the renovation got nobody doing anything.

that 10 days period just nice his other clients rushing work.

i got the info from the workers working in my place. :furious:

after that then i use force and demand ppl to start working then things start to move.

this simply teach me no more chin chai liao.

after that is all demand and demand. no more shui bian.

i cannot imagine if i carry on chin chai, think drag another 2weeks then HO.

well, e address i need to dig out from my file. Keke.. Lounge chair ah? Dun tink I saw many fanciful design chairs over there. My bro in law drove me in, n we went to nova, but it's not e same nova in sg, n buy from there cos delivery free, onli need to pay custom n gst fee, all in ringgit. Design wise I can say sg better, but cos I wanna a shorter sofa n sg dun have so I went to m'sia lo.

My furniture have not arrange to deliver cos Reno not completed yet, but if defective I can reject n tell them to send me a new pc, but cross fingers la. 1 lucky thing for me is tat my bro in law is a msian, so his sis stayin there can help me liaise. Pricin wise i feel tat it's so so la cos samgalz got more furniture with a lower price. My heart so pain.. :P

ok then maybe no point going in to buy, think too much trouble if the savings is not substantial.

Sam got from hommage right? Went to the shop before, they got alot of catalogue, but that's the prob - catalogue. Some items we just like to see and feel physically. But i think i will get the children's wardrobe /table/bookshelf from them.

ha that's when u see no workers at your place and appearing only after a few days of no work or 1 worker on the whole house then you know did a mistake that gave contractor an impression you jin chin chai liao.

my place have at least 10 days plus minus throughout the renovation got nobody doing anything.

that 10 days period just nice his other clients rushing work.

i got the info from the workers working in my place. :furious:

after that then i use force and demand ppl to start working then things start to move.

this simply teach me no more chin chai liao.

after that is all demand and demand. no more shui bian.

i cannot imagine if i carry on chin chai, think drag another 2weeks then HO.

wah, 10 days continuously? That's really too long. For me, a few days I don't see work already I feel uneasy.

Actually, when this happens (though not many times, thankfully), I always find myself in a dilemma. Want to find fault with contractor, yet don't want to push. Tried to justify that he is doing this in our interest. Say the lapse is necessary eg to let xxx dry before proceeding with next stage of work etc. So if I rush him and he just does it quickly, it may not be to my best interest in the long term. That's why I say best is to have a work schedule, then will have basis to ask if he falls behind schedule.

Edited by froggy

Mon, 30Aug2010

A brief of what is outstanding (purchases), this blog also serves as a reminder for myself :rolleyes: :

* curtain

* lounge chair / counter /

* dining chair

* toilet (mirror / towel bar / toilet roll holder)

* children wardrobe

* children book shelf

* children study table

* confirm bed frame colour

* bedsheet / pillow etc

* glass decals

* rice cooker

Edited by froggy

wah, 10 days continuously? That's really too long. For me, a few days I don't see work already I feel uneasy.

Actually, when this happens (though not many times, thankfully), I always find myself in a dilemma. Want to find fault with contractor, yet don't want to push. Tried to justify that he is doing this in our interest. Say the lapse is necessary eg to let xxx dry before proceeding with next stage of work etc. So if I rush him and he just does it quickly, it may not be to my best interest in the long term. That's why I say best is to have a work schedule, then will have basis to ask if he falls behind schedule.

yah, i was faced with no work for those days and delay of schedule......

no rush cannot, if not CNY liao still haven HO. :D

ok then maybe no point going in to buy, think too much trouble if the savings is not substantial.

Sam got from hommage right? Went to the shop before, they got alot of catalogue, but that's the prob - catalogue. Some items we just like to see and feel physically. But i think i will get the children's wardrobe /table/bookshelf from them.

hey froggy.. actually hor.. i seen alot of those item that is on the catalog in the market leh.. u can jus go see the actual items in those shops den decide whether to buy from them lor.. maybe not same item but can be quite similar la.. hope this helps.. I getting my bed from him soon.. :)

thanks so much, Joseng and Gals Mama. Wow, so fast, one month already! So all of you settled down already? Joseng even longer right?

carpenter just came yesterday to do measurements. He said he will be back in 2 weeks, so I am now both excited and anxious! But HO date pushed back, now tentatively end of sept - wow, my neck becooming like ET liao! I asked if can just get one room ready for me to move in, while he continue his work at his pace, but he not receptive to that idea. So all in, my reno and yrs sama sama - 3 LOOOONG months!

i have already moved in for ard 1 mth liao...still unpacking bit by bit...haha... :P

Me too, still got some cartons in storeroom and just finish unpacking yesterday. Actually its my husband's books. So many of them.

I hardly cook so kitchen cabinet half empty, i was thinking, can i put clothes inside? :P

Mon, 30Aug2010

A brief of what is outstanding (purchases), this blog also serves as a reminder for myself :rolleyes: :

* curtain

* dining chair

* children wardrobe

* children book shelf

* children study table

* bedsheet / pillow etc

* glass decals

* rice cooker

I also saw almost the same dining table at S & C and Courts. Maybe for those u dun sit on for very long period of time, u can get from them. But like mattress & sofa, which u need to feel the cushion seats, u get from those with ready sets to try on.

For bedsheets, i like robinsons'. Got 1 set from the expo sale, dunno what Hotel Style brand (480 TC) comfy! $39. As compared to aussino, not very comfy. So if u can wait till Robinsons' sale, wait till the year end then buy bedsheets.

Mon, 30Aug2010

* curtain

* dining chair

* children wardrobe

* children book shelf

* children study table

* bedsheet / pillow etc

* glass decals

* rice cooker

Hi Froggy, saw that you are planning to buy your toilet accessories (towel bar, toilet roll holder etc) from 3M! Guess that is because you can't bear to see your tiles being drilled. :) Anyway, I am planning to get the same to but realised that 3M does not provide toilet roll holder (was at Thomson Plaza Home-Fix last Saturday). Any idea where I can get white toilet roll holder that does not need to be drilled?

Fri, 27Aug 2010

Decided that I cannot contain myself by holding back .. ha ha .. so here's a sneak preview of some of the lights and fans

DSC09959-1.jpg

entrance light

Oooooooh :o

Sparkly :o and Bright :o

:dancingqueen::yeah::dancingqueen:

Nice :D

Me too, still got some cartons in storeroom and just finish unpacking yesterday. Actually its my husband's books. So many of them.

I hardly cook so kitchen cabinet half empty, i was thinking, can i put clothes inside? :P

Harrr ??? Clothes in kitchen cabinet?

Now that's something new. ;)